We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Little Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7314
Website
Saturday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Sat 17:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 645: English reviews
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Nice wine selection, mains pretty good overall, service ok, but nothing to suggest Akaroa's top restaurant. Squid too chewy to eat, Clevdon oysters were tiny and had an off smell but edible (usually beautiful when purchased from source ). Bread was rather dry. Ho hum experience unfortunately as we had booked a while back due to popularity.

Helpful?
Thank DHC2-Man
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

Hi DHC2-Man Thanks for taking the time to review our little bistro. Its a shame you didnt enjoy your experience with us. Our oysters are coming in a little bit small at the moment, and the issue has been raised with our supplier. As for there freshness, they are delivered fresh 3 times a week, from source. As for our... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were fortunate to find a reservation at this little gem, and were rewarded with a wonderful dinner. Sue had the local salmon, and I had a whole sole, perfectly cooked and ready for me to debone. It was a wonderful dinner!

Helpful?
Thank Traverse_Indigo
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

hi Traverse_Indigo Thank you for taking the time to review our bistro. we so glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Were pretty lucky to have such wonderful seafood in our new zealand waters. regards richard More 

Caineville, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a tiny place, 27 seats. And the food menu is quite selective in its offerings. But the service is attentive and good, and the food is excellent. We had a table at the front window, which is a nice place to sit if you have any choice. Reservations are essential every night during the summer, and book early--the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

hi Judy P Thank you for taking the time to review our wee bistro. you did well getting a window table. they are in pretty high demand. regards richard More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Superb locally sourced food, presented beautifully. Service was excellent and it lived up to its name...little French bistro. Seating is tight but that's to be excused when the food is so good. Actually creates the atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank janelizabeth211252
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our little bistro. Its great to read you enjoyed your experience with us. regards richard More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fortunately we had booked a table in advance, the restaurant was full & atmosphere lively. The service was friendly & helpful & the food absolutely delicious (the "citrus pud " was wonderful!), there was an extensive, interesting wine list. We enjoyed a chat afterwards with the very welcoming proprietor. Definitely a good place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Sedateskier
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Sedateskier Booking a table is always good advice. Our lemon parfait has been a huge sucess this summer, im sure it will return to our menu again soon. regards richard More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

What a lovely setting for a great dinner. As we are winding down our trip we decide to spend time in Akaroa. We chose dinner here and were not disappointed. It is indeed a little bistro with great ambience, good food and in keeping witty our NZ experience huge portions. It was the perfect reward after driving from Little River... More 

Helpful?
Thank nal54
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

Hi nal54, thank you for your kind words. we hope you have alittle less eventfully drive back to christchurch. regards richard More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Love eating at this restaurant, the relaxed atmosphere, the friendly helpful staff, the great wine list but at the top of the list is the wonderful food. We have eaten here many times and are never disappointed, in fact we recommend it to everyone we know. Relax, enjoy the atmosphere, talk to the people at the next table, make new... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsMHawkesBay
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

thanks MrsMHawkesBay, for your kind words, its always nice to read reviews from regulars. Im sure josh and myself will cook you up a strom on your next visit. regards richard More 

Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This came well recommended. As we walked up the chefs were sitting out side smoking roll ups, the sign on the door proudly announcing they no longer took reservations for children. Once inside I could see why the tables so close together that you had to be mindful not to knock your neighbour. The menu interesting but not that impressive.... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank hiraethcardiff
TLB_Akaroa, Manager at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we truly apologize for your bad experience. As you mentioned, even we are not a fine dining restaurant, we believe that the service is very important and we do try our best. However, it is also quite hard to be always perfect even we are trying to do so.... More 

London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite being highly recommended, our dining experience at The Little Bistro was disappointing, mostly because of the service and overall attitude. While the food was good, it was overshadowed by what felt like a hurried, disinterested, novice staff. The welcome was cool, the pacing far too fast, the wine recommendations poor. Perhaps our experience was tainted by the absolutely superb... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JJMinUK
Richard_Uttley, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

Hi JJMinUK Thank you for taking the time to review our little bistro. We sorry to read that we didnt meet your expectations. Our front of house team are all very experienced and ill be looking into the service you received, its not the norm for us. Regards Richard More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived the place was full and buzzing. The service was prompt and friendly, the wine waiter (from Scotland) was excellent and really knew the wines, and the Food - OMG. It was so good, beautifully presented and flavoursome. I can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank nana_jackson
Richard_Uttley, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this review

Hi nana_jackson Thank you for such kind words, its great to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. Were very lucky to have such knowledgeable staff members on had, after knowing our cheeky scotsman for nearly 20 years, i still haven't worked out if its passion for wine or he's a raving alcoholic. regards richard More 

Travellers who viewed The Little Bistro also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Little Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$28
Cuisine
French, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Open Hours
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Akaroa
  • Phone Number: +64 3-304 7314
Description
"...a bistro is a small restaurant serving hearty meals and wine in an unpretentious setting..." European inspired, locally sourced food cooked and served with love, plus a winelist to die for....

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Little Bistro and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Christchurch, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Little Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?