We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Pub and Cafe

€€ - €€€, European,
8 Muritai Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-546 4084
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (52 reviews)
“steak” (32 reviews)
“fish tacos” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Muritai Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed my tasty chicken burrito while others loved their wholesome burgers. Very fast service even though the place was full of customers. Also visit here monthly for coffee and scones and can highly recommend both.

Thank Janelizabeth56
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friday night and jumping but only had to wait 10 minutes while we enjoyed a drink at the bar. A good range of beer and wines. The atmosphere was great, service excellent and food terrific. The seafood chowder was delicious and the Prized Porker and...More

Thank Harold M
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us with such great feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here at Smugglers and hope you return again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice outdoor settings and comfortable. We ordered Beef Burger and pasta, to our surprise it was amazing. I'm pretty fussy on burgers as many place have tasteless beef but this place is awesome. Pasta is also surprisingly good. It wasn't a planned visit as we...More

Thank Stephy_SL
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your food and service, and apologise if you were made to feel you were being moved along. As part of our service we provide the bill at the end...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for lunch on our way through Nelson. This place looked very interesting and had a warm fire. Staff were very attentive and friendly. I wanted to sit in a comfy corner table set for four unfortunately I was asked to be seated at a...More

Thank Karyn R
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear you found yourself a comfy spot as we have plenty of seating options available. We are disapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, all staff are trained to check...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Busy Saturday night and we had to wait for a table but only 15 minutes and the staff kept us fully informed. Meals were absolutely delicious and all presented well. We’ve been several times over the last few years and each time Smugglers has impressed.

Thank Gwenyth H
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were most welcoming and served us well during our meal. The food selection was great and most enjoyable, and at reasonable prices,a great lunchtime place to eat. The evening menu looked just as good.

Thank Eric D
SmugglersNelson, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. Sounds like you enjoyed your experience at Smugglers, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The meals were amazing and we left full. Had a great waitress who looked after us well. The only fault I had was my sisters flat white at the end of the meal. The young male delivered it with nearly more in the saucer than...More

Thank Tessa H
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. Apologies regarding the coffee, thankyou for bringing this to our attention.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I highly recommend smugglers to all travellers, business people just plonk yourself down they'll come to you, if your glass is low they'll top it up. Great for families, food is always great. I travel to Nelson every 6 weeks, this restaurant is always on...More

Thank Cherie N
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your feedback and your business and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We received excellent service from two lovely smiling young women, for whom nothing seemed a problem. The menu was excellent and fit the atmosphere of the restaurant, with great names like “Hellspite seafood chowder, Headless chicken, etc. The food was very quickly served and beautifully...More

Thank M5822YWkeithd
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for your lovely comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meals from our new Winter menu and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hubby and I went for a meal here recently for dinner. We have thought about going to Smugglers as had always been quite intrigued by it driving past there etc. We decided to bite the bullet and come in for a meal. The atmosphere firstly...More

Thank Gemma R
Ted S, Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on great food and customer service and are sorry to receive this review. Whist we appreciate your feedback we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your steak meal or the service...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Nelson
Apex Motor Lodge
18 reviews
.08 km away
The Beachcomber
10 reviews
.08 km away
Aloha Lodge
252 reviews
.08 km away
Ocean Lodge
4 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
My Thai Restaurant
17 reviews
.05 km away
Beach Cafe & Bar
6 reviews
.44 km away
Raglan Roast
13 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tahunanui Beach
194 reviews
.33 km away
Natureland Zoo
126 reviews
.41 km away
Liquid Alchemy
7 reviews
1.58 km away
Bay Tours Nelson
243 reviews
.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Smugglers Pub and Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Muritai Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-546 4084
  • E-mail
Description
SUPREME WINNER TOP SHOP 2014 and WINNER FOOD, BEVERAGE & HOSPITALITY CATEGORY - NELSON The Smugglers Pub and Cafe is famous for its hearty meals, foaming craft ales and great wines all served up in a unique old world atmosphere.Located within easy walking distance from Nelson's Tahunanui Beach and set amongst the areas' busy motel district, the Smugglers is ideally placed to cater for your group no matter how large or small. Food is available all day and into the evening with extensive snack, lunch and dinner menus including gluten free and children's menus for young smugglers. We stock a variety of regional, national and international wines along with Mac's & Speights beers, Guinness, Kilkenny, Becks and Stella Artois.We are open seven days a week including most holidays and absolutely no surcharges ever. So come on down relax and enjoy the award winning atmosphere that is so unique to Smugglers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;