We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PJ O'Brien's

€€ - €€€
Bar, Pub, Irish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14 East Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 8232 5111
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family came here after a long day at the clipsal 500. It was really really busy but despite that the staff where still very friendly and helpful. They manged to squeeze us in around a table. The seats aren't the most comfortable, but that may of been because we were squashed together. The food didn't take long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kieran W
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Kieran, thanks for your positive review and comments, we really appreciate it. We offer food specials most nights of the week and have a $5 Happy Hour every Friday between 5-9pm. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've ducked in and out of here on so many occasions over the years, rarely being satisfied, but I do think it has improved of late. Went for a couple of Fringe shows, and while there are the usual surly hipster staff, the product is pretty good, with decent wine and beers being served. Doesn't stink as much any more... More 

Helpful?
Thank hogiebear33
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Hogiebear 23, thanks for your review and I'm glad to hear our standards have improved since your previous visits. We hope to see you again soon for our $5 Happy Hour or one of our dinner specials :) More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here at the weekend and were very disappointed! it was very dark, smelt like old beer and the tables were sticky. We were going to eat there however the tables were tiny and the chairs wobbly. We ended up just staying for a drink. It needs a revamp!

Helpful?
Thank Beccy N
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Beccy, it saddens me to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. I wouldn't say we're "dark and Dreary" but more ill-lit and quaint, which are characteristics of an Irish pub. We hope you come back and give us another go. We offer some great dinner specials, a $5 Friday Happy Hour and a traditional Irish Sunday. Ádh... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always love PJs for the great atmosphere and staff. Perfect place to have a few drinks and everyone is super friendly.

Helpful?
Thank sarahausti
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi sarahausti, thanks for the review. We hope to see you this Friday for our $5 Happy Hour :) More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you are into Irish pubs this will fit the bill. The staff aren't overly friendly but they just get on with the job. It's large with plenty of room for large groups, a reasonable selection of beers and some good "happy hour" type deals.They also provide Irish music and dance on sundays to go with your Sunday roast.

Helpful?
Thank Ian L
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Ian, thanks for the review. Apologies if the staff weren't over friendly, this is something that we'll work in as a team. Hope to see you again for our Happy Hour or one of our dinner or lunch specials. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017

As part of going to a show at the Fringe Festival, a group of us decided to eat and enjoy the atmosphere of P.J.'s first. It is very handy as it is situated directly across from the Garden of Unearthly Delights. The food definitely didn't disappoint, with the guiness pie being on the top of my list. The service couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank MossCharm
PJsAdelaide, Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the wonderful review and we're glad you had a good experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon :) More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

To reach a high standard for solo diners, a restaurant should be welcoming, inviting, the staff friendly and warm, and the food pleasant and fresh. Unfortunately, it is only the latter which could be said of PJ Obriens Irish Pub in Adelaide. On this particular occasion, I decided to dine solo at PJs, on a Sunday night, because this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Thomas, after originally receiving your complaint email I'm surprised to also discover this review as I feel I gave an adequate response to the concerns of your visit. I shall try contacting you soon to hopefully resolve any further outlining issues. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We went here as a group and yes, it was a busy Saturday night, but the service at the bar was pretty slow. When the food came, I'd ordered fish and chips which wasn't very big, nor very warm. I wouldn't recommend going here for food - for a drink, it's not bad as it has a good atmosphere, especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheLush101
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

I would like to take this time to apologize for the bad experience you had with us here at PJ's. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We went here for a drink on a Tuesday night as we were on holidays, we were the only 2 people in the whole bar! The staff ( or lack there off) took about 5 minutes to come out from the back to serve me, but the attitude of the barman was unbelievable, he was so sour and stand offish.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tipperaryboy
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Tipperaryboy, I apologize for the bad experience you received with us here at PJ's. To gain more insight into your experience I will contact you to discuss it further. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We went for an 80s New Years Eve here and had a great night. The band called Frenzy were excellent and the drinks were a good price. The vibe was very welcoming and would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Clairebear601955

Travellers who viewed PJ O'Brien's also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to PJ O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Irish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 East Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8232 5111

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from PJ O'Brien's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?