We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mellow Mushroom

€€ - €€€
Pizza, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
320 E Clayton St, Athens, GA 30601
+1 706-613-0892
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My friend and I went here and it took longer than a half hour to get a pretzel appetizer. We then waited a very long time for our small pizza. The atmosphere was great and food was good but just wish it was a little faster.

Helpful?
Thank Anna K
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Hi Anna, We are currently working on hiring up a few new kitchen people to do just that! The next time you visit us will be much quicker with the addition of the new cooks to help speed up the process. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited here with our adult kids. There was a 20-minute wait, but it was worth it. We felt very comfortable there.

Helpful?
Thank Beth G
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Glad you liked it Beth! Hope you can visit with your family again! More 

Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that this has been a go-to restaurant for us in the past when we were in the mood for pizza. Tonight, though, was the worst service we're received in any restaurant in years. After being seated, we didn't see menus - much less drinks - for 20 minutes or so. As service ground to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Mary_66
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Hello, we cannot apologize enough for the experience you had last night and would love to see you come in again so we can prove to you that this is not the normal but the exception. If you would contact us at Athens@mellowmushroominfo.com we would love to get more information from you so we can make this right and redeem... More 

Charleston SC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

you'll like this place more than I do. Its a chain. Been to a few of them. Evacuated from hurricane and had dog. We were able to get a table on their little narrow sidewalk area that was fenced in. Options were limited if you are asking why I'd go if I hate their crust. Great beer options. And we... More 

Helpful?
Thank marc c
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us Marc! Sorry you didn't care for the pizza, but glad you were able to enjoy one of our tasty salads and beer is always a good option for anything if you ask us. More 

Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We had a big party and it was no problem. We hardly had to wait. The staff are so nice. The place is very nice and big place. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank hcky1189
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review and coming out to see us with your group! More 

Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I'll start that the food is always up to par with other Mellows. Which means it's always great. However, this mellow is consistent in that the service always manages to suck. For instance, the 2nd to last time we went, we waited for 20 minutes between when the hostess sat us and when the server got our drinks. Last night,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex E
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Hi Alex, we are very sorry for your visit with us. We are having meetings with all of our staff to make sure they do not forget what they are supposed to do. If you could e-mail us at Athens@mellowmushroominfo.com I would love to talk further if you are up for it. Thank you very much More 

Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

Order your Pizza at the bar for to go food. The Pizza was great! We went after church and before the 1pm football crowd started. Took about 20minutes to get the pizza.

Helpful?
Thank Susan937
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Glad you were able to sneak in before the crowds! Hoped you enjoyed it enough to come back soon for a nice sit down experience with some of our friendly servers More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were a little hesitant to try our MM since it's move from Lumpkin Street. While from the outside it looks very "chain" and inside feels very "chain" - the flavors are consistently excellent with what we knew from their previous location years ago. We enjoyed watching the pizza makers hand toss dough and our pizza was cooked perfectly. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meghan W
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Glad we could provide you with such an awesome night! Hope to see you back soon More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The good was very good as usually, but the service was very slow to come out of the back. We walked up to get a quick bite to eat nice bar and view of downtown.

Helpful?
Thank Paradise7577
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

thank you for your response. we have recently hired a lot of new cooks to be able to handle the on coming rush of game season. They are trained and building speed so in the next week you will have a much quicker experience More 

Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Even though the place was very busy, the staff had great attitudes and friendly and helpful. The food was slow arriving, but again it was very busy. Pizza and salads were the chosen fare, and all were good quality and good eats.

Helpful?
Thank samjossha
mellow m, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! glad you enjoyed it! More 

Travellers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
Pizza, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Television, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 320 E Clayton St, Athens, GA 30601
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Athens
  • Phone Number: +1 706-613-0892
Description
Mellow Mushroom is proud to serve Athens with delicious pizza, hoagies, calzones, salads, and now burgers! Providing quality food since 1974, we use fresh ingredients on all our menu items. Mellow Mushroom is more than just a pizza restaurant; it is where Athens pizza lovers and beer lovers gather. Our menu and locations are as eclectic as our fans. Join the beer club, shop our Mellow shirts and see the unique artwork in each of our locations. The search for the best pizza in Athens is over.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mellow Mushroom staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?