We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship & Anchor

€€ - €€€, European,
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-426 1539
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish n chips” (4 reviews)
“steak” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner at the Ship and Anchor on a Saturday night mid September Nice decor and friendly staff What I call a welcoming place The food was quite okay and the service was good There was plenty of parking outside and it was not...More

Thank stegeb
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Warm inviting restaurant and great service with delicious food catering to the whole family - thanks for a lovely night

Thank Lauren750907
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I enjoy the atmosphere for Friday night drinks. Absolutely love the service and the Pork Ribbs is amazing.

Thank Claudine A
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I took my Mum here for lunch on Sunday, as she felt like a roast dinner and they had a special Beef Scotch Fillet roast of the day which we both ordered and were not disappointed. The portions were generous, and cooked beautifully. Service was...More

Thank NZRochelle
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Meals was amazing and our waitress was absolutely stunning. I'm quite fussy with meals and drinks but the staff made a clear effort to please me. We were more than happy with meals. And special coffee just topped it. Every instruction was followed to the...More

Thank Lilith L
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I visited Ship and Anchor on a Thursday night with my partner. Not expecting much, I was pleasantly suprised. I ordered the fish which was done beautifully. My partner ordered the pork belly which was equally good. Friendly staff, clean. Would recommend dining here

Thank laureneddy
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

It's become a bit of a local for me. I picked it because it's convenient. I don't think the staff know how to not smile. There is always a great welcome. The bonus on top is that aside from great service, the food is always...More

Thank Roy B
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch today and it was very yum. The four of had salt & pepper calamari starter each which had a nice salad to the side. I had the chicken fettuccine which was very tasty and was a large meal, one other had...More

Thank kyleec30
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This place used to be quite good, that was 10 or so years ago. Don't go there folks, it's just not worth it. So many other places to choose from. The only people who eat there are the relics from a bygone era, the remaining...More

Thank twoidiotswithfish
Reviewed 6 June 2017

All three of us had the lamb shanks, with potato mash, whole baby carrots and broccoli. The whole meal was beautifully cooked and really delicious. The flavour of the sauce was superb. The dessert was equally delicious. The restaurant had a pleasant happy atmosphere and...More

Thank Bushtiger
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar
361 reviews
.07 km away
Oliver's Cafe
120 reviews
.07 km away
Kuzina Mediterranean Cafe & Bar
55 reviews
.13 km away
Micks
132 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Orewa Beach
233 reviews
.44 km away
Orewa – Te Ara Tahuna Estuary Cycleway
64 reviews
.98 km away
Golf Vacations New Zealand
18 reviews
1.32 km away
Alice Eaves Scenic Reserve
26 reviews
1.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil D
26 May 2016|
Answer
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
Hi, Unfortunately we are not a BYO restaurant.
0
Votes
ngatirehia8
3 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
hi , sorry we don't do any live entertainment on a regular basis and our dress code is casual, Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Moana Avenue, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Orewa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-426 1539
  • E-mail
Description
Situated at the heart of Orewa Beach, We have a great variety of Food & Beverages, all cooked in our own unique style we specialize in fresh seafood and steak. Bring the family along and enjoy our hospitality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing