We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. George and Dragon

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Wargrave RG10 8HY, England
+44 118 940 4474
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

619 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 618: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Friendly greeting at the bar however then waited to be seated and for the waiter to come and take our drinks order. Appreciate it was a busy Saturday evening however 20 mins waiting for a drink is slightly excessive. This did not spoil the evening and we enjoyed a good evening. The waiter was a very friendly guy and delivered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrisonholiday7
General Manager A, Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Hello Chrisinholiday7 We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Though this is my second attempt at the G and D, I forgave the first substandard meal thinking maybe it was me. The answer is no, it is not me. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable which was a plus. The food however, on both occasions was something out of the 1980s. I had the roast pork with Yorkshire Pudding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
General Manager A, Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, Thank you for your feedback of your recent visit to dine with us. We are so disappointed that we have missed the mark for you on two occasions. We'd like the opportunity to make this up to you, so if you're willing, please contact our manager at 01189404474. We hope to hear from you. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a meal for my mum's birthday. We ordered a bottle of prosecco with 4 glasses. I was asked for ID (I'm 24) which I had left at home. They refused to serve me even though my parents and whole family were there. Staff handled the situation very badly and the whole evening was ruined by their bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire L
General Manager A, Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Dear Claire & Family, We are very sorry that your night out celebrating your mother's birthday was ruined. It is our company policy to not serve alcohol to anyone under the age of 18. Our staff are required to check ID's of those who appear under the age of 21 regardless on who they are with as per our company... More 

Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

the location if fantastic on the river, perfect on a summer day. Food service is slow and the food quite hum drum...it used to be great but it has lost its way a bit.

Helpful?
Thank haresleap
General Manager A, General Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Hi, we regret that you had a negative experience with us. We are hard at work to ensuring consistency of our standards. We appreciate your feedback and we hope that you can come and visit us during the summer so we can show you our improvements. Thank you. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice and Friendly Staff Delicious Food which was well presented Excellent selection of drinks for the liking of whole family Reasonably Priced menu Perfect location by the river with ample parking

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very thrilled that you have an amazing time with us. Our menu is having some alterations this coming April as we turn our focus to our daily specials. We hope that you will enjoy these exciting changes coming our way in the coming months. We thank you for your feedback and look... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've been going to this pub restaurant for some years as a date night 3/4 times a year. It is easily accessible by wheelchair, ramped entrance, level inside, good sized loo, room between tables. The last time we went we had the chicken maryland and sent it back, so tough it was inedible. The menu hadn't changed and we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 23RosyP
General Manager A, General Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you, 23rosyp, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Our menu is having some alterations this coming April as we turn our focus to our daily specials. We hope that you will enjoy these exciting changes coming our way in the coming months. We thank you for your feedback and look... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

This is a lovely pub. Great outdoor seating area overlooking the river makes it a must in summer. Good service and well cooked food. Sticky toffee pudding is lovely

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
General Manager A, Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Vanessa, We strive to provide excellent service to every guest at the St George And Dragon, so its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and also enjoyed your food. we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards The St George And Dragon Team More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

Great service. Starters good but Turkey and veg swamped in gravy; very off-putting. Childrens' meals far too large and plates also swimming in gravy which was far too rich. After scraping off as much gravy as possible, they still ate hardly any of the turkey etc. Considering the price paid, we were very disappointed. Also, gratuities already added to final... More 

Helpful?
Thank ohgeebee
General Manager A, General Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Ohgeebee, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your 2015 experience with The St George & Dragon, Wargrave. It is such a shame that this occasion turned you away from booking with us in 2016. We have been making several changes here at the St. George & Dragon to improve on our standards and consistency which I think you... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Visited as a family and impressed with the menu. Good selection and variety. Not impressed, though, that they did not have any tonic water. Their excuse - they have been busy over Christmas. Seriously, come on. They could even have gone to the local supermarket to pick some up! Anyway, my wife ordered a wine rather than the vodka and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
General Manager A, General Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you, David, for taking the time to reach out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in making the necessary changes to improve our business and service standards. You are right in saying the fact that we run out of Tonic Water on Christmas Eve was appalling. During this period of time we did have limited staff with... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Visited for lunch. Beautiful setting, lovely pub, efficient and friendly service but the food was disappointing. I went for the prawn and crab linguine. Five prawns and a small bowl. No crab in sight but the chorizo was nice. This annoys me because pasta costs pennies so why not be generous?? The tomato sauce was dry and lacked taste. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Love_Mini_Breaks
General Manager A, General Manager at St. George and Dragon, responded to this review

Love_mini_breaks, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. We really wish we had known about this on the day so we could have made it up to you. Our manager would really like to help turn your experience around. If you would be willing to give us another... More 

Travellers who viewed St. George and Dragon also viewed

Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Wargrave, Berkshire
 
Wargrave, Berkshire
 

Been to St. George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Wargrave RG10 8HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wargrave
  • Phone Number: +44 118 940 4474
Description
The Saint George and Dragon in Clyst Saint George is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. George and Dragon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?