We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Tamambo Karen Blixen is no longer open. The restaurant has moved to a new location on Ngong Road and has become Tamarind Brasserie.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
African, Bar, Seafood, European
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,294)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveller rating
657
383
106
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
657
383
106
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch oysters burger beautiful garden karen grounds paintings africa tamarind services dawa
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 July 2022

We went out with a friend for a drink and dinner. The service was extremely disappointing, no follow-up after serving, and we had to continuously look for the waiter whose attitude was wanting.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Dear Guest, Thank your for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent dining experience at Tamambo and your feedback about the disappointing service is very surprising and concerning. It is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell...More

Reviewed 16 July 2022

I really want to love this place, its an institution that has lasted for generations however it is tough. The service is a bit hit and miss. (I 100% recomend the bar area rather than the restaruant itself) the food is... blah. Fish / Crab...cakes were completly tasteless, and it was a bit of a chore to eat them. The only good starter i had was their breadcrumbed chicken wings.... which looked pre-packaged. (But they were nice) Burger Tastless, Oysters ok, all in all it's not getting a thumbs up from me as i feel there is alot to improve on this establishment.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2022

Dear guest, Thank your for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent dining experience at Tamambo and found the service hit and miss and the food you chose tasteless. Just to let you know that we pride...More

Reviewed 14 July 2022

After visiting the Karen Blixen Museum and grounds we drove here for a buffet lunch. We sat outside and enjoyed the ambiance of the location. The food was good for a buffet lunch, and it just so happened to be Father's Day.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2022 via mobile

Disappointing food, naff buffet, bad thumping music. Our tour guide must be getting backhanders. And they wanted 30$ a headMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Dear Guest, Sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your meal and found the food disappointing, the buffet naff and the music bad. Just to let you know that we pride ourselves on listening to our guests and have addressed this serious complaint with our team....More

Reviewed 15 June 2022

Our large group sat outside for a last-meal before heading to the airport. It was lovely in every respect; beautiful grounds, great food, and great service. You can tour the "Out of Africa" house but we chose not to, happy in the ambiance of the...grounds. Beautiful and romantic place for a wedding or special meal with the one you love.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2022

Dear Kathi, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted that your large group chose Tamambo for your final meal and you found the grounds beautiful, and the food and service to your liking. These are...More

Reviewed 3 May 2022

Has the best buffet you can get and offers maximum services and good hospitality. It's also easily accessible and great soups too.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Dea Bryan, It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoy the Tamambo buffet, the and the good service. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a 5 review. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Reviewed 29 April 2022 via mobile

We had a totally pristine time, with excellent food and service. The staff were all very warm. I would recommend anybody to go with family for Sunday Buffet.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2022

Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the time to post such nice review. We are delighted you had a good time and enjoyed the Sunday buffet and thought the food excellent and the staff warm. your positive comments have been shared with the team and...More

Reviewed 24 April 2022

I ordered for Thai beef option with Irio. Trust this was horrible. The Irio was top salty, the Thai did not have flavour. There was no effort at all in the food. Such a disappointment. I was so hungry but chose my taste buds and...left the food. Tamambo uses to have good food, I honestly don't know what is happeningMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are troubled to hear that your experience was not the best and the food you ordered at Tamambo recently was well below expectation. It is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell way short...More

Reviewed 18 March 2022 via mobile

Great food…. Great band on weekends, staff and ambience…… Anytime! Tamarind is a great place to catch up and unwind….More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for checking us out and giving us a 5 star review.We are delighted to hear you had a good time and liked the food, the staff and the ambience! Your great feedback has been shared with the team who are happy...More

Reviewed 16 March 2022 via mobile

Had an amazing afternoon, great spread on the buffet, variety.. Ambiance really great for a Sunday afternoon.. The service team were attentive to detail.. Only hitch was you had to walk some abit to eat, so you tend to pile plate so you don't have...to get up. Music great. Overall, would definately recommend Sunday brunch to families...More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2022

Dear Sallie, It gives us great pleasure to hear that you had an amazing Sunday afternoon brunch at Tamambo. We are delighted that you enjoyed the ambiance and found the buffet great and the service attentive. It's definitely a boost for us every time we...More

