We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nagisa

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 4122
Website
Today
11:30 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 15:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have had the banquet dinner twice at Nagisa and it was incredible both times. The staff always give the absolute best customer service and go out of their way to make it a memorable experience. Nagisa is one of our favourite places to go for special occasions and we will return again.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy_ellen1989
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We love our work here at Nagisa, and especially when we have such wonderful customers such as yourself who take the time provide feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed the Nagisa experience and look forward to serving you again. More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst Japanese restaurant that we have ever been. Poor service, terrible food. Start from the second I walked in. I told one of the waiter I had booked a table, he asked for my name then said oh you have to speak to the other guy he managed all the booking. Sorry then why did you ask my name at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilian S
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, Lilian. We're sorry the experience didn't meet your expectations. Our sushi chefs are well-trained and always take utmost care in the preparing sashimi for our customers. However, they are human and are capable of rare mistakes. We were grateful you brought this to our attention and indeed take all matters... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In short, our son brought us here as our first visit to Newcastle. He said, "Do You Like Japanese"?...My wife loves it, I am OK with Japanese Food. My wife was over the moon with this location and I loved it and I just got closer to understanding the beauty and connection my wifes enjoys with Japanese. A little expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve A
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

What a wonderful story! We're thrilled that your Nagisa experience entailed more than just great food and you enjoyed the location down by the harbour. We share your wife's love of Japanese cuisine. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Celebrated our wedding anniversary with one of our children. Has the tasting banquet. Pricey but we'll worth the money. Service and food were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Tony P
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your delightful review. Our staff strive hard to provide an enjoyable experience for our customers and reviews such as yours only spurs them on to do continually improve. We hope to serve you again soon. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would not recommend eating here if you have children with you. The Waiter was extremely rude when taking our order and made us feel uncomfortable for the duration of our lunch because we had our children with us. If the restaurant does not want children there then they shouldn't supply highchairs.

Helpful?
Thank Brady2627
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We deeply regret any discomfort you have felt by the actions of our staff. We have discussed this with the attendant in question who accepts his behaviour did not uphold the high standards we expect for our customers. We sincerely apologise and would like to assure you and your family that this is an isolated... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for a family Sunday lunch. Seeing they had high chairs we assumed they were a family friendly restaurant, this was not the case! The waiter was extremely rude towards us because of the children and we had to ask if he would take our order. Reluctantly he took our order but was not at all friendly or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathkimmy
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We deeply regret any discomfort you have felt by the actions of our staff. We have discussed this with the attendant in question who accepts his behaviour did not uphold the high standards we expect for our customers. We sincerely apologise and would like to assure you and your family that this is an isolated... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

We had a birthday celebration at Nagisa and could not have been happier. It is a popular Japanese restaurant out on the Newcastle boardwalk with a broad range of options even for those who don't like the raw stuff. Special mention must go to their Japanese beer selection too...pretty impressive. Love it, highly recommend it for a great night out... More 

Helpful?
Thank FoodieMookie
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you FoodieMookie! We're delighted you chose Nagisa for your birthday celebration and particularly pleased you found the Japanese craft beer to your liking. We hope to serve you again. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

We managed to get a table, as we walked past. The tasting menu was superb. Everything was presented beautifully and flavours were superb. Cocktails are fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Jo B
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

We can't ask for much more than that kind of review. :- ) We're extremely pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here during our stay in Newcastle. Booked our table last minute at the teppanyaki bar. Delicious and quick food. We had the beef selection and scallops for entree. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Mel H
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your Teppanyaki experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

Simply oustanding food, presentation and service of as authentic a Japanese experience as you will get in Newcastle. The staff make you feel at home and no request goes unsatisfied. The last 2 times I've been there we've had their tasting menu with matching wines and sakes. The seafood is all exceptional quality and freshness and the dishes are as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Firsttimecruiser52
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're positively thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at Nagisa. This is precisely the outcome we aim for. We really appreciate you letting us know and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Travellers who viewed Nagisa also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Nagisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$85
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:30 - 21:30
Saturday
11:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4929 4122
Description
Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nagisa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?