We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Foundouk

55, Souk Hal Fassi | Kaat Ben Nahid - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-78190
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good38%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“tagine” (169 reviews)
“beef” (37 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, African, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
55, Souk Hal Fassi | Kaat Ben Nahid - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (2,698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited last month and tried a pastilla for the first time (very tasty but, boy, they are sugary, aren't they?). Juliet had an excellent tanjia. Very nice atmosphere but surprising that everyone was ushered out onto the roof. The interior of the foundouk was beautiful...More

Thank dominiccropper
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Dominiccropper, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed the moments you have spent at our establishment. We take your comments into account in order to improve the quality of our services. We hope to welcome you again,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The ambience is fantastic at night (try the terrace) and the food and service are good. Prices are above average but so is the place - totally worthy.

Thank altech_durden
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Altech_durden, Thank you so much for your recommendation ! We are delighted that your experience at our facility has been very pleasant. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good food. Nice, classy place. But i was expecting more. You can eat better typical food in other places. And the price is not reflected in the quality of the food and/or the service.More

Thank Ze L
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Ze L, Thank you for your visit. We are happy to read that you have appreciated our food as well as our ambiance. We will take into account your remarks in order to improve the quality of our cuisine. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you walk in there you're flattered and especially the rooftop is amazing! unfortunately the meat was not very good. I couldn't eat tajine any longer so I decided to go for a risotto.That one was really good! I was impressed! A really nice restaurant!...More

Thank Chi F
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Chi F, Thank you for your recommandation ! It’s a pleasure for us to read these compliments... We do take into consideration your observations in order to improve our food. We hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant had been highly recommended to us and I have rarely felt so let down. It is in Marrakech medina and not easy to find. The restaurant is huge, spread over 3 floors, and we ate on the rooftop terrace. The atmosphere was welcoming...More

Thank John G
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello John, Thank you for your review. We would like to aopologize for the experience you have had at Le Foundouk. We regret your incident and assure to you that it is merely a misunderstanding. Our aim is to satisfy all of our clients. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here with very casual clothes. Actually we didn't expect this kind classy place =D Waiters were so kind, service was great. All meals were so delicious and prices very fair. We had an enjoyable night in here. Thanks to all.

Thank Çiseren K
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Ciseren, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed the moments you have spent at our establishment. We hope to welcome you again, soon.

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

A gem of a restaurant in the old city (Medina). We were lucky that our hotel booked us a driver and the restaurant had a local man to meet us and guide us to the restaurant which was hidden along a winding alley - fab...More

2  Thank Scottymrtpi
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Scottymrtpi, Thank you for your recommandation ! It’s a pleasure for us to read these compliments... We hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We came here for dinner on our second night of our 4 day trip. We got a taxi to the medina and a guide in a red hat and black cloak was waiting for us to take us to the restaurant. It was lucky he...More

2  Thank hanscotty
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Hanscotty, Thank you for your recommandation It is trully pleasant to read that our establishment was able to charme your senses. We hope to welcome you again, soon.

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

I visited this restaurant on the last night of my Moroccan holiday. It came so highly recommended I thought it would be the ideal place to finish what has been a very enjoyable experience. Alas I was rather disappointed. Whilst the setting is excellent, we...More

1  Thank Christos K
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Christos, Thank you for your review. We regret your experience and assure you that we aim to satisfy all of our clients and take into consideration all your remarks concerning our service. Looking forward to having you over for a better experience.

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely beautiful with fantastic service and great food. The only downside (and reason it doesn't get a 5*) is getting there/away. You need to take a taxi to a nearby square where you should be met by a man in a cloak...More

Thank Sarah D
FoundoukMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hello Sara, Thank you for your review. We regret your experience about the taxi... It is trully pleasant to read that our establishment was able to charme your senses. We hope to welcome you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kui-Zin
1,463 reviews
.39 km away
Atay Cafe - Food
749 reviews
.39 km away
Ryad Bahia
26 reviews
.30 km away
Kafe Merstan
231 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ben Youssef Madrasa
8,253 reviews
.17 km away
Photography Museum of Marrakech
4,076 reviews
.02 km away
Boucharouite Museum
302 reviews
.32 km away
Rahba Kedima Square
335 reviews
.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
OKeeffe55
18 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Charlye294 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, but please watch closely your personal belongings, my cell phone was stolen by the staff. If i were you ill go somewhere else.
0
Votes
Google Translation
RuthEWarren
2 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from FoundoukMarrakech | Property representative |
Non pas de dress code. Notre clientèle est assez élégante donc je vous conseille une petite touche d'élégance pour vous sentir à l'aise.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$47
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
19:00 - 00:00
Monday
19:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
19:00 - 00:00
Thursday
19:00 - 00:00
Friday
19:00 - 00:00
Saturday
19:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55, Souk Hal Fassi | Kaat Ben Nahid - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
  • Location: Africa  >  Morocco  >  Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region  >  Marrakech
  • Phone Number: +212 5243-78190
  • E-mail
Description
Since 2002 Located in the médina near the souks.Historical district. Lunch - tea time - Apéritifs - Diner - Cocktails Morocon & International foods Open from tuesday to sunday from 12 am to 12 pm Roof terrasse with panoramic view on the Marrakech Médina Air conditioned You come with taxis ask "Place du Mokef", walking ask for "Le Musée de Marakech". To "young" guides in the médina you can offer 20 dirhams maximum.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing