We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Top Choice Restaurant

) #56 of 348 Restaurants in Wollongong Chinese, Asian,
U 3 17 Market St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
+61 2 4228 8289
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good32%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“boiled rice” (2 reviews)
“dim sum” (3 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Cambodian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
U 3 17 Market St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

If you were looking for goo, look no further. It is as though the cook made a delicious meal, and then decided that it would be much better with a dollop of gelatinous goo. This is what goes on here.

Thank 646lambus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice to sit outside and watch the world go by...Must try the Spring Rolls, Sizzling Szechuan chicken...Billy Kee chicken...Recently changed owner but the chef must be the same because the food is reliably good...Honey Chicken..Lemon Chicken

Thank Gary H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic, fast and friendly service, great value for money, definitely one one of my favourites. Huge variety on the menu and is accomodating to vegetarians and are happy to change up menu items to suit your needs.

Thank aaronaus6
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Quick Service and delicious food ! Even when they are busy - you don't have to wait long for your meal ! I always love the Sizzling Rainbow Beef - DELICIOUS! Friendly staff and great value !

Thank EliseHallinan
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

nice and easy to get too at the bottom of wollongong.. mixed entree came out quick and more then plenty for 2 people.. the special fried rice had the breathe of the wok all through it which today is a taste hard too find... will...More

Thank boogieboardprodan
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The food selection here is huge with Chinese, Cambodian and some Vietnamese. While it may not set the world on fire in terms of Asian delicacies the food is nevertheless quite good and typically suburban Asian fare. What is outstanding is the prices which are...More

Thank Yeremazing
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Service is always good, staff repeat the order back to you to check the order is correct. Food comes quickly. Restaurant is always busy. Wise to book but if you are not a large group you may get a seat without a reservation.

1  Thank Priscillamaree
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Only had a Seafood Laksa, vast bowl of really overcooked vermicelli in canned coconut milk with a spoonful of commercial paste, usual topping. Just left it, paid and left. Really would not come back, better Asian options in the Gong.

Thank Seamus_OSydney
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Don't bother. If you do, make sure the waiter writes it all down because by the time they do, they have forgotten what you ordered. We received our mixed entree (dry), I always like calamari, but nothing on their competition elsewhere in Wollongong. Then I...More

1  Thank Nancy U
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The food was absolutely disgusting, tasteless, and the quality of ingredients was extremely poor. Do not eat here, anywhere would be better. Definitely not a 4 star restaurant, 1/2 star at best.

2  Thank crappepoff
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Samaras Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine
131 reviews
.09 km away
Ghedia's Indian Restaurant
101 reviews
.10 km away
JJ's
112 reviews
.13 km away
Cosa Nostra Pizzeria & Restaurant
60 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wollongong Head Lighthouse
239 reviews
.90 km away
WIN Sports and Entertainment Centres
88 reviews
.30 km away
Illawarra Performing Arts Centre
50 reviews
.30 km away
Stuart Park
20 reviews
1.56 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Merle A
Do you have a BYO licence?
24 August 2016|
Answer
Response from GypsysTravel | Reviewed this property |
Yes this restaurant has BYO :)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$9
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 22:00
Thursday
10:30 - 22:00
Friday
10:30 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: U 3 17 Market St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Wollongong
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4228 8289
  • E-mail
Description
Top Choice Restaurant, located in Wollongong's CBD, puts a unique twist on Chinese. With our infusion of the sweet and savory, you're sure to find a dish to love.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing