We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Craft Bar

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 The Octagon, Dunedin, New Zealand
+64 3-470 1426
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The location on the Octagon is great for people watching. We were looking for somewhere for dinner but although this menu didn't work for us in that way their Breads & Spreads with Turkish pide, ciabatta & dark rye breads hummus, parsley walnt pesto and feta & mint.was a really nice appetiser together with a cooling glass of larger.

Helpful?
Thank Lavarcham
Dunedin New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Went with a family group of 7. Nice atmosphere, can sit outside on nice days and lovely and warm inside when the weather is cold. Great service, fast and friendly. Good variety on menu and well priced. I had the Chicken Filo and it was delicious. Everyone else was also happy with their meals also. Will definitely be going back.... More 

Helpful?
Thank De-1807
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The setting in the octagon is nice and the outdoor seating gets the afternoon sun. The food was a let down though. I asked for medium-rare steak and it was well done and the potatoes were dried out. Our waitress was okay but not exactly friendly. I would think twice about going back.

Helpful?
Thank manubird
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

After looking at various restaurants on the octagon, we decided that this is the place for us. We got the quesadilla to split between us. It really wasn't enough for both of us - plus it had 3 pieces for 2 people which was another issue. Anyhoo, it was good, the waitress was very friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Monteiths beer is my favourite beer and was hoping to give the Craft bar more stars but I was really disappointed with the food. The food appeared to have been prepared earlier on in the day and had just been warmed up for service, didn't appear fresh and tasted bland. Service was average compared to other pubs in the Octagon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank wykecliffe
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017

2nd visit here, enjoyed last time, ordered 2 glasses of wine and chicken quesadillas, an additional glass of wine and being promised the food was arriving shortly, 30 minutes later we paid for our3 glasses of wine and left. Service is very inconsistent in NZ!

Helpful?
Thank David I
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016

If you are in Dunedin the have a meal at the Craft Bar. 2 of us had chicken filo, it was delicious, 1 had the Thai salad which he said was very tasty and loved it. 1 had the beef burger which was so big he had to eat with a knife and fork. Overall we really enjoyed our meal,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely shocking service had to wait 20min just to see waitress they where so understaffed which is just silly for a public holiday when a cruise ship is in. Tried to order a coffee to be told ah you might get one but I think we ran of milk was a shock. Filo was good but the pulled pork sandwiches... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam D
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Food very unexiting To call it a craft bar when it serves main stream beer is a joke Service poor Owners sitting outside smoking Not a good look Overall awful Would not go back

Helpful?
Thank albatross472
Hannah B, Manager at Craft Bar, responded to this review

Wow, we didn't excite you did we! We take immense pride in our new menu and our extensive range of 15 ales on tap - perhaps you didn't notice the range of Black Dog Brewing Co. craft beers available, nor the Monteith's Brewer's Series which are of excellent "craft beer" quality. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Great place for a meal with friends, delicious pork belly, waitress was absolutely lovely, i highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Dmbbmd

Travellers who viewed Craft Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Craft Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 The Octagon, Dunedin, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Dunedin
  • Phone Number: +64 3-470 1426

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Craft Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?