We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Volare

85 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
+64 7-578 6030
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (38 reviews)
“duck” (20 reviews)
“pollo” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
85 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor customer service. Waited ages to be asked & served drinks. I ordered the eggplant & was tasteless & had so much mozzarella cheese it was like chewing gum. I had the chicken 4 main & I ordered something off the menu that didn't...More

Thank Jade G
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Well Jade , I take that as a compliment that was too much mozzarella in your parmegiana as it is basically an eggplant lasagne and for us lasagne have lots of mozzarella ( for our taste buds it's is delicious, and there is no such...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looked forward to a nice meal out ... but was surprised with an interesting building, awesome view over waterfront, knowledgeable pleasant service and a great balance of tapas ... a perfect night out

Thank Peter S
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, really appreciate your visit

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice Italian restaurant. Great authentic food and very good, passionate service. Will be back soon.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We will be delighted to have you back here soon ! Thanks for your review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service and excellent food. A bit of a wait for our meals, but the restaurant was very busy and we hadn't booked. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.

Thank Kiwikaye
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We at Volare restaurant are very glad you enjoyed your expo! Thanks for your review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last minute booking for lunch at Volare, finding out they don't normally do lunch, opening especially for us set the scene. Owner Marcos very engaging, good bloke. Food and service was outstanding, without exception all 6 commented on the food as being right up there....More

Thank karenanded2016
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your special lunch ! Hope to see you soon .

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant for many years as we always found the service and the food very good. We had not been for at least a year. This last visit we were disappointed. We were looking forward to good pasta and cosy...More

Thank Vinoeaves
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your experience at Volare , we are extremely focused in providing an authentic Italian experience! Hope you enjoy your next visit just as much as you used to do , thanks

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Enjoying a birthday weekend in Tauranga, we decided to eat at Volare. We had booked on-line a few days previously and just as well as the restaurant was packed. I was delighted to be greeted by name on arrival, a very nice and professional touch-well...More

Thank John L
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your experience with us .

Reviewed 23 July 2017

My visitors arrived early evening and it was decided "no cooking tonight". Travelled down to the Mount to the Volare only to find it fully booked. Friendly staff soon found us a table for my party and on sitting us down promptly supplied us with...More

Thank garrytmcguire
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Prompt service and excellent authentic Italian experience is what we aiming to delivery ! Glad we ticked the box ,

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Booked a window table, place was busy but staff were efficient and friendly. Suspect we may have even had a genuine Italian waiter. The food was lovely, especially the risotto, couldn't eat it all so was given a doggie bag, just as good cold the...More

Thank Wayne W
susiane g, Owner at Volare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Our dinner at this restaurant was really excellent. The view out over the harbour was amazing and the food was really delicious. I had the chicken and my husband had the rack of lamb and we a side shared salad. All good was beautifully cooked...More

Thank Linda H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Macau
343 reviews
.07 km away
The Phoenix Tauranga
358 reviews
.05 km away
Nomad Food & Wine
95 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
150 reviews
.06 km away
The Elms
78 reviews
.71 km away
Tauranga Art Gallery
86 reviews
.10 km away
Tauranga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
59 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Maildrgeorge
20 December 2014|
Answer
Response from susiane g | Property representative |
Hi there we don't sell online but we can always make on on line under your / the name of the person you give and send it to your e-mail just by deposit the money into our account ! Let me know! Thanks Susi
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 00:00
Thursday
17:30 - 00:00
Friday
17:30 - 00:00
Saturday
17:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 85 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga
  • Phone Number: +64 7-578 6030
  • E-mail
Description
Licensed restaurant, Bar, Wines, Beer, Italian style dining, fresh homemade pasta, meat, seafood, salad or side
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing