We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
65 St Aubyn Street | Puke Ariki Museum, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 1241
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 430: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WE revisited Arborio after not having been here for a couple of years. On a Saturday night the place was packed & there was a great atmosphere. Despite pressure on the kitchen, the food was delicious - the calamari tender and delicately spiced, the caesar salad and prawn risotto simply delicious. The highlight, however, was the outstanding service we received... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richardi_23
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family had an evening out for dinner with a few cocktails. (We are all adults) When we arrived we were escorted to our table and offered the drinks menu while we waited for the rest of the party. Our waitress Amy provided exceptional service. She has a natural ability to interact with us and we never wanted for anything.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda F
Oakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely lunch today at Arborio. I had the mussels which were tasty and abundant. My son had the chicken burger which was massive and he thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were friendly enough. Nice spot on a rainy summers day.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the museum and decided to have lunch half way through our visit so Aborio seems the sensible choice. We asked to sit outside, but then waited for a good 10 minutes for someone to come and serve us, maybe a case of out of sight out of mind? The waitress took our orders and our drinks came fairly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bitsey72
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We visited Arborio on two occasions in the past fortnight, haven't been in awhile and were given vouchers for xmas. Unfortunately on both occasions we were disappointed. The first was an evening meal and the majority ordered pork belly which was sat on the most horrible tasting relish that most left that part of the dish. Those that ordered the... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Cust101
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

Took over an hour for meals to come out from what we overheard and saw is that they forgot our order, 2 guests came in 20 mins after us and got meals before us. The kids pancakes were burnt (wish I had taken a photo) we mentioned to the waitress, she seemed unconcerned but did offer get freshly cooked one... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank webbymorgan
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I went for breakfast at this place and it was sadly awful. I ordered French Toast which is hardly an uncommon breakfast and was not happy to see 4 slices of door stopper wheat meal bread gone soggy with half a litre of syrup. Disgusting to look at and inedible.

Helpful?
4 Thank Flyingrovers
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review

Hi there, I am really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your French toast with caramelised pineapple & banana, streaky bacon, maple syrup & oxford cream. This is a dish that we get amazing feedback about and it is a challenge that restrateurs the world over face, delivering to the tastes and expectations of each guest, I'm sorry that you didn't... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

Food was excellent took a while to arrive it was a full house though. It was worth the wait. Service was polished greeted as we arrived that was nice even though it was buzzing manager was watching door Portions sizes were absolutely right we all had three courses. A superb dining spot especially on the banquette. Would eat here again... More 

Helpful?
Thank collinsga
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review :) More 

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We came here for a late lunch on a Sunday afternoon. Although the place was busy, we felt the wait for the food was a little longer than was acceptable. At one stage we were unsure if we were forgotten due to no contact from wait staff and no food arriving. Eventually our food did turn up. It was nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank briennarose
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review

Thanks Brienna for your feedback and review More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

This is a good restaurant in Taranaki. I will recommend the fish and will not recommend the antipasti. The fish is fresh and the sauce is very nice. Antipasti is not Italian at all. It is rather Turkish with a lot of bread and hummus. No Italian cheese, no mortadella.

Helpful?
Thank PavelKurzaev
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and review More 

Travellers who viewed Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$26
Cuisine
International, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 65 St Aubyn Street | Puke Ariki Museum, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 1241

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?