We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salt On The Pier

) #393 of 768 Restaurants in Christchurch €€ - €€€ Seafood, Cafe, European
Pier Terminus 195-213 | New Brighton, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
+64 3-388 4493
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good38%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“chowder” (5 reviews)
“rack of lamb” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pier Terminus 195-213 | New Brighton, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is one of the best things about this place, since it is right by the pier and you can see the ocean from inside. The menu is not huge, but the food was pretty good.

1  Thank MikenSue726
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mike and Sue, Thank you for your feedback, glad that you have enjoyed your experience at Salt on the Pier. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 16 May 2017

$20 for Eggs Benedict that was very disappointing, toast was overdone, with an overcooked hash brown, the bacon, and overcooked eggs. The sauce was flavorless. That's it, nothing more than what I listed, no salad, no garnish, no flavor. Coffee was gritty and mediocre. Waste...More

3  Thank Dustin P
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hi there, sorry to hear that you have a disappointing experience. This certainly is not of our standard. We have investigated this issue however none of the front of house staff were aware of this issue you had. I wonder if you have had a...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Bit of a shame as the cabinet food looked really good and the vegetarian tortilla was very tasty indeed. Presentation looks a bit mean and messy with a tiny side salad and a splodge of chutney. Big up or lose the salad or serving the...More

1  Thank Lee_A_B_1976
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hi there, thanks for dining with us. I am sorry that you have not received a satisfactory level of service, we certainly have much higher standards than this. We will review this with our front of house team and see where we lacked on that...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Arrived in Brighton from Auckland & wanted dinner for 4 of us, the menu sealed the deal & in we went..... Restaurant ambience is not it's strong point & nothing special. Hence 4 stars.....Dark nights and some rain, but on a nice day or evening...More

1  Thank Lee P
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Mr Lee, Thank you so much for your positive feedback and we really appreciate it. We are certainly looking at improving the ambiance in near future. Our highly professional chefs pride in what they put on the plate and really appreciate your comments. Thanks...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

After walking up and down the New Brighton Mall which looked like a town slowly dying with empty or grubby looking shops everywhere we decided to walk towards the New Brighton Pier . At the beginning of the pier we found this lovely restaurant called...More

2  Thank Tripper5012
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We visited here while we were staying in Christchurch, it seems to be the only eating place that did more than bar food, we had a lovely lunch, Surf and Turf for my husband and catch of the day for me, steak and fish cooked...More

2  Thank AvrC
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you so much and glad to see that you have enjoyed your lunch with us. We would love to see you again at Salt on the Pier.

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Steak was very fatty .salad didnt taste right.still got charged full price and didnt have the scallops and prawns.ended up being reall crook couple hrs later.More

1  Thank Anna S
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hi Anna, Firstly, apologies for your experience at Salt on the Pier. This is quiet different to what most customers experience at our Cafe/Restaurant. e only serve quality food prepared by our highly experienced chefs. We have investigated this matter however we did not identify...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We had a lovely lunch here. Food was excellent and the service was good too. Good choices on the menu. Reasonable prices. Will go back again.

1  Thank Sheryl B
Sridhar A, Manager at Salt On The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you Sheryl, we would love to see you again.

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Great chips n coffee, wheelchair lift, inside and outside seating, then take lift up to pier to see the ocean, nice on Nor West day

Thank WilsonFamilyNz
Reviewed 11 April 2017

A balmy summer evening after a week of rain meant the doors stayed open out to the deck. The evening sky was brilliant as the sun dropped out of sight. I hadn't eaten all day so was pretty keen to get a meal in front...More

Thank 218tkot
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hector Cafe
12 reviews
.21 km away
South Of India
55 reviews
.07 km away
Switch Espresso
17 reviews
.23 km away
Phad Thai
34 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Brighton Beach
139 reviews
.21 km away
Bottle Lake Forest
28 reviews
6.16 km away
The Palms Shopping Centre
20 reviews
5.51 km away
Waimairi Beach
20 reviews
2.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Salt On The Pier staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$25
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Television
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pier Terminus 195-213 | New Brighton, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-388 4493
  • E-mail
Description
The best food with the very best view onto the Pier and Southern Ocean in Christchurch. Very popular for sea foods. Offers a best location in Canterbury for private functions including but not limited to weddings, wedding receptions, Anniversaries, Birthday parties, Christmas functions and Corporate meetings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing