We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamanu Beach Resort

€€ - €€€Seafood, , Vegetarian Friendly
Tamanu Beach | Amuri Village, Cook Islands
+682 31 810
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (11 reviews)
“caesar salad” (3 reviews)
“bread” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Seafood, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
Tamanu Beach | Amuri Village, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for the island night buffet and show done on Thursday nights. The buffet was large with a good selection. The show followed which we enjoyed. It only lasts about 30 minutes. The charged $75NZ plus drinks which seemed in line with other places.More

Thank StevefromKaty
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia Orana, Thanks for your review of our Restaurant. Our Island Dance and Fire show is normally around 45 minutes but we did have to cut it short once last month due to unexpected rain. The show is performed by the Te Aito dance team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The four of us (two couples) arrived in conditions that were challenging for some but well managed by others. It was cyclone season, and the resorts and tourist experiences are prepared for this on the island ..with one exception. Tamanu Beach Resort appeared to us...More

Thank John M
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia Orana, My apologies for any undue stress that you may have experienced during your visit to Aitutaki. Ii appears your visit may have occurred while I was on an International promotional trip for our small Island paradise. Allow me to clarify some statements you...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018

Lovely rooms with veranda and separate sitting areas in the one bedroom beach bungalow. Beautiful view of the lagoon right outside your door. The islander night was very entertaining and the food abundant. Tropical daily breakfast was included and was fine. The menu did offer...More

Thank 78maeves
Reviewed 17 January 2018

This resort was very relaxing with friendly staff. It is a family business and has a personal feel to it. The villas are very nice with a private outlook each and easy access to the pool and beach. Canoes, paddle boards and snorkels are freely...More

Thank nzwalkers2015
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Kia Orana, Thank you for the review of our small resort. We are constantly working on our rooms and our services to keep them up to standard. We are very blessed to have our resort on one of the best stretches of white sand beach...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Had lunch here, the outlook over the beach from the resturaunt was to die for, service was great and food excellent.More

Thank Smithy6966
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Kia orana, Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We have recently had 6 young school students do an internment at the resort. With jobs in our restaurant, front office, kitchen and housekeeping. I am pleased to here the service was great, we are...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We also stayed at this resort, but ate at this restaurant because it is excellent. And their Island Night is great with a great buffet. We ate at a couple of other restaurants nearby and Tamanu was the best.

Thank MTLinda
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Kia Orana Thanks for the positive review - I will pass on your comments to our team in kitchen and restaurant. Meitaki atupaka, Nick

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We travel a lot, mostly staying in mid-end places. However, once in a while, it's nice to splurge. New Years Eve 2017, what a great reason to celebrate - and what a splurge, $500 a night for five nights. When reviewing a luxury place (out...More

Thank martin672014
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Kia Orana, Happy New Year to our tripadvisor readers. For this reviewer I am very sorry you did not have a good time at Tamanu Beach Resort. Please allow me to address some of your concerns. Out of respect for our Island traditions because New...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

This was a minute's walk from our budget accommodation, so we often walked here for coffee or wine, and had dinner and snacks a couple times. They always accommodated us even though we were not hotel guests, excepting Sunday reservation BBQ night. Average price for...More

1  Thank Nicole A
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for the review of our beachfront restaurant. We welcome everyone to Tamanu Beach Restaurant, however we are often fully booked on our Thursday "Takurua" Island Night and fire dance show. To avoid disappointment we do recommend that guests try and book...More

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Tamanu has a fantastic Island Night! Huuuuuge variety of local dishes buffet style. You will not go hungry. Everything was very well made and tasty. The fire show afterwards was really impressive. Great experience all aroundMore

Thank Lukasz P
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Our mamas work hard in the kitchen preparing the food- from selecting fresh from the local gardens early in the morning to harvesting our local sea grapes "rimu" from the lagoon the night before. I am sure you...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

We were not staying at the resort however made reservations on Thursday for Sunday's buffet dinner and entertainment show. We had hoped that this would be a special evening out as it was my husband's birthday. We were one of two tables seated out on...More

Thank afuzzie
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Kia Orana, Firstly let my apologise for your disappointing experience. Our restaurant team will need to try harder to make those first impressions count and to make all of our guests feel welcome. I do recall meeting you both and fortunately due to two "no-shows"...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Aitutaki
Tamanu Beach
477 reviews
.02 km away
Aitutaki Beach Villas
137 reviews
.20 km away
Etu Moana
956 reviews
.41 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
1,218 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Koru Cafe
932 reviews
3.34 km away
Cafe Tupuna
457 reviews
3.79 km away
Rapae Bay
247 reviews
.85 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aitutaki Lagoon
895 reviews
3.13 km away
O'otu Beach
68 reviews
3.14 km away
Mount Maungapu
48 reviews
1.00 km away
The Vaka Cruise
548 reviews
3.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tamanu Beach Resort staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$47
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
07:30 - 21:00
07:30 - 21:00
07:30 - 21:00
07:30 - 21:00
07:30 - 21:00
07:30 - 21:00
07:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tamanu Beach | Amuri Village, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Aitutaki
  • Phone Number: +682 31 810
  • E-mail
Tamanu beach has a beachside 60 seat Bar & Restaurant. We are open for breakfast lunch and dinner with a simple Island style menu. Our feature Island Nights every Thursday are a highlight of Aitutaki dining. Sunday is a relaxed family bbq buffet. The specials menu changes regularly with the freshest catch and seasonal fruits. We do pretty good coffee (getting better every day!) and our sunset cocktails are very tempting.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now