We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hector's Restaurant

) #126 of 1,911 Restaurants in Auckland €€ - €€€ Healthy, , Vegetarian Friendly
35 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-979 7434
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (4 reviews)
“veg dishes” (3 reviews)
“panacotta” (2 reviews)
Open Now
06:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Healthy, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Came here for an impromptu Monday night dinner date. The service was friendly and made sure we were looked after. The food was amazing! I'd come here a handful of times in the past before they changed to the current menu and thought it was...More

Thank jenn_ede
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi jenn_ede, thank you for taking the time to write a great review about us, its nice to get feedback from our regulars, especially good feedback when we make slight adjustments to the menu. It tells us we are heading in the right direction, thank...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hectors always provides a great range of breakfast choices, catering for all dietary needs. Its lovely to be able to relax in this atrium and not feel pressured for time

Thank Brian H
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi Brian, There are a lot of breakfast options around Auckland, and we appreciate you choosing us, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with us. Kind regards John Watson

Reviewed 30 June 2017

What an amazing place. I would never have even considered going if word of mouth hadn't been involved. If you want great vegetarian food with a varied choice as well as lots of choice for the other non vege eaters this is the place. Wonderful...More

Thank lynecancook
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi lynecancook, Great to hear our name is getting out there via word of mouth, thank you for the great comments. I will pass it onto the team. kind regards John Watson

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We dined at Hectors specifically for the plant-based menu and because it was a suitable venue for a Special Birthday treat. The restaurant is airy by virtue of the 7-storey atrium it sits under. Tables were well-spaced and the decor pleasant, although ambience was slightly...More

Thank nzvegan
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi nzvegan, Thank you for taking the time to write feedback, your comments and the photos supplied are awesome. I will pass it onto the team, as I know they will appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind regards John Watson

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Went to Hector's restaurant for my sisters 18th birthday dinner. My sister ordered a lemonade and was given a lemon lime & bitters instead. An extra starter meal was delivered to our table which was never ordered and the waitress, in rude tone, told my...More

Thank Shane F
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Hi Shane F, Thank you for your feedback, I' am sorry to hear that your dining experience was a disaster, and I do apologize for this, as I can ensure you this was not our intention. I have personally review this matter with our staff,...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Went here because there weren't too many good options close by and we were staying at the Heritage Hotel. The food was pretty good but the waitress never came to fill up my water or ask how I was doing or if I wanted anything...More

Thank DrSiliLili
Management response:Responded 10 June 2017

Hi DrSiliLili, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, by looking at two of your photos, I take it you visited us a quite some time ago. Sadly the third photo we have never had it on our menu. I do apologize...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017

I ordered something different every time I ordered and was delighted each time with prompt service and delicious food.

Thank Allison P
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Hi Allison P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us, positive comments like yours goes a long way, and I know the staff will appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards John Watson

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Very bad. Came for Buffet, Menu was not updated, Staff were rude, Bacon was so dried up it must have been in the buffet for so long, scrambled eggs might as well have been creamy water. I am a Cook and I was super disappointed...More

Thank Casey-Leigh P
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Hi Casey-Leigh P, I'm so sorry to hear about your unfortunate breakfast experience, and for this I sincerely apologise. Our breakfast team receives great feedback regularly, and It is always disappointing to hear when guests leave Hectors without experiencing what we do best. I have...More

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel and decided to eat at hectors after a long day traveling from oz. Both had steak and it was to die for along with the amazing vegetables and a side serving of a delicious mushroom salad! We would highly...More

Thank Ben N
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Hi Ben, Thank you for your comments, we have just updated our menu and its great to hear we are getting it right. Once again thank you for your comments and choosing to dine with us. kind regards John Watson

Reviewed 8 May 2017

had a very nice breakfast could have either buffet or from the menu. Staff were great food soooo yummy

Thank Bernie F
Management response:Responded 9 May 2017

Hi Bernie, We currently have over 120 different breakfast items, and its great to hear your comments about our breakfast, as it tells us we are doing it right. thank you. Kind Regards John Watson

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sugar Club Auckland
681 reviews
.20 km away
Dans Le Noir ? at Rydges
35 reviews
.12 km away
The CUT Restaurant & Bar
161 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sky Tower
8,113 reviews
.21 km away
Viaduct Harbour
2,708 reviews
.33 km away
St. Patrick's Cathedral
194 reviews
.14 km away
Sky City Casino
436 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hector's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$29
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 22:00
Monday
06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 22:00
Thursday
06:00 - 22:00
Friday
06:00 - 22:00
Saturday
06:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-979 7434
  • E-mail
Description
Our food philosophy is based on the “Eco Gastronomy” concept, which has strong connections between how and where food is produced and consumed. We strive to source premium ingredients locally which are seasonal, fresh and in their prime. Our menus offer a wide variety of light and healthy options and we believe that eating is for the mind, body and soul.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing