We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emily Moon

Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 501 2500
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rack of lamb” (8 reviews)
“steak” (37 reviews)
“prawns” (27 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
African, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Haven't been to Emily Moon in ages! Got a wonderful surprise to know that its still as special as it always was! The setting is so tranquil, you just want to stay there forever! All 4 of us had the hake and chips, delicious! My...More

Thank annieplett
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great location with very nice suites and the best breakfast we had in South Africa. The food in the restaurant was also VERY good. Chef Johan knows what he is doing in that kitchen, great food! We came back from Addo Park...More

Thank Leonievtg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great South African Experience. Emily Moon was recommended to me by a family I met in Franschhoek; they had a meal there a few days previously.An experience not to be missed. Food great, atmosphere excellent. Loved it.

Thank Debra P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Authentic South African cuisine, with a great fusion twist - beautifully cooked top quality ingredients and great service in surrounding that have been created to provide an exotic ambience - loved it, one our best experiences on the “garden tour” that started in Cape Town...More

Thank 406colinp
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting to note previous reviews after our visit and have to agree with the questionable points. The location is good in an elevated position overlooking the river. The property is certainly quirky and interesting with some very unusual features. Service was very inconsistent in that...More

Thank BJY2011
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is probably one of the best restaurants in the Plett area. Certainly the position and style are comfortable and quirky like a set scene from Raiders of the Lost Ark. The main restaurant and pizza section are set high on a hill overlooking the...More

Thank postscript65
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed the experience in this out of the way restaurant. The decor was African Lodge with a twist. The food was excellent, but I didn’t have a bad meal in Africa. The difference was the experience and knowledge of the staff, with such...More

1  Thank 53Sue2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Set out of town, up a hill in a beautiful setting, our first impressions were busy and a bit pretentious. However, it turned out very well with good food and good, if somewhat over fussy waiter service.

1  Thank ProfIan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

EM is decorated very cleverly, quirky, African and eclectic and the views are gorgeous over the river but the food falls short. I was expecting an amazing menu but was very disappointed - food was average, predictable and okay but not amazing. Staff are well...More

1  Thank kaiser08_KZN
Andrea H, Marketing Manager at Emily Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Kaiser, We are so sorry to hear that you felt our food wasn't up to scratch. Please email details on what you ordered to alex@emilymoon.co.za so we can address the issues. We hope to see you again, The Emily Moon team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Up a winding road. We worried we were lost. The restaurant which is part of a resort had outstanding ambiance and great food. I had the Chicken Liver starter and the fresh fish entree. Extensive wine list. Great service. Price by USA or European standard...More

Thank psalamon
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bocca Dolce Coffee Shop
53 reviews
4.80 km away
Zinzi Restaurant
16 reviews
4.96 km away
The Dunes Restaurant
29 reviews
4.49 km away
Nguni
625 reviews
4.97 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
1,703 reviews
5.22 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
7 reviews
5.37 km away
Plettenberg Beach
157 reviews
5.58 km away
Old Nick Village
44 reviews
2.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Freda O
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from annieplett | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so. But I agree with the above answer that the staff is very helpful and might arrange something if you ask them in advance.
0
Votes
twaalfR
12 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from emilymoon_sa | Property representative |
Hi, We would suggest smart-casual for dinner but are very happy for you to come as you are!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 501 2500
  • E-mail
Description
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing