We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

) #2 of 29 Restaurants in Picton €€ - €€€ Seafood, Cafe,
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (109 reviews)
“tapas” (35 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Cortado usually provides a pleasurable dinning experience however tonight the food was anything but pleasurable. I ordered the gnocchi for my son which was burnt with a sauce that had no taste and gluggy. The pizza was very salty and unable to eat more than...More

Thank Melanie C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food portions were very generous and all meals were good. Service was mostly friendly and efficient, and the coffee was good. Good spot to sit and watch the world go by.

Thank katkeil29
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Salt and pepper calamari was too salty and steak entree was chewy but the chicken florentine and pork mains were great.

Thank Orion L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location. Relatively expensive but good quality food and service. Small wine list but well selected and a good craft beer selection. Walking distance to the ferry terminal.

Thank graystuar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food is excelent! The service was fast and just on the main avenue where you can Enjoy the beautiful view of PictonMore

Thank MariitaMx
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MaritaMx Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you love it here, we are proud of our food and always endeavor to give the best service so its especially pleasing to get positive feedback. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Good location, varied menu, tasty food and friendly staff. Fine for an evening meal. Don't have any complaints.

Thank perthluv2travel
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived for dinner on a Saturday evening and we're lucky to get a table. It was full and busking and deservedly so. The menu offers an interesting selection of food and we were torn between the tapas dishes and the mains. We chose the...More

Thank TGEVE
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Looking for a quick meal we opened the door to a full, busy, buzzing cafe to be quickly shown the one remaining table. Knowing what we had come for we were very quickly served two most amazing servings of seafood chowder. Some places make a...More

Thank Ross B
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Our seafood chowder is very popular as we use only the freshest ingredients and make it from scratch. It is chock full of seafood and we dont bulk it up with vegetables which is what...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I am not sure this place merits such a high review on TA when Le Cafe is around the corner. However, it was good. We shared five tapas and it was just fine. Service was great...thank you.

Thank Samantha60
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Loved the food and the ambience. The pizza was delicious. So was the quinoa salad. Potato bravas were just alright though the Brazilian cheese bread was awesome. The dessert too are amazing. The staff are really friendly too.

Thank Kiran K
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
395 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
269 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
480 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
248 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
169 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
73 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
244 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
george4209
any oysters
20 February 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
0
Votes
Jennifer O
Should we book?
20 December 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from LAMB7520 | Reviewed this property |
Yes definately
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$36
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing