We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fat Seagull

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 3106
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Nice little Italian restaurant with a good sized menu offering plenty of choices. We went for the pizza and it was really good. "Meat" pizza was my choice!

Helpful?
Thank joellenf910
rob3922, General Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hello joellenf910! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your time with us, we especially enjoy our meat pizza as well and it's always encouraging to know when we get it right! It's nice to have varied options for meals, we find in such a seasonal area such as this; you need to... More 

Cowes, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Treating the locals bad is the worst thing any business could do. I made an order for delivery. When order arrived the drinks did not come with the food. The driver said he was not given them even though they were on the receipt. He said he would come back with them which he never did. We ate the apple... More 

Helpful?
Thank xxxxsc
rob3922, General Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi xxxxsc, Thanks for taking the time to leave your view on what happened with your delivery recently. While we are not opposed to having anyone leave good or bad reviews we do appreciate if they are true and accurate. Unfortunately this one is not completely truthful. We understand you feel as though you have had a bad experience with... More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

Whilst this restaurant has an extensive menu we were left very disappointed with our meal yesterday. My husband ordered a BBQ rack and wings which was meant to be a full rack. However only a half rack was served and the meat was of a very mediocre quality. I ordered a pasta dish which included chicken and again the meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian789
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Sian789, We thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at The Fat Seagull. It's disappointing to see that we weren't able to provide you with the standard of food we are generally very proud to present to our guests. I will ensure we discuss the quality of your meals with our staff at... More 

Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

We had lunch at the Fat Seagull on a Tuesday and took advantage of their special Tuesday $12 pizza offer. We shared a yummy smoked Salmon pizza with capers and spinach. We added a plate of delicious garlic butter steamed veg and a lovely salad. It was a truly gourmet meal. Quite delicious, including a professionally presentation. The meal was... More 

Helpful?
Thank FullySatisfiedcouple
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hello FullySatisfiedcouple! It's so lovely for us to read reviews such as yours and really encourages us to continue improving and strive to achieve enjoyable experiences for all of our guests to be of a similar nature to yours! We certainly hope you'll be back to join us again soon, and hope we can provide you with an even better... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

My girlfriend and I waited 55 minutes for our pizzas to arrive while watching everyone around us being served and completing their meals after arriving after us. I eventually 'squeezed' an explanation and apology from the waiter but the worst was how we were treated by the manager Nadia who made us feel like criminals for making a complaint since... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Ian L, We're very sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not enjoyable. We never enjoy a customer leaving without being serviced to the best of our ability and it's unfortunate that we seemed to have failed on this occasion. We can sometimes make mistakes, especially on our busier nights one being $12 Tuesday's, although it's... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We popped into the Fat Seagull for dinner on Friday. The menu was extensive and covered many different tastes. The prices were also very acceptable. The food itself was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. As llocals, we will definatley be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Dawn B! Thanks from the entire team here for giving us such positive feedback on your experience at our venue! It's always nice for us to be able to pass on encouragement such as this to our staff - they do work hard daily to ensure we provide the same level of service and cuisine to each and every... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were down at Philip Island for the weekend and chanced upon this restaurant. We ordered the grilled dory fillet (hubby & my 1 year old loved this), seafood marinara and chicken bites (4 year old gobbled this too). All were yummy and I polished off my pasta, which I rarely do. This was much better than Pino's which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smurfette26
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hello Smurfette26! We're so glad to see you, your husband and your little one had such a good time when you joined us! We always strive to ensure all guests enjoy the best of what we have to offer, and there's nothing more pleasant than being able to pass on such kind words like yours to our team here! We'd... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Dinner was quite nice, the staff were frieny and the service was quick. Bit loud as it was a busy dinner service.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
rob3922, Manager at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Daniel J, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such kind feedback on your experience. We can get quite chaotic and noisy when we have a busy dinner service, but we like to think that most of the time it adds to the atmosphere! It's lovely to note that you enjoyed the dinner, staff and service time! It's... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Tonight my partner, friend, 2 children and I came into the fat seagull for dinner and it was absolutely amazing. Not only was the food delicious but the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We could see it was a busy night and I myself work in hospitality so I know how it can be but the staff were still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordyn M
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Jordyn M, I just wanted to thank-you for your kind Trip Advisor review for our venue! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you're next visiting! I'll share your feedback with our team and let them know they have done an... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived for an early lunch and greeted instantly and politely, around 8 other people in there with a few other couples arriving soon after. We had read the reviews on TA and had to give it a go, so we browse the menu and order scallop mornay entree for the princess and I, bum burner pizza for me, chicken avocado... More 

Helpful?
Thank matt w
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this review

Hi Matt W, We love puns! This review made our day! Well done! And thanks too for the kind words, we're glad that you and your guests enjoyed your experience with us and would love to welcome you back again soon! Thanks again for sharing your experience! The Team @ The Fat 'Segal' More 

Travellers who viewed The Fat Seagull also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to The Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$23
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 3106

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fat Seagull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?