We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Fish Shack

€€ - €€€Seafood, , Gluten Free Options
42 Mews Rd | Fishing Boat Harbour, WA 6160, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
+61 8 9336 7161
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good40%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (55 reviews)
“crawfish” (20 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
42 Mews Rd | Fishing Boat Harbour, WA 6160, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For some reason, I didn't expect it to be good. The service was great. We had fish and chips and bruscheta, very good. Big portions. Nice view to the port. It was busy, but still we were able to talk. I'm sure we'll come back.

1  Thank Gabriela L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed that plain old fish and chips cost so much. $22 for entree size and $33 for meal size. They were not even good when they came!More

Thank LOROB354
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi LOROB35, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit to Joe's. The prices you have listed are not quite accurate our main size Fish & Chips is $27.00, but this aside we would appreciate the opportunity to contact you so...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were attracted by the views and ambience. Couldn't fault the service, which was friendly and efficient. But the price and quality of the food are poor, especially after we had experienced the fresh seafood next door at Kaili's. This is a more relaxing place...More

Thank robnadcol
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Robnadcol, We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant recently, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with to gain details which will allow me to follow through with our team. We strive to meet our guest expectations at all...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My hubby and I took the day off, and headed to Freo for lunch. Wanted something by the waterside, and decided to try this. So glad we did. We wanted a nice light lunch and ended up settling on the Tasting platter & the Stuffed...More

Thank pook1963
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

I have visited many times and I find that you get a better deal here than the other nearby competitors. The fish and chips are always fresh and tasty and better portion sizes than the rest. Good value

2  Thank Chizzel
Reviewed 29 July 2017

If you're looking for somewhere cheap but you REALLY want fish & chips in a nice location by the harbour, this is your place. Grab a beer, sit back and relax and you're set.

2  Thank KrystalR0313
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

It was a busy day for the staff here but the service was quick and the staff didn't seem flustered at all. This is our go to lunch place each time we are in Freo and once again it didn't disappoint. We will certainly be...More

2  Thank Jinta29
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Meals are huge. Ordered way more then l could ever eat. Staff were lovely as usual, food superb. Always like heading over for my WA seafood fix.

2  Thank Nichole B
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Went for lunch yesterday with a group of 8 . All had variations with orders. The staff were very obliging and all the requests came out correctly. Food was generous and delicious the whole lunch experience made our visit to Fremantle very successful. Will definitately...More

2  Thank Samantha P
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

This place is amazing! I was sceptical at first ordering a whole crayfish and it didn't cost me a kidney but wow! Huge meals and so fresh! Was an absolutely beautiful meal in a lovely setting. Don't go past this place if you're in Fremantle.

1  Thank JBKettle
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Moore & Moore Cafe
403 reviews
.31 km away
Little Creatures
2,325 reviews
.09 km away
Bread in Common
861 reviews
.34 km away
Char Char Bull
622 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shipwreck Galleries
707 reviews
.19 km away
Little Creatures
695 reviews
.09 km away
Bucket List Diver
19 reviews
.39 km away
Fremantle Fishing Boat Harbour
580 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Joe's Fish Shack staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$88
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Mews Rd | Fishing Boat Harbour, WA 6160, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Fremantle
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9336 7161
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing