We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cha Ca La Vong

) #1,516 of 1,988 Restaurants in Hanoi €€ - €€€ Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese
14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“shrimp paste” (18 reviews)
“fresh herbs” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wasn't what we expected based on recommendations from 3 sources. Food ok, vibe pumping music from next door (bad mixing lol). Sorry guys, won't recommend.

Thank joey2421
A TripAdvisor Member
122
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Average food, service very bad. The lady maybe the owner insisted us to get number 14 - fish dish, but when we orderd other meal, she was very angry..as if we were eating there for free. I was planning to give minus points..but the min...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am not sure how they would call themselves the #1 place for grilled fish when the fish was actually fried and it was extremely greasy. On the advertisements outside you can see that the cha ca/fish is supplemented by a variety of vegetables, rice...More

1  Thank ktt115
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I will always come here for their special river fish noodles whenever I am in Hanoi. Something unusual which you can only get in Hanoi - river fish slices marinated in turmeric and served on a pan with oil. You pour in a plate of...More

1  Thank JoeCool_KL
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Except for fish , everything else is below average : roasted peanuts were old and not crispy , spring onion were not fresh , no dill came with the dish , glasses and bowls were dirty .

1  Thank Lien N
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Honestly the food was okay if you take the specialty. Otherwise the place is crowded with underage waiters who listen to loud music and smoke cigarettes IN YOUR FACE. We ordered 2 pieces of the fish specialty and they brung over 20! When comes the...More

1  Thank Juliette P
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Who else came here because a tour book told you to? We did! We were surprised that a place so specifically listed in a tour book would look like a hole in the wall still, especially a restaurant that apparently is one of the oldest...More

1  Thank EatTravDiv
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Food was tasty, and it was fun to be served in a traditional way. However, the staff are so rude and grumpy, not a smile in sight. We got the impression that they have no time for westerners. For those who haven't had Cha Ca...More

Thank Will L
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived when the restaurant just opened at 5pm after a previous fail attempt to get a seat at a later time in the evening. Entering the restaurant via what seems to be their living room and up the stairs into the dining area. Plenty...More

Thank SC_Emilia
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Their grilled fish is super oily and disgusting, the restroom is super dirty. Stay away from this place.

Thank Florian L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Banh Mi 25
2,960 reviews
.09 km away
Huong Viet
294 reviews
.07 km away
Kimlai Coffee
51 reviews
.14 km away
Little Bowl
62 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Night Market
489 reviews
.09 km away
Bach Ma Temple
53 reviews
.19 km away
Chua Cau Dong
5 reviews
.06 km away
Vietnam Travel Consultant
268 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DaddyCruiser
13 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DennisTanKW | Reviewed this property |
There's one across the road further down and was crowded when we walked past Hope this help
0
Votes
Vince V-Shim C
26 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jeff1955malaysia | Reviewed this property |
i believe the one on the 1st floor was the original Cha Ca. due to popular demand a second one was opened. need to confirm with the owner. only problem most dont speak english.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Location: Asia  >  Vietnam  >  Hanoi
Description
Visit this street after a long day of sight-seeing for a traditional dish of fish fried tableside with herbs, spices, onions, peanuts, and rice noodles.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing