We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

moyo Kirstenbosch

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
99 Rhodes Drive | Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden, Newlands 7700, South Africa
+27 21 762 9585
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Fri 09:00 - 23:00
Sat - Thu 09:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 328: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to Moyo for lunch; we were lucky to find a table without a long wait as the restaurant was full. There was no mint or lime so we couldn't have any of the cocktails with these ingredients. Service was slow, food very average. Waiters seemed a bit overwhelmed although they did seem try.

Helpful?
Thank Mytravelwonders
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank-you for your valuable feedback! We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to the expected moyo standard. If there is anything else that you feel could help us improve on your visit, please could you send our GM an email at kirstenbosch@moyo.com with your contact details so we can use your insight to improve... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Within the beautiful kitstenbosch gardens is a delectable gem - Moyo! My family and i had the Saturday buffet lunch. Chef Neil gave us a pleasant walk-through of the midday dishes, of which every dish was delicious. Awesome atmosphere, live relaxed music, our waiter was timeous yet not intrusive. The restaurant is well kept, elegant and comfortably elegantly decorated. And... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vereena P
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have wonderful memories of the Moyo at Spier, which closed down a while ago. This incarnation at Kirstenbosch, however, left me cold. Nothing made an impression - neither ambiance nor food. Certainly not the food which, while the dishes seemed varied and interesting at first glance, failed to live up. It just tasted like 1970's style hotel buffet food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hopscotch1711
moyo2016, Public Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for your valuable feedback, we are sorry to hear that your visit was not up to expectations. We would love to improve on your feedback and would really appreciate an email to our general manager at kirstenbosch@moyo.com so that we contact you directly regarding your visit. We look forward to hearing from you soon! Warm regards, Team... More 

St louis, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a beautiful view of Table Mountain and the gardens. Shame about the food and the service! We had a one course lunch which took 2.5 hours!! Once we finally got a table - they kept telling us that the restaurant was full....it was the emptiest full restaurant I have ever seen - it took about 40 minutes to... More 

Helpful?
Thank FiBear
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Dear guest., thank-you for he valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to the expected Moyo standard. We would really like to speak to you directly regarding your visit and would appreciate an email to kirstenbosch@moyo.com with your contact details. We look forward to hearing from you soon! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in to Moyo for refreshments after a lovely day in Kirstenbosch gardens, and gave their Mopane worms a go. These are the edible catepillars of the emperor moth (Gonimbrasia belina), and derive their name from the mopane tree leaves on which they primarily feed. The catepillars are hand-picked off the trees and the tail end is pinched to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angelo G
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Thank-you for the 5 star feedback! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first stop after getting off a 24 hour flight to Cape Town and the food did not disappoint. It's right in the middle of the botanical garden which is gorgeous. You're greeted by traditional African entertainers-- drummers, singers and you have the option of getting face paint, too. The food was great and there were many options... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MHHY
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Thank-you for highlighting the delicious food you enjoyed at our wonderful location! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Moyo restaurants have their own ambiance but this setting is to die for. Good food good service good setting, always a winning combination. Before or after the meal the walk in this tranquil setting has no equal

Helpful?
1 Thank 664fredk
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valuable feedback! Our friendly team appreciate you highlighting the great setting of our restaurant and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
251 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After wandering around the gardens we decided to stop off for some lunch here. The menu is varied and has something for everyone. The food was very tasty and the staff friendly and welcoming. The prices were reasonable too. We enjoyed our lunch here very much.

Helpful?
1 Thank stuart l
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Thank-you for highlighting our friendly staff and the delicious meal you enjoyed at our restaurant! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Moyo is set within Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens and it is beautiful, quiet and scenic. A perfect place for a leisurely Sunday lunch. We were seated at a table that was right on the open patio and the sun was shining all the while live African music was being played in the background. We ordered a traditional African dish that was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shani S
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful gardens with a wide variety of Fauna and Flora as well as birds and other animals. The restaurant offer real South African cuisine with all the right spices and flavours. The service and entertainment was world class. Great experience and all had a good time with great views.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gideon64
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this review

Thank-you for highlighting the world class service and entertainment you enjoyed at our restaurant! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Warm regards, Team moyo More 

Travellers who viewed moyo Kirstenbosch also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to moyo Kirstenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$34
Cuisine
African, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Validated Parking, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 18:00
Monday
09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 18:00
Thursday
09:00 - 18:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 99 Rhodes Drive | Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden, Newlands 7700, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Newlands
  • Phone Number: +27 21 762 9585
Description
Acclaimed as one of the great botanical gardens of the world, this breath-taking backdrop of nature is now part of the warm, friendly and relaxed moyo African charm - beautiful vistas, Afro entertainment and cuisine composed of the best of African produce.

Moyo Kirstenbosch is nestled inside Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens situated at the foot of one of the 7 wonders of the world. There is an entrance fee to visit the majestic garden.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of moyo Kirstenbosch and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from moyo Kirstenbosch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?