We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Steakhouse, Irish, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
210
43
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
210
43
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger garlic potatoes korma ham turkey enchiladas salad top class tasty food staff were very helpful and friendly first class well worth a visit visiting the area varied menu rooms scott presentation
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 October 2019

We discovered The Butterbean last year when we were in the area and enjoyed a great meal so it was a no-brainer to call in again when we were in Carndonagh. The food remains very good and you're spoilt for choice. Service is quick and...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review

Reviewed 6 September 2019

My wife, daughter and I stopped for a light dinner. We went that hungry and did want heavy pub food. We each had an appetizer and shared a dessert. Wonderful. Service fast and friendly. Value priced. Recommend

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review

Reviewed 25 August 2019

I am delighted to let this secret out of the bag! The Butterbean rooms are better than many hotels, a great deal cheaper and a lot more personal. There is a decent sized TV with all the channels and the shower is Rolls Royce with...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Hi john, thank you for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed our place and hope to see you again. Many thanks

Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

Another excellent meal (fish &Chips) Never disappointed when we come to the Butterbean. Cant find anything to complain about .

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewed 21 August 2019

Eat here at least once a week and have never had a bad meal. The service very good and the food is always hot (as it should be) Central location with parking at the rear. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoy our restaurant. Thanks again.

Reviewed 9 August 2019

Shout out to #thebutterbean in Carndonagh, Ireland.They took care of us on Saturday nights. Good food, nice spot, and the nicest and sweetest staff in Donegal! Special shout out to a VERY cool lady: Kathleen!

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you

Reviewed 6 August 2019 via mobile

Nice menu, staff excellent, food very tasty. Handy location. Overall a lovely place to dine for brunch

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Reviewed 25 July 2019

Was in the butterbean for a friends birthday this weekend. first of all all the staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us. All 6 of us had different meals everybodys meals was great. Had a great night. We will be back....More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

While all the waiting staff were really pleasant and accommodating, some bad mistakes and average food let the butterbean down. I don’t often complain in restaurants but I had to speak to staff a couple of times, in fact everyone at our table had an...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?2  
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Hi adam , thank you for your review, unfortunately we had ran out of our homemade honeycomb and didn't have time to make more as we were extremely busy that evening, all our meals are cooked fresh to order and you are clearly wrong when...More

Reviewed 16 July 2019

Arrived at the Butterbean tired and hungry. It was just what the doctor ordered. Good choice of food. There were three of us and we all had something different. Staff friendly and helpful. When the food arrived it was excellent. Very happy with our visit...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
McGrory's Hotel
258 reviews
7.14 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
504 reviews
9.00 km away
The Strand Hotel
475 reviews
9.05 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse Boutique Hotel
269 reviews
9.05 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Courthouse Bistro and Visitor Centre
9 reviews
.03 km away
Simpson's Bar & Restaurant
206 reviews
.58 km away
Claire The Bakers
141 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cycle Inishowen
42 reviews
.14 km away
Inch Wildfowl Reserve
25 reviews
.48 km away
St. Patrick's High Cross
23 reviews
.78 km away
Neil Diver's The Glen Bar
12 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smithers58
28 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from SKM21 | Property representative |
Yes it does.
0
Votes
PaulineCoyle
27 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TheButterbean | Property representative |
Thanks Pauline, you have your review up as a question. Try again. Many thanks,
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing