We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pescatore

50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
+64 3-371 0257
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good17%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (10 reviews)
“petit fours” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 185 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I had always wanted to experience the degustation menu at Pescatore and was not disappointed. We chose the wine match menu and it was the first time I had been exposed to the Bone Line winery from Waipara - excellent wine! The courses were exquisitely...More

Thank glutenfreef00die
Reviewed 6 May 2018

On Visiting Christchurch from Australia we asked a friend to select a restaurant she would like to go to. How very fortunate she choose the Pescatore. The degustation menu was a delight of superbly matched local sourced food from beginning to end. A special mention...More

1  Thank Lois K
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear LoisK We are thrilled your recent dining experience in Pescatore was such a memorable one, from start to finish and in terms of both the food you enjoyed and the service you received. It is wonderful to hear your appreciation of each of the...More

Reviewed 29 April 2018

I have always wanted to have a meal here but this was my first opportunity to, but an unexpected visit to Christchurch gave me the opportunity, and it want be my last We had drinks in the bar downstairs before dinner and this was very...More

1  Thank Lindsaymonaghan
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We love dining and spend a lot on degustation dining but were quite let down. Staff and service were good and no complaints. The food was very average, very very sweet with a lot of bold flavours that didn't necessarily work together. I'd started to...More

Thank kirstyjane
Reviewed 10 April 2018

the unusual presentation of the food made the experience fun. The food was very tasty except for some muddy tea presented "to clear your palate" . I don't care how pretentious a restaurant is, you have to be nuts to drink it. The menu was...More

Thank Mpollifax
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is more in terms of a question. Should a guest at a hotel expect to be able to eat at the hotel restaurant. In this case, we were told by the restaurant staff that the restaurant was fully booked (this was for the next...More

Thank Will R
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Will R Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very sorry you were unable to obtain a reservation in Pescatore and even more so, that the service you encountered when trying to make a reservation, was not of the...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Had an absolutely phenomenal dining experience at Pescatore in the George Hotel in Christchurch, NZ. Enjoyed the seven course degustation with wine pairings. The food was incredible and the pairings spot on including a wonderful sparking sake with the first course and a Venezuelan rum...More

Thank Matt R
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The staff here try too hard to make the restaurant seem exclusive but unsuccessfully. The food was good but not outstanding. It is just a good downstairs in the George Bistro and cheaper.More

Thank richardlight11
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear richardlight11 Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Pescatore. We are disappointed to hear that your dining experience, particularly from a service point of view, did not meet with your expectations, but we certainly appreciate your...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

We chose this restaurant for a birthday dinner. The service was absolutely impeccable and the dining room pleasant and quiet. We chose the 5 course degustation menu - one look at the cost was frightening but, as the downstairs dining room was booked out, we...More

Thank Brian/Cheryl P
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Brian/Cheryl P We are pleased you chose to celebrate a special occasion with us recently and that you particularly appreciated the service from our team on the evening. It is however a shame to hear your experience on this occasion did not meet with...More

Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

It was our 31st wedding anniversary and I had booked dinner for 2 and a romantic table at Pescatore. We arrived and were escorted to our table for 2 - tucked away nicely in a corner. Our waiter Calum was welcoming, very professional and friendly....More

Thank Gavin H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
The George Christchurch
1,517 reviews
.03 km away
Hotel Montreal
272 reviews
.14 km away
The Classic Villa
284 reviews
.55 km away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
320 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Spice Paragon Victoria Street
361 reviews
.24 km away
Mexicano's
528 reviews
.29 km away
Kum Pun Thai Restaurant & Beer Garden
130 reviews
.29 km away
50 Bistro
196 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Margaret Mahy Family Playground
776 reviews
.34 km away
Canterbury Museum
2,255 reviews
.57 km away
Quake City
1,319 reviews
.50 km away
Christchurch Art Gallery (Te Puna o Waiwhetu)
347 reviews
.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joe H
25 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from TheGeorgeGM | Property representative |
There is no set dress code, although shorts and flip-flops would not be appropriate. Smart casual is the norm. Jackets and ties are not required however would not be out of place either if that is what you prefer.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Tuesday
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-371 0257
  • E-mail
Description
Pescatore, translating from Italian to ‘fisherman’, in recognition of the restaurant’s name and legacy, the new menu is predominately focused towards a seafood. Pescatore continues to offer an exciting dining concept, enhanced by its stunning interior which is sure to turn heads and rejuvenate guests’ longstanding love affair with this iconic Christchurch restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;