We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
+64 3-371 0257
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good18%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (9 reviews)
“snapper” (4 reviews)
“petit fours” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
New Zealand, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were immediately impressed but the luxurious yet unstuffy atmosphere, welcoming host, contemporary decor and layout. The wine list was extensive and catered for our group's varied preferences with the hosts knowledgable and interactive in assisting our decision making. The food did not...More

Thank schcrr
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

So many restaurants over cook their fish. I ordered snapper and specifically asked for it to be lightly cooked so it was translucent in the very centre and flaked when cut. It came out crumbly white throughout with no prospect of flaking. I like hot...More

2  Thank David H
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is one of Christchurch's fine dining restaurants. The A la carte menu is excellent and the staff are superb. We were delighted with the dishes we ordered. Taste and presentation were high quality. Great for a romantic dinner or a special celebration. They also...More

Thank donnaj453
Reviewed 22 June 2017

After 3 previous attempts to get into Pescatore we were finally successful, and it was totally worth the wait. First impression was great atmosphere, not overly lit, quietish music and a lovely window view. we were made very welcome and ordered the degustation menu. I...More

Thank amanda c
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear amanda c We are so pleased you were finally able to experience Pescatore recently and on what was a special occasion for you both – celebrating your anniversary. We appreciate your detailed review and are delighted that, despite there being some aspects that required...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We did the degustation menu. I love seafood, but after 5 courses of raw seafood, and terrible tasting accompaniments, I wanted the torture to end. We casually mentioned to the waitress that we were disappointed and I have to admit she was great in sourcing...More

1  Thank Wiji2025
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Wiji2025 It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in Pescatore and we are sorry that the evening was not the experience you had been hoping for. We have taken your comments on board and thank you for your feedback....More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Christchurch's best silver service dining fish restaurant. Small, innovative, and an exciting dining evening. We would travel a couple of hundred kilometres for this experience, and we did. Not to be missed.More

Thank Thorndon
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Thorndon We are thrilled to receive your feedback following your recent visit to Christchurch to dine in Pescatore and that it was the memorable experience you had anticipated. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post this review. Kind...More

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

I ate here with my partner recently, I was looking forward to the experience as friends of ours had recommended it, however it seems the menu has changed. What we were met with, was the most disappointing food I have ever eaten. The service was...More

6  Thank OAS87
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We returned again for the degustation meal with wine pairing knowing they had recently changed the menu. The service here remains superb and we were fortunate to be served by the same waitress. Unfortunately the food didn't live up to our previous visits and was...More

Thank Dancca2011
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Dancca2011 We are very pleased that the service you received, from both your waitress and our Sommelier, on your recent return visit to Pescatore once again stood out for you. It is however concerning for us to hear that your expectations were not met...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

I found the menu lacked diversity and there was a way too much raw seafood for my liking. I found the service was very good but the food was slow to come out on occasion which was a little bit unusual as they weren't many...More

1  Thank Tony S
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Tony S It is always a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests but we are most disappointed to hear that your recent visit was not consistent with previous ones and that you left feeling underwhelmed. Your constructive feedback has been discussed with our...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

The food, 7 courses contained to much raw seafood, scallops, tuna,crab slightly poached, clams and to finish very nice snapper, to much seafood not done differently enough. The service was slow at times, gaps that we had to wait to long. The waitress was very...More

Thank David Q
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear David Q While we are pleased to receive your kind words relating to the service you received from Lauren and the presentation of your meal, it is a shame that overall your dining experience from our Degustation menu did not meet with your expectations....More

Nearby Restaurants
474 reviews
.29 km away
Spice Paragon Victoria Street
280 reviews
.23 km away
Kum Pun Thai Restaurant & Beer Garden
110 reviews
.29 km away
The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant
238 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Canterbury Museum
1,970 reviews
.57 km away
Quake City
1,142 reviews
.50 km away
Christchurch Art Gallery (Te Puna o Waiwhetu)
269 reviews
.56 km away
Victoria Street Clock Tower
100 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joe H
25 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from TheGeorgeGM | Property representative |
There is no set dress code, although shorts and flip-flops would not be appropriate. Smart casual is the norm. Jackets and ties are not required however would not be out of place either if that is what you prefer.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Valet Parking
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
18:00 - 23:00
18:00 - 23:00
18:00 - 23:00
18:00 - 23:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-371 0257
  • E-mail
Pescatore, translating from Italian to ‘fisherman’, in recognition of the restaurant’s name and legacy, the new menu is predominately focused towards a seafood. Pescatore continues to offer an exciting dining concept, enhanced by its stunning interior which is sure to turn heads and rejuvenate guests’ longstanding love affair with this iconic Christchurch restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing