We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Atlantic

Tenency 18 &19, Crown Entertainment Complex | 8 Whiteman Street Southbank 3006, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
+61 3 9698 8888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (112 reviews)
“confit salmon” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tenency 18 &19, Crown Entertainment Complex | 8 Whiteman Street Southbank 3006, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Dinner with a group of friends was expected to be fabulous here but we were a little disappointed as the food was not quite up to standard, the service was slow as was the kitchen. When we finally got our mains the wait staff managed...More

Thank Mark M
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Mark, firstly we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We believe every customer deserves an exceptional ocean to plate dining experience with us and therefore would like to look into yours further. If you would like to, please send...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We brought a group of 20 persons to the restaurant after all of us had spent all day at the Melbourne Cup. The restaurant distinguished itself by its understanding of our needs; small plates of food to share, not too much food and just a...More

Thank Mullah62
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback. We are so pleased to hear your experience was exceptional, and the perfect atmosphere to complete your big day of festivities. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stay over in Melbourne 2 to 3 times a year and The Atlantic is now our Restaurant of choice. We have never walked away disappointed. I had the oysters on this visit and they were amazing. The Strawberry mocktail was also a winner. The...More

Thank Willimi7
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. We are so happy to hear you've enjoyed every aspect of your multiple dining experiences with us. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Melbourne. Thanks,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been here four times and I can confirm that the quality of the food is great. The last time, though, the table position, too close to the kitchen, disappointed me. The cook, who was in charge of the final preparation of the dishes, continued...More

Thank Ale_G_70
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Firstly we are so happy to hear you've enjoyed multiple dining experiences with us. However, we would like to look into your last experience further. If you would like, please email us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate here with friends visiting from the USA. Had a great evening. It’s a welcoming, if minimalistic layout overlooking the river. Multiple seafood dishes and some steaks for carnivores. A nice though not outstanding seared tuna followed by an absolutely outstanding spaghetti in a...More

Thank MikeFB
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and hope you've enjoyed your stay in Melbourne so far. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again. Thanks, The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointed that only 2 types of Oysters are available. We ordered 48 Oysters on a Monday $2 night. When the bill arrived we were charged $4.50 per oyster. We complained and was told the Manager needed to deal with it. After a good wait a...More

Thank Carol H
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Carol, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, we believe every customer deserves a truly exceptional ocean to plate experience and therefore would like the opportunity to investigate yours further. Could...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were lovely, however there weren’t too many options on the wine list. Starters & entrees magnificent however mains were a little lacklustre. Very loud in restaurant but cld have been due to a private function / celebration kicking onMore

Thank ahunt1147
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. We are glad to hear there were several elements of your experience that were exceptional as they should be. We do hope despite the shortfalls on this occasion, you choose to return...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A little confusion upon arriving for our booking however cannot fault Simon who looked after our large group. The food was not 100% this time but the wine was exceptionalMore

Thank Michelle C
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Michelle, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your experience with us on this occasion. We do hope despite the food not being 100%, we can look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dined at The Atlantic after attending Derby Day, the first of Flemington’s offerings as part of the 2017 Spring Racing Carnival. We were not disappointed with the food & service & enjoyed a lovely leisurely evening after a hectic day, including a gorgeous view...More

Thank T65ATjoannec
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. We are so happy to hear you had an exceptional experience with us and that we could assist in rounding off your wonderful day. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I dinned at the Atlantic on Saturday night and all I can say is how great it was. The restaurant was recommended to us by some friends and we were not disappointed at all! From the food, wine and service to the...More

Thank scoops21
AtlanticGroup, Manager at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We are so happy to hear you had an exceptional experience both with us and below deck at The Den. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
847 reviews
.05 km away
Rockpool Bar & Grill
1,600 reviews
.15 km away
Spice Temple
1,037 reviews
.10 km away
Conservatory
857 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Immigration Museum
1,214 reviews
.36 km away
Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium
3,180 reviews
.20 km away
Crown Casino
1,783 reviews
.27 km away
Galactic Circus
102 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Demons63
25 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vicki R | Reviewed this property |
I cannot speak about their food, but the basement bar is good. I understand your concern, if you aren't on a budget book No.8 for dinner. Expensive, but unsurpassable.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 01:00
Monday
12:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 01:00
Thursday
12:00 - 01:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tenency 18 &19, Crown Entertainment Complex | 8 Whiteman Street Southbank 3006, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne>  > Southbank
  • Neighbourhood: Southbank
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9698 8888
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing