We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ikoi Tei

| Old Dutch Hospital Complex, Fort, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
+94 11 2 441275
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sashimi” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
| Old Dutch Hospital Complex, Fort, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice place for quick lunch service was prompt. Some items were overpriced for what we got. Probably due to the location.More

Thank gabriellex2014
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Gabriellex2014, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the authentic Japanese food and the service at Ikoi-Tei Japanese restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Authentic Japanese food. Tucked away in the court yard of the old Dutch hospital. Fast and courteous service. We came at 12pm restaurant was empty... Make sure you try the Teriyaki Chicken and Salmon. Highly recommended!More

Thank Lawrence H
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lawrence H, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the authentic Japanese food and the service at Ikoi-Tei Japanese restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was nice and has the original japanese taste as the food is being cooked by a Japanese chef. The service they provided was absolutely fantastic and the servers were well trained and friendly. Can recommended without any hesitation to all.Should mention the name of...More

Thank Nimesh W
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nimesh W, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the authentic Japanese food and the service at Ikoi-Tei Japanese restaurant. I will pass on the positive comments to the team. I...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

really nice place. Service was super and the food was really good and on time! been here at least 4 times now.More

Thank jee131
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jee131, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the authentic Japanese food and the service at Ikoi-Tei Japanese restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a delicious dinner at the restaurant - a selection of sushi and noodle dishes were shared among the guests at the table. The overall favourite dish was the yakisoba, but the sushi was amazing too - the only disappointment was the tempura vegetables...More

Thank Kyle C
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kyle C, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the above mentioned dishes and the service at Ikoi-Tei Japanese restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A good experience. Tuna was very fresh. Service reasonably quick ! Overall I would go again ! Wish they would do the tuna tower!More

Thank Maeve M
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maeve M, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed service and the fresh Tuna served at our restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in your future...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017

For a change from the local fare we tried this pleasant restaurant located in the renovated Dutch Hospital in the Fort area, near our hotel. We shared a plate of excellent sashimi accompanied by edamame beans. For mains we had a variety of dishes, tempura...More

Thank Tom T
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Tom T, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the authentic Japanese food ambiance and the service at the IkoiTei restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

the ikoi tei is located in the Dutch Hospital, together with a number of other restaurants. It offers inside and outside seating. The service shoes attetion to detail and is friendly. The food menu is Japanese style mainstrem. I tried Edamame which was ok plzs...More

1  Thank Juergen-M01
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Juergen-M01, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance, service and the authentic Japanese food at the Ikoi-Tei restaurant. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Went last night with the family and had a wonderful time.The food was good suggest the potato muchi and the California roll as a starter. Very good menu to choose from and the service was absolutely fantastic. In fact made a reservation to go back...More

1  Thank Raghu R
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Raghu R, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the authentic Japanese food and the service at Ikoi-Tei restaurant and I'm looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner here with my husband. The ambience was wonderful the choice of music for the background is very soothing and relaxing, perfect for creating a lovely atmosphere. The food was delicious, the staff were friendly. Teriyaki chicken was my favourite. This place...More

Thank DrAlexandraA
Hikaru T, Chef at Ikoi Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Alexandra A, Warm greetings from Ikoi-Tei. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm happy to know that your dinner plans went well and to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance, service and the authentic Japanese foo at the Ikoi-Tei restaurant. I...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ministry of Crab
2,862 reviews
.02 km away
Semondu
467 reviews
.01 km away
Sky Lounge
375 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dutch Hospital Shopping Precinct
735 reviews
.02 km away
Jami Ul-Alfar Mosque
243 reviews
1.06 km away
Old Parliament Building
265 reviews
.30 km away
Colombo Fort
272 reviews
.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mahinthan5
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Primavino | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Started thinking you wanted lacto-vegetarian restaurants and found these in Barcelona. You could check their menus. The source is very good. Flax an Kale, Rasoterra, Teresa Carles, El Petit Brot, Veg World India. Best... More
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$70
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Old Dutch Hospital Complex, Fort, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Western Province  >  Colombo
  • Phone Number: +94 11 2 441275
  • E-mail
Description
A brand new dining experience has arrived in Sri Lanka. Right in the heart of Colombo at the Dutch Hospital Shopping Precinct.

Our warm, casual ambiance and friendly team welcome familes and friends alike to try out unmatched, authentic Japanese cuisine. So stay a while and soak up the atmosphere at the newly opened Ikoi Tei by WIP
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing