We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mama Africa Eating House

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Victoria Falls Road, Victoria Falls zw, Zimbabwe
+263 13 41725
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016

great atmosphere, with alive local band , eclectic décor and friendly staff, sadly the food was ordinary

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We went twice and really enjoyed the food, the ambiance, the people there. Wonderful experience. There are hotspot speciallities and game meat (kudu, crocodile...) The wifi is free. Concert each time. Thank you very much for the moment. Totally recommend it

Helpful?
Thank l_louisth
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016

I had the Zambezi fish plate. Pretty good. Can be a bit pricy. Some sort of live ambient music. Not bad, although I'd definitely recommend Lola's (right close by)

Helpful?
Thank George C
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoy and thank you for the review More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

To avoid disappointment, please make advanced bookings. Friendly welcome, served by both Gugu and Mama Africa, herself. My wife had the Carrot soup and I had Chicken livers and garlic bread for starters. Different to how I am used to having them but was delicious. For mains, I had the Hunter's pot which was slow cooked Sable in a broth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor N
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

thank you for your review More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2016

We were looking for a traditional lunch and this was the place. Delicious peanut butter rice and Zimbabwe hot pot, greens, sweet potatoes and lemonade or beer. Only wish we had gone back at night for the music.

Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

When you are back here next yes make a date in the evening for our live band. More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
378 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016

We were walking on the main street of Vic Falls looking for a good restaurant and we just wandered inside this place on 21st May, afternoon for lunch. They had limited menu and we ordered two vegetarian dishes, but finally she supplied 2 plates of rice and veg curry! The curry was quite spicy and it was a real welcome... More 

Helpful?
Thank Qwelt
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. More 

Ezulwini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

I really enjoyed the set up at Mama Africa’s. The menu had a few different choices beyond the standard local dishes such as curry. Live music enhanced the atmosphere. Visit the gift shop as there are some good value souvenirs of a decent quality on offer.

Helpful?
Thank Jackiesolo
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

We had a goo dinner. We had Elephant steak, bream and Dried meat Ndebele style. All three dinners were very good with lovely vegetables. Good atmosphere with very nice music. Only negative comment id the coffee, not the best, but still recommend Mama Africa.

Helpful?
Thank Bente H
Vus_Moyo, s media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. More 

Georgia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2016

We were served by Mama herself. Food was good, service was good, music starts at 7. Local foods and some international dishes.

Helpful?
Thank drronline
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a really great experience at Mama Africa's Eating House. The food was really good and flavourful I had the sadza ndihuraye which is a traditional shona meal that came with beef. The me a in the stew could've been more tender and I didn't appreciate the cold butternut on my plate. My husband had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunshine0789
Vus_Moyo, S Media at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review

great news to know you enjoyed your self and you do recommend our establishment to others More 

Travellers who viewed Mama Africa Eating House also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Mama Africa Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
African
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Falls Road, Victoria Falls zw, Zimbabwe
  • Location: Africa  >  Zimbabwe  >  Matabeleland North Province  >  Victoria Falls
  • Phone Number: +263 13 41725

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mama Africa Eating House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?