We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

"Alo Alo" Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Forest Road | Mount Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
+263 77 326 5933
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 09:00 - 14:30
Tue - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Chinhoyi, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have had a few meals and coffee at Alo Alo and have always found it tops!! Their light lunches are delicious, good sized portions and beautifully served. Their iced coffees are really good too! I have a husband who loves breakfast and especially the Alo Alo breakfast, even at lunch time!! Staff are friendly and efficient. Pleasant setting and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiminzim
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came for late Lunch at the new Allo Allo. Left disappointed. Extremely different from the old one that was run by a French chef. Please the decor is too colonial & not impressive. You must be old fashioned to dine here & the menu is the same.

Helpful?
Thank DzivaSambiri
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My goodness, where do I even begin. Perfection at it's best would be the right thing to say. The atmosphere was amazing & Caroline was fantastic organising our wedding. The food was perfect & service was amazing thanks. Fees are affordable & portions are generous.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Caught a few drinks by the Chez Chex bar. A great place for an outdoor Friday evening with mature crowd. Live entertainment available at cover charge. Enjoyed Mokoomba band from Victoria Falls.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

This is a great restaurant, with a great garden and very friendly staff. The food is well prepared and always served with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank KGDee
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

i love this restaurant beacuse it is cozy and very ethnic.this is god for all weather types i loved the heating during the cold winter.the food is amazing

Helpful?
Thank platinumpindy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

i've always Ranked Alo alo amongst the top 3 fine dining restaurants in Harare ..... but today from the meal to the service ... i was in shock , firstly it's like the waiters have no incentive to work totally disinterested in their jobs, slack service , totally nonchalant , this is a reflection of management ...... the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Varshjgd28
lesley170, Owner at "Alo Alo" Restaurant, responded to this review

We are most upset to hear such a review like the one you have posted and we would like the opportunity to make things better in the hope that you will return to Alo Alo and have a much better experience. I wish you had come to speak to Management straight away about all these points on the day, or... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

My missus had bacon wrapped mushrooms as a starter and pan fried hake. I helped myself to a pork schintzel. Needless to say both meala were first class. Mkoma Timothy who served us was superb. Kudos all round!!

Helpful?
Thank Farai Gorden D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Sadly my meal was tasteless... old fashioned deco dusty/dirty artificial flowers on table ...old fashioned tasteless cooking

Helpful?
Thank desfer
lesley170, Owner at "Alo Alo" Restaurant, responded to this review

We are most upset to hear such a review like the one you have posted and we would like the opportunity to make things better in the hope that you will return to Alo Alo and have a much better experience. I wish you had come to speak to Management straight away about all these points on the day, or... More 

Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

Very overpriced and uninspired food. Many better options in Harare. I was very disappointed given its higher rating on TripAdvisor.

Helpful?
Thank MuzunguWanderlust
lesley170, Front Office Manager at "Alo Alo" Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Alo Alo Restaurant, please could you let us know what you think we could do to improve it :-) Thanks More 

Travellers who viewed "Alo Alo" Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to "Alo Alo" Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$20
Cuisine
International, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 14:30
Monday
09:00 - 14:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Forest Road | Mount Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Location: Africa  >  Zimbabwe  >  Harare Province  >  Harare
  • Phone Number: +263 77 326 5933
Description
A beautiful setting, a home away from home. Offering delicious a la carte meals lunch and dinner as well as a lunch special menu served 7 days a week. Also open for breakfast, teas, coffees and cake. You will be warmly welcomed by adrian and lesley

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of "Alo Alo" Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from "Alo Alo" Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?