We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Subo

Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Australian, International, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
551D Hunter St | Opposite the TAFE, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
+61 2 4023 4048
Website
Today
18:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sat 18:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first visit to Subo and highly anticipated as we'd heard so much from others. The location on Hunter St is easy to miss and I'm sure I've gone past the door on many occasions not realizing it was Subo - very unassuming entry but this place does not disappoint!! The degustation menu was delightful and my highlight... More 

Helpful?
Thank eliseamelia
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had family up from Adelaide last week and have been to Subo three times last year and enjoyed it so we wanted to show them a good time. However this time it was terrible, 2/10 for food, drinks where good and service ok but for $479 it wasn't worth $100 lots of meals went back half eatn. Disappointing

Helpful?
Thank braddani
eatingeating, Manager at Subo, responded to this review

Hi Brad, I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your last meal with us, especially considering your interstate guests. We do aim to please; however due to the nature of the set menu and people’s differing tastes it is an impossibility for all dishes to be everyone’s favourite. Both Suzie and I noticed you and your partner’s half eaten... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only going on Tripadvisors advice we pre booked this. From the outside Subo looks average. Decor on the inside about the same. Restaurant was full but not crowded. After passing so many crowded, inviting, open aired restaurants I was beginning to doubt my choice. The staff were welcoming and very informative. Subo is a 5 course degustation and we took... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Subo has attentive staff and a wonderful menu. The food is up market and very tasty. Expensive, but a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Shellac50
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank goodness Newcastle has Subo. It's always a treat: food, wine, service and ambiance. Priced well for what you get as well. I have been about 3 times now and have never been disappointed. Only for small groups and for people who love good food.

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This was my second time this year dining with my partner at Subo and the innovation and quality of the food as well as the excellent paired wine and service makes this a special dining experience for all the right reasons. Great for a special occasion or just to treat yourself!

Helpful?
Thank chasingplaces
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Had dinner at subo last night. All I can say is what an amazing dinner. The food was amazing and the wait staff were so friendly and efficient. The five courses are definitely worth the $$ with the menu changing regularly. As this was our first visit I would definitely return. Need to book well in advance due to such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane A
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Offers a amazing 5 course degustation everything was immaculate 10/10 can't wait to go back ! All flavours match each other very well and perfect sized portions

Helpful?
Thank Jack C
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

What I love about Subo apart from the food. Is the passion that comes through with their staff. It is consistently good and honestly the best service I have seen in Newcastle ! They always nail it ! Which makes the experience that much more special

Helpful?
Thank Kate M O
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I've eaten here fairly regularly over the last few years and it is consistently outstanding. Whilst you can order from the menu, the degustation is the best option and it allows the team to showcase what's on offer. Even if you have some dislikes, they are very good about substitutions etc Subo deserves its reputation and chefs hats. Still one... More 

Helpful?
Thank maytomi63

Travellers who viewed Subo also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Subo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$64 - US$72
Cuisine
Australian, International, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 551D Hunter St | Opposite the TAFE, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4023 4048
Description
Our aim is to provide simple pleasures - food that is handled with care, wine that fills the senses and service that is attentive and thoughtful.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Subo and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Subo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?