We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$8
CUISINES
Italian, European, Russian, Eastern European, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,298)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
152
117
23
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
152
117
23
14
18
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 February 2022 via mobile

It’s good meal But the portion was cold. The staff are friendly and helpful, we ate chicken grilled with rice and salad. The atmosphere is nice too.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Генеральный директор at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2022

We are very sorry that you were given a cold dish, we apologize for this. We will work on the bugs with the cooks of the counter. And thank you for the kind words about our team and cuisine! We will try very hard not...More

Reviewed 9 December 2020

Nice place, caring staff, taste food :) Different types of food, for any taste. Highly recommended :))

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Генеральный директор at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Laís, thank you for your good and kind words about us and for the excellent rating! We are very glad that you liked it with us)) We are always glad to see you and look forward to visiting!

Reviewed 7 January 2020

Unfortunately we only discovered the Marketplace on our last day. There was a choice of several different hot meals- cooked to order and various salads etc Staff extremely helpful and friendly and good service.we ordered a bottle of wine which cost more than the food...- wine was generally expensive in St.Petersburg - but the food here was very good value.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

We are also very sorry that you found out about us so late, but it’s good that this even happened! Thank you very much for the good words and compliments to the restaurant, our wanda and the kitchen. We really hope that we will meet...More

Reviewed 30 December 2019

If the restaurant is empty, give it a try. If it's even half-full, avoid. There were many tables available and when I ordered pasta I was told it would take 20 minutes to cook (actually, they clearly didn't want to cook the dish I ordered,...that's what). The rest, is just average Russian-style dishes for a price that is cheap for Western standards, but overpriced for locals. So that's why they go there as it's "fancy". But what you get is a terrible queuing systems, not for foreigners and to be avoided. Note: be careful when ordering cheap stuff on the plate, like rice or potatoes, as they will give you healthy servings since you are paying per kilo. With a big spoon they got half my plate full with rice and when I asked for less they refused to take off.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

We are very sorry that you have unpleasant impressions from your visit to us, we apologize for this. Marketplace is a restaurant in a market format, we are noisy and crowded, because our guests like our cuisine and lively atmosphere. We are sorry that the...More

Reviewed 10 December 2019

We had lunch at Marketplace, it's a buffet service so you take what yo wish as much as you wish and pay for what you took. the food was tasty and cheap, very good price value restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

We are very glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us! Come for breakfast, they are also very tasty) And on the second floor we have a bar with a good selection of wines! We are waiting for a visit!

Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

It’s one of the finest restaurants that you will come across in Saint Petersburg with classy fine dining. It’s highly recommended for the large range of selection of foods reasonably priced and deliciously prepared. Very friendly staff and you can ask for their assistance if...you are first time over there as their ordering system is bit different.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Thank you very much for the good review of the restaurant! We are very glad that you have had a good and tasty meal! Be sure to come again!

Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

We were greeted by staff (manager) who was both very welcoming and helpful. He and his staff were perfect. We ate upstairs and the young lady who got us drinks was great. Recommend this place as food is great and well run by staff.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you very much for such kind and good words about our team! We are very pleased to receive such feedback))

Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

This place was recommended by our guide. He daughter stated it was popular with students. It is a short walk up the street from the church of the saviour of the spilled blood. Its small inside but the atmosphere is casual. Its kind of cafeteria...style but in a good way. The servers can slso make good suggestions. The ffg ood here was delicious and not too pricey. Would definitely eat here again.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

We are glad that your guide recommended us to you! Tell him thank you)) And, of course, we are pleased to know that you had a delicious and good! We are waiting for you again to visit, be sure to try our original drinks in...More

Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

After a visit in the church nearby we needed a quick lunch before continuing touristing. This place was absolutely perfect for a delicious, quick and quite cheep lunch! You go to the desk, order and get your food there, pay it and then you can...sit down. Suites all ages and I do recommend!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

We are very glad to know that you liked our restaurant and cuisine! Thank you very much for sharing your impressions and writing a good review about us! We are waiting for you to visit!

Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

The self service restaurant has different sections with salads, local food, grill, asian food, and deserts. Order what you wish from the cooks at the stations, and pay at the end. On the second floor you can find a bar. I ordered a chicken skewer...with roast potatoes, but did not finish my meal. Parts of the chicken were under cooked and the potatoes were too oily and barely seasoned.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

We apologize for your dishes and will check the work of the chefs on the counter. In the restaurant, we always replace the dish if it is not prepared correctly. To do this, you can contact the Manager or chef. Thank you very much for...More

Reviewed 14 October 2019

Marketplace is a chain restaurant which serves a lot different types of dishes. They serve breakfast, lunch & dinner. They have cooks at alle the different stations, whom will put a meal together for your liking. They serves freshly made dishes and also freshly pressed...juice. Its a places were vegetarian and meat eats can enjoy. They also have a bar were they serve all types of coffee and cakes. The staff and friendly, professional, helpful & many of them speak good enough english. The atmosphere is good, food is tasty & the restaurant is very clean. I would recommend this place.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

How many nice words and compliments! Thank you very much)) We are very glad that you liked the restaurant, our cuisine, atmosphere and team work! Be sure to come to us again!

Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

Sweet and charming exterior, but once inside we could not get any help except unhelpful shoulder shrugs. We got our coffees,and then left.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

We are very sorry that you did not receive the information. There are hostesses at the entrance to the restaurant who will always tell you about the restaurant. Also, on each counter you can see dishes and their prices, including in English. You can point...More

Reviewed 10 September 2019

We stopped by to have a quick lunch and were pleasantly surprised for the quality of the food. Fast and friendly service. Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

We are glad that you stayed with us! Thank you very much for the good words about the restaurant))

Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Ate at 2 locations, both had very good food. Prices are very good and the food was tasty. We had salmon soup and porc with basil infused buckwheat which had lots of flavour. The restaurant offers a few types of cuisine inside, exactly like a...marketplace. They can have asian or italian or traditional. Either version is delicious.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Thank you so much for complimenting the kitchen! We will gladly please you with our delicious dishes. We are waiting for a visit!

Reviewed 25 August 2019

All we had was very tasty but when we entered it was very crowded, so made decision making for us who were new to this place and some Russian food types pretty hard.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marketplace2016, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

We are glad that you liked our kitchen! And we apologize for the inconvenience. To make the stay of guests in the restaurant comfortable at the entrance, hostesses work who will talk about the restaurant system in different languages.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Katyusha
74 reviews
.05 km away
Golden Triangle Hotel
1,117 reviews
.10 km away
Nordkapp Nevsky Mini Hotel
11 reviews
.15 km away
Friends Smart
3 reviews
.18 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Katyusha Restaurant
1,602 reviews
.06 km away
Brasserie Kriek
554 reviews
.03 km away
Restaurant Marcelli’s
419 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dom Kompanii Zinger
273 reviews
.14 km away
Stroganov Palace
206 reviews
.15 km away
Arkady Raykin Variety Theatre
111 reviews
.17 km away
Malaya Konyushennaya Street
22 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chaz7
16 July 2020|
Answer
Response from Marketplace2016 | Property representative |
Good day! Our plates brands Steelite.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Beata Sancha D
13 November 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from gsakel | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is an english menu and they accept all credit cards!
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marketplace

Yes, Marketplace offers takeaway services.

Marketplace is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5