We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-546 4421
Website
Today
16:30 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 16:30 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 16:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Popped in for dinner after a day of cycling. Good service, tasty food and within walking distance of our motels - very enjoyable!

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay F
New Zealand
Level Contributor
264 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2016

I do hate soggy bottoms! I like my thin pizzas to be the same crunchiness throughout, not just crisp around the edge and all floppy in the middle. Maybe this was because I bought one of the cheap pizzas? I ate in the restaurant rather than takeaway. The staff were very nice and I appreciated being sat by the window... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pixiehat
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016

An excellent takeaway service (although sit down meals available too.) with a good menu of traditional and specialised pizzas. (Pasta too!) Deserts to die for

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandDunc11
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016

We came in as a large portion of a tour group (recommended by our driver), and was very impressed with the service! Orders were taken quickly and drinks brought out soon after. The staff were very friendly and our delicious pizzas/pastas came out quick as well! They had a good menu with a lot of variety. Paid around $15 for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank simcarose
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

A pretty poor Monday night effort! Won't be coming back. Service was slow and the food was not up to scratch. Awful salad and poor lasagna. Not a good combo

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this review

On Monday night we had no bookings and our usual team on board. The restaurant became full quickly and we had a large number of takeaway orders to fulfil. I believe my team did an excellent job under the circumstances and in fact, about half of our guests returned the next night. I'm sorry our service was not fast enough... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

I ate at this friendly little restaurant while visiting from the UK with my NZ based brother and his wife. We were greeted and served by the owner who has clearly worked very hard to ensure a good experience for his customers. There was a nice friendly feel to the place and the food was very good - we had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank redkiwi52
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Worst experience ever!! As soon as we arrived a man greeted us and by what we saw he was the owner, he was very rude! We ordered a drink and there was something floating in it so we asked for them to get a new one the same drink was then brought back and the same man was very adamant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shontae J
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this review

I recall your visit on the 2nd of January very well even though it was a very busy evening. My wait staff showed me your drink and neither of us could see anything. I returned with your glass and when you pointed out the problem I immediately replaced it and said there would be no charge. When you later pointed... More 

Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2016

We went exhausted and hungry after a long day with our party of 9! While waiting for our pizzas, the pizzaiolo gave some pizza dough to each kid (we had 5 with us) so they could design something and he then baked them, the kids loved it and it kept them busy for a little while ;-). Pizzas were delicious... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dunedinite2
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2016

I ordered the lasagne bolognese, which was 20 dollars, and it was a small plate of bolognese sauce with some cheese thrown on top. No pasta whatsoever. And the taste wasn't even good. Do not go here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tomberbomber
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this review

What you describe is certainly not our Beef Lasagne Bolognese ($19.50) and I cannot explain what you describe. You should have received a portion of our home-made lasagne which includes three layers of lasagne sheet pasta, Béchamel sauce, Bolognese sauce and a sprinkling of Mozzarella on top with a side of mixed green salad. There is a photo of this... More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016

Attended this restaurant in a small group. Considered the prices on the menu high, but thought we would be getting good size pizzas with high quality toppings. How wrong we were. My $18.50 pizza was tiny, with those rubbery pre sliced cheap olives, it was average & definitely not worth the price. And $2 to add chili to a pizza... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElGav83
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and that of your colleague which appears below. The reference to Jetstar is humorous and worth thinking about. Yes we do charge for extras. I'm personally not aware of any successful restaurant that doesn't charge for extras as these can become a significant expense to the business. It also helps explain why airlines like Jetstar... More 

Travellers who viewed The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
16:30 - 22:00
Monday
16:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:30 - 23:00
Thursday
16:30 - 23:00
Friday
16:30 - 23:00
Saturday
16:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-546 4421
Description
Welcome to the home of award-winning gourmet pizza in Nelson. Excite your tastebuds with our special wood-fired pizzas, be entertained by our lively atmosphere and treat yourself to a great night at The Hot Rock! Perfect for sharing with friends, or the whole family - we look forward to hosting you...

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?