Reviewed 22 February 2022 via mobile

Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant hit the high notes once more when they created an environment for a high profile business meeting. Diamond quality hospitality. Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has no peers.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2022

Dear Dismas, Thank you for choosing Tamambo for your high powered business meeting. We are truly delighted that the hospitality met with your expectations and impressed you. Your feedback has been shared with the team and is a boost to their efforts. We really appreciate...More

Reviewed 21 February 2022 via mobile

We were there to have afternoon coffee. This place used to be great with service and food at one time…. We ordered coffee tea the staff recommended a Passion fruit cake…. The order arrived with messed up coffee…. There was a strange green cake they...said passion fruit is sold out we should try this lemon cake… The cake looked so bad but they insisted it’s their bestseller… The coffee was already not what we ordered the cake was full of artificial color and flavor NOWHERE close to lemon… Don’t waste your time and money going there we went all the way from Nairobi to this disaster.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2022

Dear Sony, Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to Tamambo and thought the cake was bad and full of green artificial color and the coffee order was messed up. We constantly strive...More

Reviewed 27 January 2022

The food and service were fantastic. Sitting outside surrounded by artwork for lunch was awesome. I enjoyed wandering around looking at the artwork. while I waited for our food to arrive.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Dear Guest, thank you so much for checking us out and taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit and found the food and service fantastic and the surrounding with the artwork awesome. These are definitely the...More

Reviewed 16 January 2022 via mobile

My fam and I ate here after a nice tour of the Kazuri Bead Factory. We arrived and received a warm reception from the hostess. She seated us at a table near the sunshine as we requested. However, it suddenly became cooler outside, and our...server moved us to another location with 2 outdoor heaters already lit. He anticipated our needs and set up the other place for us. This was the type of attentive service we received from the time we stepped onto the campus until the time we left. Superb teamwork. The food was a totally different issue. At best, it was average…expensive, but average. The gorgeous environment and the excellent staff did not match the disappointing food and drinks. Nothing wowed us. The drinks were overpriced based on the taste and appearance. My son’s Thai food tasted like Indian food (he was so mad about it since he has fond memories of Thai food). The oysters were tiny and not worth it. Nothing was “nasty,” but nothing was memorable. I was upset to have spent so much on such a meal. Average. It’s only the staff and the beautiful setting that bring my score up to a 4/5. Would I go back? Probably not unless the prices were lower or the food tasted better.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to learn that your dining experience at Tamambo did not meet with your expectations and although you thought the service was attentive and efficient, the food and drinks were a...More

Reviewed 26 December 2021

This place was a huge disappointment and way over priced. We went for the boxing day buffet and the food was not good. The fish and meat was dry, The sushi was mostly capsicum and rice with no wasabi. The selection was small but worst...of all they ran put of sushi and shrimp. I left hungry. Also they advertise canvas painting but beware you have to pay extra for it. It took me close to an hour to get the bill.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2022

Dear Guest, It is with great disappointment that we read your review. We are troubled to hear that we did not meet with your expectations and you found the fish and meat dry and the sushi just average and the selection small. It is certainly...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hermosa Garden Hotel
7 reviews
.89 km away
Acacia Tree Lodge
261 reviews
.94 km away
Karen Gables
27 reviews
.97 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
1,081 reviews
.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tamarind Restaurant
673 reviews
.01 km away
Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi
184 reviews
1.03 km away
Kengele's
9 reviews
1.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
582 reviews
.04 km away
Karen Blixen Museum
2,214 reviews
.78 km away
Maji Magic
11 reviews
1.58 km away
African Horizons
46 reviews
.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Grace M
27 December 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lazio48 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
Mobile55444635561
7 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samuel W | Reviewed this property |
I seem to think the Sunday buffets are around 2500-3000 KES per person but I can't quite remember.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TAMAMBO KAREN BLIXEN, Nairobi - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tamambo Karen Blixen

Yes, Tamambo Karen Blixen offers takeaway services.

Tamambo Karen Blixen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5