We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butcher Block

) #34 of 110 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks €€ - €€€ Steakhouse
2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
+27 31 566 3547
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good41%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (57 reviews)
“prime rib” (2 reviews)
“piri piri” (2 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the Butchers Block a number of times as staying in the adjacent hotel. Every night was good with friendly staff and excellent food. I had a varied menu ranging from chicken to burger and off course a couple of steaks. Well cooked and served...More

Thank Camal63
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were in a group of 5 people on a Monday evening and I was surprised at how busy it was, this could be down to the fact it is adjoined to the Holiday Inn though. However, we were still waiting about 45 minutes for...More

Thank Jack N
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi there, we are so sorry that you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very big restaurant but I can not fault the service or willingness to please! The 200g sirloin was delicious and served medium as requested! The chateaubriand was excellent. A superb meal. The only gripe is the cloakroom which is not situated in the restaurant and...More

Thank Lorraine T
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Reviewed 31 January 2017

I love this place, it's a really good steakhouse and has decent seafood options too. Nice fresh design and atmosphere, not your typical hotel restaurant at all. Always had a nice group of people without being crowded.

Thank Andrew S
Savanah S, Marketing ManagerT at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thanks for your review!

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Finally got a table without reservation. We really cant complain about anything except keep improving the standards that you have set. Our food was good and service really good thank you.

Thank Linda M
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband and I recently visited the Butcher Block for dinner based on raving reviews from our friends. We arrived at 9:00 pm and we were rushed through the menu, told that the kitchen is closing although the restaurant closes at 10:30 pm and asked...More

Thank Kathysheo
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Dear Desly (Manageress on duty, 12 January 2017 @ 21:00) Your "quick, brush it off" attitude stinks. Your menu states that you serve baked cheese cake. However, after a piece of tasteless fridges cheese cake landed on my table & questioned the waitress, your response...More

Thank R M
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi there, we are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

For the restaurant to be at capacity and still provide fantastic food and perfect service; Butcher Block has proven that they have the capabilities of always providing great service. The food as amazing, perfectly cooked, well seasoned and the portion was nothing short of ideal....More

Thank Tamish B
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My group of 31 had lunch, great service and food, the staff went the extra mile was almost flawless last 4 guests had a short wait but all turned out good in the end. Food is good can handle from big to small, most of...More

Thank Stephen M
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi Stephen, thank you for your review!

Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had to grab a quick takeout as we were rushed for time. The staff assisted us in a quick and efficient manner. We enjoyed the meals we ordered.

Thank T J
Savanah S, Marketing Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your review!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sugarlicious
6 reviews
.45 km away
Greedy Buddha
162 reviews
.45 km away
Beluga
80 reviews
.58 km away
Circus Circus Cafe
164 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gateway Theatre of Shopping
455 reviews
.56 km away
The Spa at The Oyster Box
22 reviews
1.50 km away
The Thai Touch - Traditional Thai Massage Therapy
35 reviews
1.24 km away
Africa Art Gallery
16 reviews
1.24 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
giomarcondes
I am intrigued that Robynne S doesn't say anything about Mandy's comment that her husband's steak was cut wrong and that this was acknowledged by staff that evening. Reading the comment strings below I see another comment about the Butcher's Block prime rib steak - saying that cut was wrong. it is odd that 2 separate people, on 2 separate occasions, would choose to comment on the meat cut specifically, unless there is a problem - a pattern. An indication that something is/might be amiss. Never a good sign for a steak house to serve incorrectly cut steaks, or for the manager/owner to react in such a defensive way.
17 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Robynne S | Property representative |
Dear Giomarcon, I am not being in least way defensive. If a customer has a complaint and we are made aware of it we are always more than happy to rectify the problem. If there is a problem with a cut of meat then we will... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Umhlanga Rocks
  • Phone Number: +27 31 566 3547
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing