We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Epicure Cafe

€€ - €€€Cafe, , Gluten Free Options
426 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 6665
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (48 reviews)
“corn fritters” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
426 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went here for breakfast one morning and just had to come back a second time to confirm how great it was. The choice was good and over two mornings we tried 4 different choices - all good. Not expensive, very friendly with a cheeky bird...More

Thank Larry O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were recommended this little gem from a friend! Yummy food and excellent service. We had the pumpkin and spinach risotto and it was amazing. We both looked at each other with sad faces when we were up to our last mouthful! Excellent service with...More

Thank Dalfro
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a previous reviewer has said Epicure is not a stand out place that you see and want to visit. But the restaurant has a great number of tables inside and out with a lovely view over a small lake. We chose the inside on...More

1  Thank Richard J
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou Richard for your brilliant review. We are tucked away in our own little oasis although in the centre of Pokolbin and therefore we are lucky enough to have such a brilliant outlook. So happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your breakfast and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday with my husband. Ordered the battered fish & chips, arancini balls & pulled pork burger and they were so delicious and large portions! Coffee and milk shake were fabulous too. Will definitely be coming back

Thank amanda255061
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your great review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch and our local coffee.We look forward to having you dine with us again :)

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Surprise cafe with great food! Driving from Muswellbrook to Cessknock and stopped at Epicure Cafe, not knowing what to expect! The salmon nicoise was beautiful; salmon was cooked well & potatoes & beans were fresh & tasty along with a beautiful sauce which just added...More

Thank Eaglerider53
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hello Eaglerider, So pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch...The salmon nicoise is a def favourite on our menu...See you again soon we hope :)

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

A delicious and delightful lunch in a quiet and peaceful setting. Portion sizes were generous and delivered to the table efficiently and with a smile. Quality of local ingredients was excellent. Outstanding and friendly service! We would definitely return and also recommend this cafe to...More

Thank Lyn T
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hello Lyn, Thankyou for your lovely review. We really appreciate when customers take the time to comment on a "positive"experience. We look forward to looking after you again soon :)

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay within walking distance to Epicure Cafe so we had 2 mornings of breakfast! Like anywhere in the Hunter if you get to a food place early be prepared for great food and good service. We had no problems getting...More

Thank Nerida B
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hello Nerida, It was a pleasure to look after your group two mornings running---And we are so pleased to know your group enjoyed their first breakfast so much you returned for more the next day with even more friends... Its great to be appreciated for...More

Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Lunch at Epicure cafe today- fabulous food, excellent service and well worth the price tag. What a gem of a find. In the immortal words of Arnie - I’ll be back - thank you

Thank Marie C
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hello Marie, We are so glad you did find us and enjoyed your experience @ Epicure Cafe. We look forward seeing you back in our part of the world when you next visit the Hunter Valley :)

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Found this beautiful little cafe on our drive around Pokolbin, beautiful outdoor setting over looking the water, we were greeted straight away by a lovely staff member who was happy to seat us, get us water and menus and take our coffee order straight away!...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thankyou for your great review...We are happy you enjoyed your visit and that everyone in your group was happy with their food and service :) We look forward to seeing you all again !

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

I visited Epicure Cafe on Sunday 20th May after getting turned down by Nanna Kerr’s as there was a minimum 1 hour wait to get a table. We were a party of 4 + a baby and arrived at the cafe at 10.55am. We were...More

1  Thank cazzie-chang
EPICURE426, Owner at Epicure Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hello Cazzie, In response to your review. Firstly we do apologise that you did not enjoy your experience at epicure as we work very hard to ensure customers are well looked after and are served quality food/ coffees and drinks. The Sunday you visited we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
978 reviews
.37 km away
Pokolbin Village
379 reviews
.97 km away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
1,339 reviews
.99 km away
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation
380 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Circa 1876 Restaurant
591 reviews
1.46 km away
Blaxland Inn
971 reviews
1.17 km away
The Cellar Restaurant
476 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scarborough Wine Co
376 reviews
1.60 km away
Tamburlaine Organic Wines
152 reviews
.76 km away
Small Winemakers Centre
195 reviews
.23 km away
Pepper Tree Wines
143 reviews
1.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ByZoeRenee
Hi Cazzie - Just out of curiosity, does the response you got reflect reality? My review was within the same week so we may have been there the same day. The response to my review pretended the cafe was busy when it was in fact half empty (I have a photo), said we didn't book when we did, referred to other things that didn't happen, such as staff initiating the conversation about delays ... just wondering if it was my review that got a reply that wasn't correct? Oh and I was also called the wrong name which says it all about ability to respond accurately ... One thing that was correct is we did get free coffees and we didn't pay the $18 for the dregs of the mushroom supply ie 3 small mushrooms (which isn't a discount, that's acknowledging you didn't serve what you should have) ... but I didn't think that was the grandiose gesture it's been made out to be.
25 May 2018|
Answer
Response from sheiekekdhsb | Reviewed this property |
Sure does. It was flat out when I went there and hot. Couldn’t complain about it. Everything was good. You might have had a different experience or they had a bad day. The owners also own a restaurant that we went to the... More
0
Votes
mafow26
1 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from EPICURE426 | Property representative |
Hi I've answered in detail for you on your other question Cheers 🍴
0
Votes
mafow26
1 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Graham J | Reviewed this property |
Food menu was varied and not too spicy etc. I think there would be something for most people. Prices are a little high but portion size and quality was good.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:00
Thursday
09:00 - 15:00
Friday
09:00 - 15:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 426 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Pokolbin
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4998 6665
  • E-mail
Description
Epicure Cafe has a covered terrace overlooking a picturesque setting and the atmosphere is perfect for those looking for a casual place to eat breakfast or lunch-and anything in between. Open Wednesday to Sunday from 9am with a great Menu on offer showcasing local produce and an extensive Hunter wine list, and local beers on tap. Service is friendly and the atmosphere relaxed-set in a cool industrial style setting with a wonderful outlook, in the centre of Pokolbin.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing