We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 30/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
A warm friendly atmosphere will greet you at the Sunken Fish, we would like you to feel relaxed and enjoy your time with us. Rustic Honduran surroundings, spacious tables and the best ocean views, come and enjoy a sunset drink perhaps we can tempt you with our menu.Daily specials are all made from locally sourced & organically grown . Great care and attention is put into our food by our internationally trained Chef Indra, not only for the taste but also presentation to ensure you will love your visit to the Sunken fish.
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast
CUISINES
Latin, Caribbean, Seafood, Fusion, Central American, South American
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
161
45
16
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
161
45
16
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wings seafood calamari red snapper fries steak live music wing night great view fantastic food during our stay blue bahia tranquilseas skillet resort sunset island
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

You will not find a more exotic island experience at this fine five-star restaurant. Surrounded by the gardens of Tranquilseas Resort that highlights the island mood and feel that you will experience at Sunken Fish. The service is top notch and very friendly. The food...is out of this world. The thatch canopy over the bar creates a very enjoyable relaxing experience.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Coconut Shrimp is best on the island, great wings, rings and steaks. Sunset view and great service. Love it!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Dear Wendy, thank you for the high score. Thank you for putting a smile on our team's faces. Tropical Regards, Pavel

Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

Like title says great food,great prices.enjoyed Friday wing night,drinks are reasonably priced,great view if the subsets

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Thank you for the high score. Thank you for putting a smile on our team's faces... :)

Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

This was our favorite restaurant last year and were so looking forward to our meal this year. After a very disappointing meal this year we found out there is a new owner and new Chef. I do have to say that the Conch Chowder was...delicious but that was it! The portion of calamari was very small and cold. My husband got seafood scampi and there wasn’t anything scampi about it. We think he used the old bay sauce on the wrong dish and my coconut shrimp were very bland compared to Half Moon Bay. It was our most expensive meal and our worst meal. I also have to say that I’m an animal lover but I don’t want and can’t have a cat trying to sit on me while I’m trying to eat my dinner!!! I’m highly allergic to cats.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Thank you for every feedback like this; it helps us to be better at what we do. We don’t want this situation to happen again and we’re working on improving our system. So we can get a full score next time. Tropical regards, Pavel

Reviewed 22 February 2020

OMG heaven.. the loaction is outstanding, the food is beyond plentiful and so tasty. We had seafood skillet was like no other, the lobster juicy meaty and moist, the fish tacos with red snapper was the best i have ever had. I wish we were...staying closer to the restaurant , I would have eaten there every night.. Please go and tryMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Hi, can you hear the sound of pure happiness? It's our Sunkenfish team. It says thanks for your great feedback. We look forward to your next visit... :) Tropical regards, Pavel

Reviewed 21 February 2020

Obviously, the above caption requires some clarification! Our meals and drinks were PHENOMENAL. We dined on seafood pasta, a seafood salad, a steaming hot bowl of seafood delight and a couple of different steaks. The dessert crepes were SCRUMPTIOUS. Funnily enough, the service throughout the...meal was great as well...UNTIL it came time for our bill. You first need to know that orders are taken on tablets - great idea! However, at the end of our meal when we requested our bill, it became apparent that something had happened with our order because our waiter ran back and forth to our table about 6 times inquiring as to our order. When we finally went up to pay and handed the server our credit card right at the pay station, the server took off with our credit card to take someone else's order. There were so many people waiting to pay that they couldn't keep track of whose bill was whose and kept handing us someone else's. It was EXTREMELY frustrating and ruined what would've been an excellent dining experience!!!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear Christine, Thank you for every feedback like this; it helps us to be better at what we do. We don’t want this situation to happen again and we’re working on improving our system. So we can get a full score next time. Tropical regards,...More

Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meals at the Sunken Fish. The serving staff were friendly and helpful, the menu is good with several vegetarian options and all meals can be adapted. Prices are also reasonable. Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

So many stars? It made the sky brighter. Thank you so much :)

Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

Very good food and drinks. Maybe a little more expensive than some but reasonably good value just the same.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Wow, five stars. Our kitchen is a very happy place right now. Thank you.

Reviewed 12 January 2020

We were staying next door, but chose this restaurant over the one attached to our accomodations. The restaurant is up high with amazing views of the ocean. The service was perfect, and the food was huge! The prices were reasonable based on Roatan pricing. I...just loved it there.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Can you hear the sound of pure happiness? It is our Sunkenfish team. It says thanks for your great feedback.

Reviewed 14 December 2019 via mobile

We visited the Sunken Fish twice during our stay in Roatan. Both times we were warmly greeted by staff and treated like family. Our son enjoyed the selections on the kids menu and we enjoyed the Margaritas 😉. Beautiful view with warm and friendly staff.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Pavel S, Vlastník at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Thank you, thank you, thank you… Four stars are great; five is better. What can we do for it? Please tell us. Help us improve!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
622 reviews
.02 km away
Blue Bahia Resort
271 reviews
.12 km away
Anthony's Key Resort
1,431 reviews
.86 km away
Pirates Den Hotel
24 reviews
1.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fresh Cafe & Bakery
130 reviews
1.21 km away
Blue Bahia Beach Grill
542 reviews
.12 km away
WOK Roatan
9 reviews
1.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Go Fish Charters Roatan
8 reviews
.68 km away
Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
322 reviews
.79 km away
Roatan Yoga
43 reviews
.01 km away
Grand Bleu Diving
32 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
egelerj
31 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TranquilseasRoatan | Property representative |
Yes of course, we do take VISA and MasterCard
1
Vote
rudocp
24 February 2019|
Answer
Response from Steve R | Reviewed this property |
No really, not too crowdy on sundays.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing