We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Poppies Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
South Chaweng Beach Road | Poppies Samui Hotel, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 422 419
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely authentic atmosphere and food. Reasonable prices. Book ahead to get a table overlooking the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Patrice R
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Patrice, Thank you for your "Magical" review of Poppies Restaurant. I think that says it all! On your next visit please explore our Hidden Passage, and underground tunnel, leading to the restaurant from the lobby that tells the story of Poppies. In the Spirit of Hospitality, James More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved sitting beside the beach being looked after by attentive staff. The breakfasts here were very relaxed, full table service, so no need to jump up and down to a buffet. We didn't eat lunch at this restaurant . We only ate Thai food there for dinner. The first night we found the food a bit too bland ( catering... More 

Helpful?
Thank sydneygirl2015
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sydney Girl, Thank you for joining us and for taking the time to share your feedback! We appreciate that you enjoyed being looked after by our attentive staff - thats what a holiday is all about:) Our menu service at Breakfast is a winner for sure - thank you for your compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner at Poppies as part of our pre-wedding activities. We chose it because we had been before and knew the location was great. The food was lovely, despite being a little too spicy for some guests. Staff are always friendly and helpful. We just had a slight hiccup when it came to the bill, but they managed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaMike2014
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Poppies Restaurant. I am glad to know that you thought the location and the food were both great and that staff were friendly and helpful. I apologize for the slight hiccup with the bill but happy it was sorted out. In the Spirit of Hospitality, James More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wee recommended to book. It was my sister's birthday and the staff welcomed us with a bouquet of flowers. This is not a cheap restaurant but for the stunning beachfront location, the quality of service and the standard of food it was worth it. It's not expensive for what you get and the choice is excellent. We were all... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolJoy
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Liverpool Joy, Thank you for joining us for your sister's birthday! I am happy to hear that we were able to make it a special night for her and your party. We appreciate knowing that you recognize the quality of food that Poppies provides and that your dining experience was a good value for money. Beginning June 1st, guests like... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I are staying at Centara beach Resort which is only a 5 minute walk from Popies. We went to Poppies because of a recommendation given to us by a local tour guide when we told him we wanted an authentic thai meal.We were not disappointed, from the prawn fish cakes to the steam whole snapper with ginger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Tony, Thank you for your kind "Authentic Thai" review of Poppies Restaurant & Seaside Cottages! We appreciate you joining us for our Thai cuisine and I am happy tolerant that you enjoyed everything. Providing great, attentive service and tables on the beach is a mainstay at Poppies. Thank you as well for returning again during your stay! In the Spirit... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We read such great things but had a very average experience at the restaurant. The food was only ok and very expensive. I ordered one of the lobster dishes and for $50 (USD) was very disappointed. The staff is very friendly & nice, the beach front location is lovely. Not worth the price in our opinion. We had much better... More 

Helpful?
Thank jhintile14
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and my sincerest apologies that you were let down. I am happy to hear that you thought the staff were friendly and nice and that you enjoyed the beachfront location. Rest assured that we will be looking into the lobster dish so that we can understand your disappointment. In the Spirit of Hospitality, James More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant with my girlfriend due to all good reviews here on Tripadvisor. I have never encountered in a restaurant such a sloppy and careless service as we did at Poppies. We both ordered two dishes, a starter and drinks. Both of us were delivered a wrong dish once (first my girlfriend, then me for the second dish)... More 

Helpful?
Thank SE1R
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear SE 1R, Thank you for your feedback on your meal at Poppies Restaurant. I am so sorry to read that you had a poor experience regarding the service. We are looking into this now in order to understand what may have happened. While it really bothers me that you had a poor experience, it is feedback like this, that... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband stopped off at Poppies for some lunch whilst walking the length of Chaweng beach. Poppies is in a nice spot, the food was good and the service friendly and attentive. There was also a good choice of drinks.

Helpful?
Thank EmmaNickHolt
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Heard this had excellent reviews so wanted to try it out . The ambience was wonderful had a wonderful table overlooking the water . Staff were very attentive and wanted to make sure the experiment was top notch . However the food was just ok . The satay chicken peanut sauce was bland . Couldn't tell it was peanut based-... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelesutherland
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you for visiting us at Poppies and for sharing your comments on the experience. I am glad that you thought the ambiance was wonderful and that your table was great. I am also happy to hear that the staff were attentive and that they made the experience top notch. I am sorry to hear that you felt... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Fantastic food, varied menu with plenty of options including kids, lovely beachside ambience and fab service. Highly recommend this place, it is very popular in Koh Samui. Book a table if you're eating here.

Helpful?
Thank Sheetals80
James M, General Manager at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sheetals80, Thank you for your "Excellent" review of Poppies Restaurant! I love that you felt the food was fantastic. We appreciate having options for children, as well as a nice variety of options for both Vegetarian and Vegan palates. I am pleased this exceeded your expectations. It makes me happy to hear that you felt the service was fabulous,... More 

Travellers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$15
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Chaweng Beach Road | Poppies Samui Hotel, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Surat Thani Province  >  Ko Samui
  • Phone Number: +66 77 422 419

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Poppies Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?