We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Wheelchair Accessible, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
43
19
15
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
43
19
15
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 January 2020

well run hotel and restaurant was great, only complaint was room was next to main road and noisy at night from truck. with all their land, cannot understand why they built that close to road. I called it the low income rooms.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Community M, Director General at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our restaurants and hotel. However, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations...More

Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

We ate 2 breakfasts here and one dinner. The breakfast is a buffet and has a nice variety. For dinner it feels much more elegant. We both had the filet mignon- which was excellent. Also the chocolate dessert was great. The only thing with our...dinner was that our server seemed to have a bad attitude.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Community M, General Manager at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and dinner experience at Tucanes Restaurant. It is a shame to know that...More

Reviewed 3 November 2019

The breakfast buffet is wonderful and filled with many tasty offerings. The dinner menu is full of great options. Excellent cocktail menu!!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Community M, Director General at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Hello Thomas, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great culinary experience at Los Tucanes restaurant and Ave del Paraiso Restaurant. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in...More

Reviewed 17 June 2019

We dined at Los Tucanes our first night at Tabacon. Beautiful setting. Not a bad table in the room. Highlight: Octopus with crispy prosciutti appetizer. While we didnt order the steak on volcanic rock, we talked about it with our waiter. (Steak cooked at your...table on a slab of volcanic rock) We asked our waiter if we could see one of the rocks and he brought one out. After paying for our meal and walking out, the waiter came running up with a napkin, which had the volcanic rock inside and said it was ours. It was soo nice of him to do that, we really appreciated it (Hope I didnt just get him in trouble)Going to use it tonightMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Community M, Gerente at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Dear Jack, Thank you for sharing your experince at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed your dinner at Tucanes Restaurant. It's great to read our collaborator was a very nice host during your...More

Reviewed 29 May 2019

We stayed at Tabacon for 2 night and had our Anniversary dinner at Los Tucanes. Wonderful food and atmosphere. The staff goes above and beyond.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Community M, General Manager at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Hello HLStones, We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our F&B services provided at Los Tucanes restaurant. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed the atmosphere and attentive service from our collaborators. We appreciate your review and hope...More

Reviewed 7 May 2019

buffet breakfast was great, great combination of local and traditional international items. We also have dinner and drinks one night. Food and service was outstandingMore

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Community M, Gerente at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon!...More

Reviewed 3 April 2019

You will notice several reviews that describe the same experience that we had. Breakfast was very good with a lot of options, really good omelets, and something to satisfy any taste. Dinner was average at best, but prices were not. The resort itself is great...but the food is not on par and it's expensive. If you have transportation and can venture out for other options, it is worth considering.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Community M, Gerente at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2019

Hello Kevsp133, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read we had the opportunity of hosting you and that you enjoyed our complementary breakfast buffet for hotel guest. However, we are sorry to read...More

Reviewed 1 March 2019

Nice open-air restaurant away from the road, thus quiet other than pool waterfall (nice touch; sit away from it if not desired). Breakfast buffet is extensive and excellent (made-to-order omelets; fantastic pineapple, mangos; fajita style chicken, fresh orange juice, so why bother with oatmeal (?!))....Dinner was also wonderful, with personalized service. We'd give the breakfast solid 4.5-stars and dinner 4-stars for food quality and 5 stars for atmosphere.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
Community M, Gerente at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our F&B services. We appreciate your review and we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations regarding to our food quality....More

Reviewed 26 February 2019

We stayed at Tabacon for 4 nights last week. Breakfast at Los Tucanes was included in our stay and was a very nice buffet with a great selection of local and American-style food. The pastry was delicious and always lots of fresh fruit and juices....We had reservations at the restaurant for dinner one night (Tabacon has a dearth of eating options) and though we had looked forward to it and the service was attentive, food was just ok and not a memorable experience. Training in how to cook and serve fish seems to be lacking in Costa Rica -- everything is overdone with too much emphasis on fancy presentation but not the quality of the meal. There was a guitar player who was very good -- I can see if some wouldn't appreciate live music if they were expecting a formal meal, but nothing is really formal in Costa Rica.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
Community M, Gerente at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Hello Jennifers, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed our complementary breakfast buffet. We are glad to read you enjoyed our buffet options, however, we are sorry to read we didn't...More

Reviewed 12 February 2019

While the service was excellent, the food was mediocre and overpriced. The ensemble that was playing made conversation almost impossible. Had better food at the lobby barMore

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Community M, Gerente at Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our wonderful service and complementary breakfast buffet. However, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations regarding to our dinner service....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
4,935 reviews
.38 km away
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
1,934 reviews
1.24 km away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
247 reviews
2.17 km away
Montana de Fuego
1,517 reviews
2.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Amor Loco Restaurant
42 reviews
4.01 km away
Steak House Mirador Arenal
231 reviews
2.19 km away
Altamira Restaurant
313 reviews
4.14 km away
Que Rico Arenal
897 reviews
3.98 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Tabacon Hot Springs
4,894 reviews
.53 km away
Baldi Aqua Spa
37 reviews
4.68 km away
Free Natural Hot Springs River
12 reviews
3.44 km away
Rio Chollin
1,090 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
robinl954
11 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Patty M |
I just wanted to get an idea of the prices and food to plan for my trip.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing