We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Horse

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
North Street, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne, England
+44 1460 78873
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 199: English reviews
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here with the family. Very welcoming service, while we were delighted to be sat next to the cozy fire. Food was outstanding and they were ver accommodating to any requests. Everybody left very happy, and full! Will most definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank GGbarno
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to try this place after a recommendation, it is very much a place to eat rather than just a drink, The meal we had was very nice but not outstanding, We were made to fell very welcome and were placed very cozily near the open fire, the staff were very helpful with any questions we had about anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the White Horse with a family group. The meal was superb as was the service. Attention was paid to the presentation of the meals and there were no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have eaten here twice in the past 6 months (dinner both times) and it has been a wonderful experience. Great food and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I live in the next door village to the White Horse and my friends and I go here whenever we need to celebrate a special occasion. Every year with have our Christmas meal here, the food is AMAZING! It's served as a sharing board on our table which gives it a very homely feel and means that you can have... More 

Helpful?
Thank HarrietEH
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such special food should be savoured and not rushed. We all thought it was amazing. Thank you so much.

Helpful?
Thank SusieG681
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my 5 friends came for a Christmas dinner. The portions (buffet style between the 6 of us) were absolutely huge! The food was absolutely delicious - without a doubt the best roast potatoes I've ever had! Service was also excellent - a very pleasant experience. Will be returning :)

Helpful?
Thank Phedra G
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A party of 7 gathered for a birthday celebration left disappointed. Main courses of sparse proportions served on a variety of boards plates and bowls. Partridge that was hard to separate from the carcass and sausages of an indeterminate provenance, the burger was the only one of the 7 to past muster. Deserts ok but one served in a kilner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davex407
Rebecca Katheri... r, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The White Horse. I am naturally disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the dishes served. Had you raised this with our staff we would have happily changed any of the dishes for you. Please be assured all guest feedback... More 

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We made last minute booking here after deciding to dine out on a Saturday night and found this lovely place on trip advisor. They squeezed us in and were very helpful on the telephone so had set a real good standard from the start. Quite long waits at the bar and to be even acknowledged when we got there after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
Rebecca Katheri... r, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food. I am sorry your service on arrival was slow, queue jumpers are one of my pets hates so I completely understand where you are coming from! Thank you for your feedback, we will take your comments on board and use in our on-going staff... More 

Exeter UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Once again I visited The White Horse, this time with some old friends and as always the food was excellent the host second to none and the atmosphere superb. Well done to Richard and Becky excellent as always.

Helpful?
Thank IKD001

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Crewkerne, Somerset
Crewkerne, Somerset
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Street, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Crewkerne  >  Haselbury Plucknett
  • Phone Number: +44 1460 78873

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Horse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?