We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Central American, Costa Rican, South American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
92
56
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
92
56
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak risotto shrimp volcano lodge outdoor setting we ate breakfast service was excellent costa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 February 2021 via mobile

Terrible food. Every meal was discussed. Even the desert wasn’t good. The only thing that was ok is the service. I will never come back.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Grupo La Palma H, Director General at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Hi, Nir! Thank you so much for your review. You might think that there is nothing to be thankful for, if the review is not positive; But we consider that, from the most negative opinion to the most positive, it deserves our attention. Even a...More

Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel, and we decided to dine in because it was raining hard. We enjoyed shrimp rissotto and tuna teryaki. Delicious and the service was excellent . Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

First night here was perfect. What a difference the second night is. The guy who was the bartender last night is now our server. He is awful. He makes me feel like I am making him go out of his way. He never asked how...the food was. Never checked on us at all. 10 minutes ago he came by and I asked for tres Leche cake. Still not here. I am ready to go. Just came out. He set it down, walked away and said nothing. Food was good. Service is awful! There is a pretty young blond here who is getting all the attention from our server. It is a shame tonight is so bad when last night was so good.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
GPCustomerService, Director General at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Hello William, thank you for your time and effort to evaluating us. We want to apologize for the attention received. It is a really isolated case, since we are known for providing an excellent quality service. We are sorry that your experience was not the...More

Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

Beautifully presented dishes. Excellent service. Generous portions. Not cheap but worth the money. All tried dishes were very tasty including the vegetarian one.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Hello, thank you for your time and effort to leaving us your positive comment. We are delighted to know that your experience at Surá Bar & Bistro has been so positive. Your feedback motivates us and encourages us to keep doing things better every time....More

Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner here during our stay. We found the food reasonably priced and pretty good. The service was excellent. If you are staying at the hotel would definitely recommend taking the time to have a meal hereMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time and effort to evaluating us. We are happy to see you had a magnificent experience with us. Our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our guest and customer. We hope all your stay...More

Reviewed 11 November 2019 via mobile

This is the restaurant inside the Volcano lodge. I believe we are there 3 different times during our stay at the hotel. Not one dish disappointed. Everything from your typical Costa Rican to pasta, fresh seafood and steak. Service was great and every meal was...enjoyable!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Hello, thank you very much for your good feedback. We are very happy to see that all your experience was good in our restaurant and lodge in general. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best regards, Gerardo Pérez H

Reviewed 15 October 2019

Situated inside Volcano lodge, the restaurant serves excellent local dishes (mains and desserts) in a nice outdoor setting.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Dear Alexander, thank you for your time to evaluating us. We are delighted to know that your experience at Surá has been so positive. Your feedback motivates us and encourages us to keep doing things better every time. We hope you visit us again soon....More

Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

Nice starter ! Very tasty .... Steak was ok have had better, but still good. Good and friendly serviceMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time to evaluating our food and service. All comments are very important for us. We hope your experience has been good... It will be a pleasure to serve you again when you decide come back. Kindest...More

Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

This place is inside a resort, but just walk up to the security checkpoint and they will help you find it. We walked here from a neighbouring resort to get some variation. Recommend the fish tacos.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time to leaving your positive review. Your comment is very important for us. It give us the energy to keep serving you in the best way. We are pleased to see your experience at our restaurant...More

Reviewed 19 August 2019

We stayed at the Volcano lodge for several nights. In addition to having breakfast at Sura every morning we did have dinner and lunch there once as well. Overall, the menu is pretty diverse (mixture of seafood, beef, vegetarian options), the presentation was excellent and...food was very good. Sometimes service can be slow, but nothing extreme.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

Dear Shawn, we want to thank you for your time to evaluating our service. We are pleased to see your experience at our restaurant has been good. We really appreciate your review, cuz it give us the energy to keep improving our level of quality....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience
3,939 reviews
.29 km away
Nayara Springs Relais & Chateaux
1,415 reviews
.32 km away
Cabanas Suenos del Arenal - Arenal Volcano View
1,284 reviews
.38 km away
Nayara Gardens
3,910 reviews
.47 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Amor Loco Restaurant
43 reviews
.50 km away
Altamira Restaurant
313 reviews
.45 km away
Que Rico Arenal
902 reviews
.98 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Free Natural Hot Springs River
14 reviews
.78 km away
Los Lagos Hot Springs
677 reviews
1.28 km away
Shaman Tours
191 reviews
.11 km away
Natura Eco Park Costa Rica
657 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JOEL R
25 October 2018|
Answer
Response from GPCustomerService | Property representative |
Hello Joel, yes we have gluten free options. Regards, Gerardo Pérez H
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing