We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Prosopa

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pretoria, South Africa
+27 12 460 1663
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 21:30
Tue - Sat 10:00 - 12:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I had the lamb chops that cooked just the way I had asked, it was flavorful. Excellent atmosphere and friendly owner.

Helpful?
Thank noleen_5
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Fantastic ambiance for dinner or lunch. Awesome for just about any occasion and specifically the romantic / intimate occasion. Slightly on the expensive side. Portions are not big but some of the best quality around. Great selection of wine, very professional and friendly staff. Owner, often around.

Helpful?
Thank Jaco-Pierre S
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

The service was great and the owner was also very attentive. The food is amazing and the ambience is perfect for a romantic dinner.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I would certainly recommend this lovely Greek restaurant. We had overseas visitors who were so impressed with the atmosphere, service and the food. The service was first rate and the food excellent, the atmosphere was quiet and restful lovely for a dinner with friends where you want to talk and hear each other and the table was beautifully prepared.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

In summary: Amazing food, amazing atmosphere, a snow-white table cloth, impeccable service. In detail: we had the mezze platter to start with, and the highlight were the meat balls. Or perhaps the dolmades. Hard to decide. We shared the mains as well and both the moussaka and the steak tasted heavenly. Remember to order the Greek coffee with your dessert.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The ambience and layout is great, so perfect for a date or intimate occasion. With regards to the food and drink, it's a bit on the expensive side, especially taking the quality and portions into about. My prawn curry for example, had about 4 prince prawns in it. (There is a similar compliant I read here). The cocktails are great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
Dino F, Owner at Prosopa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your dinner at Prosopa. I would have preferred it if you had communicated these to me personally when I attended to your table on the night. You failed to mention however, that you visited us during Restaurant Week where you paid R250 per person for a 3-course dinner, a portion of which is paid... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch during Restaurant week. We have been there twice before and really enjoyed the food, but this time around the same food that got us salivating the first time left us with disappointment. The starters were great but the mains, ribeye steak was full of sinue and my portion was extremely small. We did tell the manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hctal
Dino F, Owner at Prosopa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am really glad that you enjoyed your previous visits to Prosopa. Upon attending to your table you informed me of the sinew in the rib-eye steaks. I offered 3 times to make you both new ones; an offer that you declined! Apart from a little strip of sinew, you did both however finish your... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing evening at Prosopa with RestaurantWeek. There was a power outage after a storm, but the restaurant was lit by candles. The owner was hands-on and personally apologised. The ambience of the restaurant is fantastic, and the food out of this world. Rib eye steak and baklava highly recommended! I can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank ClaraRSA
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Our group booked for dinner at this "Modern Greek Restaurant" - really top class food at a still reasonable price - all things considered. We all shared some mezze platters - everything was freshly made and very good. As a main meal I had one of their specials, a rib eye steak topped with cheese and pepper sauce. Asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Pretoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

During the past month we have eaten there twice and on both occasions the experience was not great. You expect a certain level of service and quality of food. The meat was not tender and the reason as offered by the management was that they had a new supplier. The fact is it was the second time this has happened.... More 

Helpful?
Thank michaelPretoria

Travellers who viewed Prosopa also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Prosopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Greek
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 12:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 12:00
Thursday
10:00 - 12:00
Friday
10:00 - 12:00
Saturday
10:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pretoria, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Pretoria
  • Phone Number: +27 12 460 1663

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prosopa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?