We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vovo Telo

Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 78 627 2279
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good45%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (14 reviews)
“bread” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Taking into account that this is part of Famous Brands one is always skeptic but don't despair this is a great place to go , the Coffee is good , the sarmies delicious , the service out of the books, with a lot of choices...More

Thank pietuys
Reviewed 5 days ago

The restaurant is in the heart of Parkhurst and while the space is nice, it is usually really busy and the service suffers.

Thank Nabila G
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I was recently back at Vovo Telo in Parkhurst for lunch and was very disappointed with the quality of the food, it has gone downhill in the past few months,More

Thank globalcitzen
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our food quality. I am very sorry you feel the quality has dropped, we are often inspected by Famous Brands regarding food quality, standards and presentation methods, and we always pass will...More

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

If you want a lively restaurant area this is the place to come. All types of restaurants are here. We were here for breakfast and enjoyed scrambled eggs and tomatoes,on toast,Griddle stack breakfast excellent and Pulled Pork Egg Benedict which was very different. If you...More

Thank watchman2015
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We stopped there for coffee and a cake which wasnt good, coconut cake was very dry and plain. I think just a bad choice as the other cake mist probably were goodMore

Thank EA_Oussov
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am quite surprised your cake was dry, as the volume of cakes we sell during the day, doesn't often allow time for them to dry out, however I do apologise we failed you on...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Before you enter the place, you are already drawn by the amazing smell of the breads baking in the oven! Nice quaint setting with a lovely menu.More

Thank Paul L
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words, I will be sure to share with our baking team, I'm sure they will be pleased to know their bread aromas bring you in from the street. Watch for our new fall/winter menu coming out in April,...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Just had a great meal at this restaurant. Chicken livers with tageteille was superb and the blondies divine. A small, relaxing restaurant with friendly service which I highly recommend. Thank you for a wonderful night.More

Thank Africansi
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and thank you for your business. On 4th Avenue there are a lot of restaurants to choose from and we thank you for choosing Vovo Telo. Watch for our new fall / winter menu coming out in...More

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Exasperating. Ordered Mediterranean burger. Three times what was presented was with ham, on a different bread, without olives. No basil pesto.More

Thank Dusanka
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Sorry for our late response, just catching up on some Trip Advisor feedback. Oh my goodness, 3 times ordered and we still cannot get a simple Burger Trio right. I am embarrassed for the kitchen team and as an Owner. Our team is trained each...More

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The breakfast scrambled eggs option was delicious and the portion size was generous. The staff were friendly and attended to my requests diligently. Keep up the good service.More

Thank peterjohndutoit
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Good Morning Peter, Thank you very much for your kind review, truly we appreciate the feedback. I will be sure to share with our team, it's always nice to hear some positive feedback, in this new cyber world of so many food critics, some positive...More

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Slow, unfriendly service. Ordered creamy scrambled eggs and received dry, overcooked eggs on undercooked rye bread. It was remade and equally as terrible. Won't be back.More

Thank SonzWoolff
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your unfortunate breakfast experience, we are very sorry the eggs were not to your liking, I do hope you brought this to the managers attention, as we are all human and mistakes do happen. I am sure...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coobs
200 reviews
.15 km away
The Wolfpack
128 reviews
.16 km away
Craft Restaurant
270 reviews
.09 km away
Nice on 4th
90 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam
377 reviews
2.37 km away
The Mall of Rosebank
156 reviews
2.40 km away
Delta Park
63 reviews
1.04 km away
Rosebank Roof Market
102 reviews
2.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Vovo Telo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 17:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 78 627 2279
  • E-mail
Description
Quaint bakery / cafe in the heart of Parkhurst. Family and dog friendly, a lovely airy cafe, with plenty of outdoor seating, in our cozy courtyard. Daily freshly baked breads, cakes and other sweet treats, be sure to consider us for birthdays, anniversaries or other special occasions, full facility is available to book for any special event.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing