We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Gardeners Arms

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Selsfield Road | Ardingly, Ardingly RH17 6TJ, England (Formerly Gardeners Arms Bar & Restaurant)
+44 1444 892328
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 353: English reviews
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The first time we visited , in December 2015 , we were impressed. The decor was pleasant , the food was good , the service was friendly and efficient. Almost a year later , this time round was a disappointment because I think the food served doesn't justify the prices they charge. My wide and I had the puff pastry... More 

Helpful?
Thank JRSpigot
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed that there is no vegetarian option on your Sunday lunch menu. It would be easy to add a veggie nut Wellington or roast as other similar pubs do .

Helpful?
Thank Jo M
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here yesterday and could not fault anything. We were a family group of 12 and it is always a worry with a large party that the standards will not be good, but this certainly was not the case. The food was amazing, we all had starters and then different roasts followed by delicious puddings from a large choice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pelis53
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday lunch as a family was perfect. Good choice of food, beautifully presented and great value too. The managers Neil and Cami were very welcoming and all the staff seemed friendly. We'll definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank robbsayers
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon. More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely lunch in a busy pub with a great atmosphere on a friday afternoon. We loved it so much we ended up in front of the lovely open fire for a few hours. The food is excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On of many visits to this bar/pub/restaurant, always nice atmosphere and beautiful setting in the countryside. Food is great but could be better. As much as i enjoy a plate of chips, i dont think this or any restaurant should fill the plates with chips. Having a nice fillet steak (as a special) with a good glass of wine, could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have visited 3 times now but the last time will probably be the last as we have been so disappointed with the food. It always arrives beautifully presented. However the portion size is quite small and the ingredient that should be the 'Star of the Show' has each time been absent. To date I have had Coronation Chicken without Chicken,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shousian
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every visit to this place is an absolute delight. Lunch and dinner, weekdays or weekends, the food is superb. Good attentive staff make dining here a delight. Looking forward to the next visit..

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here on a November Sunday to celebrate a family birthday. Our roasts came but the meat was over cooked. Accompanying veg were fine. Service was disappointing. Desserts menu was very limited.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisB090
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly welcome on arrival. Great country pub with an open fire and a great choice of food on the menu and special board. As ever I was on a lunch break so short of time - I just had the haddock chowder ..... it was so tasty and perfect for an autumn day - would highly recommend. My friends... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wiz C
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again. More 

Travellers who viewed The Gardeners Arms also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 
Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to The Gardeners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Selsfield Road | Ardingly, Ardingly RH17 6TJ, England (Formerly Gardeners Arms Bar & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Ardingly
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 892328

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Gardeners Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?