We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemingway

Ul. Gen. Gurko 10, Plovdiv, Bulgaria
+359 32 267 350
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (39 reviews)
“duck” (13 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
International, Mediterranean, European, Eastern European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ul. Gen. Gurko 10, Plovdiv, Bulgaria
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Excellent food. Well prepared and well presented. Most of people in the restaurant are polite, smiling and helpful. The sofas though... Discusstingly dirty. Somebody need to take care of this. I would visit again but choose my own place to sit instead of accepting the...More

Thank Alkiviadis R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to spend time with family or friends. Service was perfect . Food just great , hot recommended top place to visit in Plovdiv .

1  Thank Mikey E
IPSpecial_Group, Public Relations Team at Hemingway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mikey E, Thank you for sharing such a great feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience at Hemingway. We hope to see you back again soon. Kindest Regards, Team of IPSpecial Group

Reviewed 1 week ago

Since outside all the tables were reserved I sat inside in the A/C plush sofa style room in the colors red, purple and grey with plenty of wine decoration on the walls: bottles and boxes. On the tables were artificial roses as decoration. Seating was...More

Thank saronic
IPSpecial_Group, Public Relations Team at Hemingway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Saronic, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We would like to express our disappointment your dining experience was not in line with your expectations. We are sorry to read the seating was unpleasant for you, as another option we have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing special! The place only gives the look of some refine place with tasty food. The food has nothing to do with the interior look which gives impression of luxury place. Prices are also not right related to the dishes. There are much better places...More

Thank Kalin B
IPSpecial_Group, Public Relations Team at Hemingway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kalin B, We are sorry to read you did not enjoy your experience at Hemingway. We will be grateful if you could specify the meals you have tried so we can understand better where we fail to meet your expectations. Please feel free to...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Tye place is ok in general. Decent food, good service and the lounges are quite cozy. Maybe the place is a bit overpriced.

Thank Svetoslav D
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This review represents the worst review I have ever posted on Trip Advisor in 6 years and over 200+reviews , I say this so that as a reader you can see the context of our comments as a party of 4, it is NOT a...More

5  Thank jeff B
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The atmosphere is great and so it the staff. The food is sublime and you get plenty of it. It's located in the heart of Plovdiv. However, it is a very pricey restaurant - a good thing to keep in mind!

Thank Kostadin S
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Well starting on a positive the wine was lovely. Thereafter not so good... the menu was somewhat confusing. After a couple of conversations with the waiter trying to understand what the heck was happening we made our decisions. In fairness he did make recommendations but...More

Thank Ian S
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We went here after reading the reviews online and it's worth a visit. It feels very fancy inside and had lovely jazz/piano music playing in the background. Portions were quite small in comparison to some restaurants we had been too in Bulgaria but it was...More

Thank Amy P
IPSpecial_Group, Public Relations Team at Hemingway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Amy P, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Hemingway and we are enthusiastic for receiving great reviews for the sundae from your boyfriend. Special thanks to both of you. Kindest Regards, Team of IPSpecial Group

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We walked in on a Friday evening as couple looking for a table. With no reservation, the host was not sure but after 15 minutes was able to accommodate us. Food was very good as were wines. Piano player is good as well which added...More

Thank Douglas C
IPSpecial_Group, Public Relations Team at Hemingway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Douglas C, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here. Looking forward for another opportunity to welcome you. Kindest Regards, Team of IPSpecial Group

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Afreddo Gelateria
235 reviews
.08 km away
Atlas
148 reviews
.06 km away
Happy Bar & Grill
177 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Plovdiv Old Town
1,167 reviews
.42 km away
Plovdiv Roman Theatre
865 reviews
.39 km away
Ancient Stadium of Philippopolis
262 reviews
.43 km away
Park Tsar Simeon
119 reviews
.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ceridingle
31 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Michel H | Reviewed this property |
Restaurant is open till 1AM it says, you should be fine. :)
2
Votes
Angela J
2 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from IPSpecial_Group | Property representative |
Dear Angela, Thank you for the interest in our restaurant. We would like to confirm it will be better if you could make a reservation for the date of your interest. Please feel free to contact us for any questions or... More
0
Votes
Lynne P
3 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from IPSpecial_Group | Property representative |
Dear Lynne P, Thank you for booking a room at 8 1/2 Art Guest House. We would like to confirm Hemingway restaurant is open at Sunday evenings and we will be glad to welcome you! If you need any additional information... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ul. Gen. Gurko 10, Plovdiv, Bulgaria
  • Location: Europe  >  Bulgaria  >  Plovdiv Province  >  Plovdiv
  • Phone Number: +359 32 267 350
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing