We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pescatore

Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
+64 3-371 0257
Website
Saturday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Sat 18:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined with customers and we chose the 7 course seafood degustation menu with wine match. All of the dishes were beautiful, but the groper was the pick of them all. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank SandyBeaches99
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear SandyBeaches99 We are thrilled you chose to dine in Pescatore recently and that the experience met with your expectations. It is especially pleasing to hear you enjoyed our degustation menu and each of its 7 courses. Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a celebration dinner with children as we were staying at hotel. Very smooth interaction on booking and arranging dinner. Very nice wine list with large number of NZ wines and vintages. THe dining room is very nice and the large table very pleasant. Presentation of dishes is artistic and we can feel there is a lot of energy... More 

Helpful?
Thank david588
TheGeorgeGM, Owner at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear david588 We are delighted you chose to celebrate with your family in Pescatore whilst staying with us recently and that overall it was an enjoyable experience for you all. It is particularly pleasing to hear your appreciation of the manner in which your dishes were prepared and presented and the quality of our wine list, however we acknowledge and... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our wedding anniversary and I decided to take my wife to the Pescatore because of the good reviews I had read in TripAdvisor. Free Car parking available inside the premises. From the moment we stepped into the restaurant we were greeted by the Maître d' who was pleasant and had an exceptional knowledge of the wine menu. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear Anthony A We are delighted you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and that the entire experience met and hopefully surpassed all your expectations. It is wonderful to hear your appreciation of the service you received from all our team, especially our Maitre d’, who is delighted the wine recommendation was so well received by your wife,... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was disappointing we had dined here a few years ago but the experience this time was not of the same standard. We had viewed the menu prior to visiting and oysters and snapper were two of our choices. We were told both oysters and snapper were not available. There was not an alternative for the oysters on the entree... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shona273
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear Shona273 Thank you for your feedback following your recent dining experience with us. While we are pleased you have enjoyed a positive dining experience in Pescatore previously we are sorry that some factors, specifically the unavailability of certain items on the menu and the manner in which your fish was cooked, on your most recent visit did not meet... More 

chch
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was fabulous. We had the 7 course meal with wines split between us. There food was mainly seafood which we love. Presentation, flavor and service was exceptional. We will be back to celebrate again

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear Michelle A Thank you for your positive review of your recent dining experience in Pescatore. We are so pleased we were able to assist in ensuring your evening out to celebrate your wedding anniversary was such a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion and thank you for taking the time to provide... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My very high expectations for our dinner at Pescatore were exceeded. Yes, the menu is interesting and the food we ordered and ate was extremely good, but it was the unexpected extras that turned our evening from excellent to truly memorable (plus one of the best desserts I have ever had). The "tea" to start, molasses bread, seafood amuse bouche,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pennydancer
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear Pennydancer It is so pleasing for us to hear that all your expectations for your recent dinner in Pescatore were exceeded. We are thrilled you appreciated the many unique touches that we have created to make up the dining experience, and most importantly, that you enjoyed each course and the professional service from our team. We hope we might... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying in the George on our last 2 nights in Christchurch and it was my wife's birthday so we decided to treat ourselves to a meal in pescatore. We decided not to go with the tasting menu but nonetheless had one of the most enjoyable,and certainly most innovative , meals we had in nz. The scallop "pasta" starter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear Rob H We are thrilled that during your recent stay you decided to celebrate a special occasion with us in Pescatore. It is wonderful to hear your praise of the dishes you chose and the service you received, all of which combined to create such a memorable evening for you. Thank you for taking the time to post your... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and a delicious meal. A special occasion restaurant for sure. We had beef and lamb....both excellent. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank JMBFDublin
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear JMBFDublin We are delighted you enjoyed your recent dining experience in Pescatore, both from a service and food perspective. Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at Pescatore on a one night stop over in Christchurch. A lot of research was done (using trip advisor of course) and we were not disappointed! Inventive, locally sourced, delightfully balanced, culinary delights! Every dish was perfection!!! We had the scallop "pasta" for entree which was compressed scallops & squid ink to resemble pasta, in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Macqueeno
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear Macqueeno It is wonderful for us to receive your praise of your recent dining experience. We are delighted it was Pescatore you chose to dine in on your stop over in Christchurch and that every aspect of the entire experience met with, and hopefully exceeded, all your expectations. It is pleasing also that we were able to make your... More 

Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We have experienced a lot of fine dining in New Zealand, and this was the best. The food was creative, unique wine varietals paired well, and service that was warm and prompt. Most importantly, for a seven course tasting menu, the courses were perfectly paced. Most of our fine dining experiences in NZ have suffered from long waits between some... More 

Helpful?
Thank KateDelano
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this review

Dear KateDelano Thank you for your very positive feedback following your recent dinner in Pescatore. We are delighted you have rated us as the best of your dining experiences in New Zealand. It is wonderful to hear your appreciation of our 7 course degustation menu with matching wines, and also that the service you received from Lauren contributed in making... More 

Travellers who viewed Pescatore also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Private Dining, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Open Hours
Tuesday
18:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 22:30
Thursday
18:00 - 22:30
Friday
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-371 0257

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pescatore and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pescatore staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?