We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ginger

Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
+27 41 583 1229
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“rack of lamb” (14 reviews)
“line fish” (13 reviews)
“carpaccio” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Contemporary, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 110 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

I had only feel starters, beers and red wine, so I can't give a complete review. That being said, the environment is really nice, looking the sea and just besides the Boardwalk Casino! Staff was attentive! The trio of carpaccio proved the best starter! I...More

Thank CaioDamore
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for you kind review and support. It is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch looked at the menu which looked good chated with the person at the door. Took look at the other restraunt just to look at the menu staff there very helpfull but decided to go back to ginger. Moved chairs around took off...More

Thank Renp659
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your experience here with us. Your insight is appreciated and we will certainly address matters raised. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Sunday lunch on the deck in superb autumn weather should have been a pleasure as their food is usually superb - unfortunately they had booked an entire tourist coach tour inside for lunch and we're just not geared for other customers. The service was pitiful...More

Thank Mike B
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your experience here with us. Your insight is greatly appreciated and we will certainly address matters raised. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 29 April 2017

This restaurant was a real surprise as the hotel is okay but not 5 star luxury, but the food in this restaurant is for sure 5 star. The service was perfect, very attentive by our waiter and the choice of food catered for all of...More

Thank issywiggy
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us here. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Had a wonderful lunch and dinner at Ginger. Lunch was fantastic out on the deck overlooking the strand. Great cocktails and tasty meals. Dinner was for a large group and service was a bit slow, and they had run out of a few things (like...More

Thank eurobarbie
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your review, we are thrilled, that you enjoyed your time with us. Your insight is appreciated and we will certainly address matters raised. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Great location-staff-food. A must visit restaurant. I highly recommend the avocado starter and seafood soup. These are the absolute must! Enjoy!

Thank JakeTJ
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Ginger. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 11 April 2017

5 star restaurant next to The Beach Hotel where we stayed and the casino. We were lucky to get a table as we just walked in but we were early, just after 6 pm and it was a Monday night. People later were turned away...More

Thank RosBondi
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Wishing you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Port Elizabeth. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

A really welcome fine dining experience in PE. The beachfront area is dotted with great options. Ginger however is a stand out in terms of service and food quality

Thank Bruwhitfield
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and support. Brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your experience here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The best pork belly in the world for that price! I realy fo reccommed and the waiters are realy nice!

Thank BooperDooperPoo... L
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed the Pork Belly - it is a firm favourite. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Two successive visits left me very disappointed in the supposed 5 star restaurant. First we were celebrating my son's 21st birthday with his elderly grandparents at a table next to the kitchen, the fan in the kitchen was broken and we sat in the intense...More

Thank gavinapril
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Greetings from the Ginger Team, I do apologize once again that you felt after communicating with myself telephonically as well as my original TripAdvisor response that the matters raised were not dealt with correctly. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 hotels in Port Elizabeth
The Beach Hotel
505 reviews
.03 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
537 reviews
.13 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
56 reviews
.22 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
165 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
De Kelder
696 reviews
.80 km away
The Coachman Restaurant
721 reviews
.90 km away
Blue Waters Cafe
763 reviews
.22 km away
Raasoie The kitchen of India
60 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World
937 reviews
.16 km away
Nu Metro Boardwalk
13 reviews
.18 km away
Nu Metro Walmer Park
13 reviews
1.06 km away
Splash Waterworld Supertubes
18 reviews
1.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
marilBRIAN
17 March 2018|
Answer
Response from JonFilby | Reviewed this property |
That is a very good point. It doesn't look like it - which says it all about this restaurant. I have no idea how this place remains so highly rated although I probably didn't help by rating it five stars by mistake!! One... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: +27 41 583 1229
  • E-mail
Description
Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;