We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The pocket BURLEIGH

13 Connor St, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
+61 7 5520 7770
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good24%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“falafel” (62 reviews)
“mezze plate” (9 reviews)
“shakshuka” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Fast food, Mediterranean, Turkish, Australian, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13 Connor St, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visiting family on the Gold Coast from America. The Pocket has probably the best spicey lamb pocket sandwich ever! The owner Chand treated me like a friend rather than just a customer. I've been here twice already and plan to come back for sure. Don't...More

Thank WilliamFromSalemOR
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came out with family for a late brunch, I had been to The Pocket before a few times and always had great memories. Got a Spicy Pocket, perfect again. I love my flavours, especially more robust and rich flavours, which makes it hard to find...More

Thank lad b
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello ladb Thank you for taking your time out to provide such a generous review. More importantly we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and experience at the pocket and look forward to serving you again. Kind regards the POCKET

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great meal here yesterday! Spicy lamb and regular falafel was fantastic!! The food was crazy fresh. If you want fast food, go to a fast food joint. Everything is prepared to order. We’re on holiday from the US and we were very...More

Thank exc5
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello exc5 I thank you for your patience and understanding. Also we are glad that you appreciate it that you understand the cuisine and how it s prepared. The old sayings are still very much valid today - "Patience is virtue". Kind regards thePOCKET

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a must-go. Fresh, quality food with excellent service and with great vegan options. Chand, the owner, is lovely and very clearly takes pride in this food and his service!! It shows! A little gem in Burleigh for casual but delicious dining!More

Thank Bianca B
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you BIANCA for your generous review and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the POCKET. It is only our pleasure in seeing our guests satisifed and look forward to serving you and your friends again with our range of gluten free,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waiting 40 minutes for a falafel pocket seems to be 30 minutes too long. Whilst the food was good the long wait overwhelmed the experience. There were no excessive crowds or queues that could explain today as one off.

Thank Frequentfeeder
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day We do apologise for the delay in you receiving your meal. Upon investigation it was found that the staff were sequentially working through the dockets. I do hope you can give us another chance under better circumstances. Kind regards the POCKET

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really terrible value. I payed 20 dollars for a large falafel pocket with some extras and was extremely disappointed. If it was $12/13 and the food had taken less than 25 minutes I would have been a happy customer. Got very little hummous, falafel and...More

Thank Oliver W
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Oliver I do remember you coming and ordering your meal. It is really disappointing that you did not come up to me at the counter and tell me exactly what was wrong with your meal (if anything). Please bear in mind that only...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a falafel on the run as I was needing a quick feed, however the food took almost 25 minutes to come! No forewarning of the slow service, neither did I get an apology for it taking so long! Bearing in mind this was at...More

Thank Zoë S
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Zoe I have investigated your visit to the POCKET. Both myself and my partner were in the restaurant together with my staff. I remember seeing you standing at the entrance and both my partner and my staff called out your name, to collect your...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018

I was really looking forward to trying this place for the first time. Unfortunately, although the food was okay (apart from the world’s smallest falafels and unripe avocado which was replaced after I let the waitress know) we were let down hugely by the service....More

Thank TheCammos
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Your review is indeed very interesting, especially about the size of the falafels. The falafel comes out of a machine to ensure consistent size, especially so that the frying of it is consistent and this has been scientifically developed so that the falafel...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We are locals .. the food here is the best!!! Very fresh and tasty middle eastern food. Can’t get this anywhere else ... totally recommend!! Sally and YoavMore

Thank Sally E
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Sally Thank you for taking your time out to write up such a generous review on TRIPADVISOR about your experiences at the POCKET. It is only our pleasure to serve you the best and we hope to see you again soon. Glad we lived...More

Reviewed 24 March 2018

We had been their regular customers (for years) and, after being away for a while, we went there a couple of weeks ago and even though the name is the same (and the menu looks the same), this is not the same place! I used...More

Thank Natalia S
ManagementTPB, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Natalia Your review is indeed very interesting, especially about the size of the falafels. The falafel comes out of a machine to ensure consistent size, especially so that the frying of it is consistent and this has been scientifically developed so that the falafel...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Burleigh Heads
Burleigh Break
9 reviews
1.02 km away
Mariner Shores Resort & Beach Club
120 reviews
1.62 km away
Outrigger Gold Coast
99 reviews
1.68 km away
Sunshine Beach Resort
115 reviews
2.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bin 12
175 reviews
.09 km away
Pantry The
261 reviews
.01 km away
Justin Lane
669 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burleigh Heads Beach
1,484 reviews
.56 km away
David Fleay Wildlife Park
201 reviews
1.23 km away
Burleigh Head National Park
362 reviews
.67 km away
Burleigh Markets
64 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Shane L
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ManagementTPB | Property representative |
What is your question?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$17
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 20:00
Monday
10:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 20:00
Thursday
10:00 - 20:00
Friday
10:00 - 20:00
Saturday
09:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 Connor St, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Burleigh Heads
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5520 7770
  • E-mail
Description
"Fresh, healthy,sensationally delicious and authentic", that's our food at The Pocket Burleigh. Large selection of vegan and vegetarian as well as meat dishes. Award winning Nat Byron's coffee, beer and wine. Casual sitting in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere less then 100 mtr from the beach. friendly and professional staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;