We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

) #2 of 30 Restaurants in Picton €€ - €€€ Seafood, Pizza, Cafe
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (111 reviews)
“tapas” (35 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This place is always busy during the high season. Great location and cool environment inside with the Spanish themed feel. Very decent meals but the prices are slightly above average. Good choice for meals and drinks around Picton.

Thank JosePablin
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We came here on a cool rainy day for an early lunch. We got a large pizza half pulled pork half lamb and pesto....OMG so good!! $25 for a large pizza....100% better then the like if dominos or pizza hutt....the roping was generous and delicious....would...More

Thank charliesD9938SS
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were hesitant coming due to the price and we wanted something casual. So glad we went though! Amazing meal, great service and beautiful view. Really nice spot in Picton for a great meal.

Thank sfongs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fabulous Christmas Day in Picton! Great entertainment and fun. Great Pizza and drinks. Cafe Cortana was packed full of people but our waitress took care of us and was very attentive to us and made us feel special!

Thank DeborahGB2016
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited on a lovely winters day and sat outside around a gas fire table. The fire was not lit and we asked on 3 occasions to have it lit. On the third occasion we were told they are short staffed today and that they...More

2  Thank HennersMidlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch at Cortados in Picton with some friends today. I had the Blue Cod & fries and it would be one of the best I have had anywhere. The fish was fresh, not at all greasy and the batter was perfect. The cafe was...More

Thank Gordon L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ordered takeaway vegetarian pizza. The first slice was fine and we were enjoying our dinner. Alas, the next slice had tiny pieces of chicken amongst the vegetables. These were not visible, however, once in the mouth it was obvious what they were. This is...More

Thank Sharon M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This would have to be one of my worst lunch experiences, the waitress was covered in food and did not listen to our order as I asked for the onion ram that came with the chicken burger to be one the side as I was...More

Thank celinemariel
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

we have a policy where if there is something wrong with the meal we replace it free of charge. Your comment re the mussels was that you had asked for chilli sauce but it contained coconut cream. As I explained to you there are 2...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading online menu i was looking forward to coming here for a meal when we arrived down south - sadly it didn't leave a pleasant memory! The kids ordered nacho's - tomato paste on corn chips & thin sliver of melted cheese :( Husband...More

Thank Barbara C
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We can only apologise that your meals were not up to our usual standard. We take all complaints seriously and prefer to have the opportunity to respond personally when there is a problem. We would appreciate it if you could take the time to contact...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a dinner here and a morning coffee. Both times I was very pleased with the service and the quality of the food/drink. The coffee was well made. The foods was nicely prepared and delivered with condiments and garnishes to elevate the dish. Very...More

Thank Charity T
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback as our staff work hard to deliver quality, wholesome food with a smile. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our food and service so feedback it important to us.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
398 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
273 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
492 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
252 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
172 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
75 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
245 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$37
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing