We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Corner Barry Hertzog and Gleneagles Road | Greenside, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 646 8740
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my local diner whenever I am too lazy to cock.Great menu and good value for money.Unfortunately service as usual is not up to scratch.I believe if I have to look for a waiter for service or have to for ask for a sauce ,then service is questionable.A waiter is meant to WAIT upon a table,not just take your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samgaffor
DoppioZero001, Public Relations Manager at Doppio Zero, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are working hard on the issue of the vagrants and we hope our waiters - through our mentoring program will do more than just take orders and bring food. Kind Regards Tarryn Nash More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here - a pasta and the Asian Prawn Bowl. The service was good, the food average. Great ice cream. Not amazing, not terrible.

Helpful?
Thank jphansen81
DoppioZero001, Public Relations Manager at Doppio Zero, responded to this review

We hope to knock your socks off with outstanding food on your next visit. Kind Regards Tarryn Nash More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We had a lovley visit to Doppio Zero on the 20th of January 2017. We had a lovely warm reception by the manager, Clare. Luka, our waiter, was extremely effecient and pleasant. The breakfasts that we had, Doppio and Pronto, were excellent. The flavours were great and all the food was perfectly prepared. The coffee was great. Overall it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlwarP
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Went there for Sunday lunch with the family. Very nice environment. Amazing how you can take a car park andbturn it into a restaurant ambience. Whilst the food was good and the attitude of the staff fine, the delay in receiving the food was extraordinarily wrong. This made everybody antsy, which resulted in no dessert and a need to leave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aubrey S
DoppioZero001, Guest Relations Manager at Doppio Zero, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoy the atmosphere and the food, we are sorry to hear about the slow service! Service is a big focus of ours, we hope you give us another try! Kind Regards Nicola Buchner Retail Specialist Doppio Zero Famiglia More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Tonight I did want a pizza&birra (pizza and beer), the oneandonly couple. And I wanted to find a new one, so tripadvised till this restaurant. The location is quite nice with some tables on the terrace too. But it is raining and so straight inside. Tables are sufficiently far to help conversion and privacy (unfortunately I am alone) but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GiCo68
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

It was my first time having dinner at this restaurant with my family. It was a lovely evening and we sat outside. The restaurant was quite busy however service was excellent despite this. Food was absolutely amazing - we ordered pizza, pasta and some starters. The atmosphere was lovely - would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Kim T
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We've had meals that are OK and other times superb. Today's meal was superb. We find the service is always good, and the food is more often better than average. Consistency in this Doppios keeps us coming back. They lose a star from me only for the times where the meal I have drops to close to average when my... More 

Helpful?
Thank David R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We have been going to Doppio Zero for aged, and are mostly very happy with them. Their pizzas are great. However, today I made the grave mistake of 'straying' and ordered their chicken... BIG MISTAKE. Firstly, when it arrived it was about the size of half a quail... I sent it back... the manager agreed with me, and offered to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ironmountainrobi
DoppioZero001, Guest Relations Manager at Doppio Zero, responded to this review

We are so dissapionted to hear about your awful chicken! We are glad you enjoyed the pizza but all food should be great! we value customer feedback highly and will be focusing on the issues raised! We hope to see you again! Kind Regards Nicola Buchner Retail Specialist Doppio Zero Famiglia More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely breakfast 🍳 business meeting place or a coffee place. The service it's fast, it's not that loud and the staff are not annoying especially if you are concentrating in your work, I totally love this place and their pastries

Helpful?
Thank Thembi S
DoppioZero001, Guest Relations Manager at Doppio Zero, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We love having you come at work at our restaurant and canlt wait to serve you breakfast again! Kind Regards Nicola Buchner Retail Specialist Doppio Zero Famiglia More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

We frequent Doppio Zero on a regular basis as a family and I often use it for business meetings. The food is great and so the service. Good for winter visits as there is a fireplace and outside is protected. Prices are reasonable to high but the quality makes up for it. The menu covers almost every taste.

Helpful?
Thank 854johan
DoppioZero001, Guest Relations Manager at Doppio Zero, responded to this review

...And we love having you and your family for meals! Thank you for the great review! Kind Regards Nicola Buchner Retail Specialist Doppio Zero Famiglia More 

Travellers who viewed Doppio Zero also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Doppio Zero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$15
Cuisine
Italian, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner Barry Hertzog and Gleneagles Road | Greenside, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 646 8740
Description
Doppio Zero started out in Greenside in March 2002 (dal 2002), as a corner street style bakery and cafe, serving breakfasts, thin-crust gourmet pizzas and cafe style Mediterranean food.

We believe in the goodness of quality, this attitude has shaped our hands-on approach. Every season we revisit our menu's with some fresh ideas and seasonal ingredients. We love entertaining and so we celebrate each season with fresh campaigns and specials on dishes or products that we love....

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Doppio Zero staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?