We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

PJ O'Brien's

€€ - €€€
Bar, Irish, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14 East Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 8 8232 5111
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are into Irish pubs this will fit the bill. The staff aren't overly friendly but they just get on with the job. It's large with plenty of room for large groups, a reasonable selection of beers and some good "happy hour" type deals.They also provide Irish music and dance on sundays to go with your Sunday roast.

Helpful?
Thank Ian L
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As part of going to a show at the Fringe Festival, a group of us decided to eat and enjoy the atmosphere of P.J.'s first. It is very handy as it is situated directly across from the Garden of Unearthly Delights. The food definitely didn't disappoint, with the guiness pie being on the top of my list. The service couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank MossCharm
PJsAdelaide, Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the wonderful review and we're glad you had a good experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon :) More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To reach a high standard for solo diners, a restaurant should be welcoming, inviting, the staff friendly and warm, and the food pleasant and fresh. Unfortunately, it is only the latter which could be said of PJ Obriens Irish Pub in Adelaide. On this particular occasion, I decided to dine solo at PJs, on a Sunday night, because this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Thomas, after originally receiving your complaint email I'm surprised to also discover this review as I feel I gave an adequate response to the concerns of your visit. I shall try contacting you soon to hopefully resolve any further outlining issues. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We went here as a group and yes, it was a busy Saturday night, but the service at the bar was pretty slow. When the food came, I'd ordered fish and chips which wasn't very big, nor very warm. I wouldn't recommend going here for food - for a drink, it's not bad as it has a good atmosphere, especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheLush101
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

I would like to take this time to apologize for the bad experience you had with us here at PJ's. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We went here for a drink on a Tuesday night as we were on holidays, we were the only 2 people in the whole bar! The staff ( or lack there off) took about 5 minutes to come out from the back to serve me, but the attitude of the barman was unbelievable, he was so sour and stand offish.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tipperaryboy
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Tipperaryboy, I apologize for the bad experience you received with us here at PJ's. To gain more insight into your experience I will contact you to discuss it further. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We went for an 80s New Years Eve here and had a great night. The band called Frenzy were excellent and the drinks were a good price. The vibe was very welcoming and would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Clairebear601955
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Salt and pepper squid is $10 unless ordered at lunchtime when it is $15 with a wine or small beer. In the end it cost $48 for three Sand P squid with a pint of Guinness. Does this mean the Guinness cost $18 a pint? The Guinness was good and the squid also.

Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
PJsAdelaide, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this review

Hi Gerry, How are you? I apologize for any confusion you had with the lunch special we offer. To clarify, the entree serve of S & P squid for $10 comes just on it's own whereas the lunch special comes is accompanied with chips and salad and then your choice of a 1/2 pint, house wine or soft drink. I... More 

Bethany beach
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for Happy Hour and had some quick pub food and a couple of pints. Happy hour started at 5pm and the beers were half price. Bar pizzas were $7 and the bar keep was very attentive and friendly. Not a bad place if you are from out of town and want to catch a game and have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch R
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Went there with some friends for lunch. Had the house burger. Not very good, the brioche was stale and cold. The Angus meat patty wasn't that great either, it definitely had something else in it. Not just meat (may be too much of it). Can't complain about the location or the Guinness though. If you decide to go there. Make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thuperpev
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I have always enjoyed my visits to PJ's in Adelaide, as it never fails to deliver on great atmosphere with friendly and knowledgable service. One day in particular to try out is Sunday Afternoons. They have Irish dancers, live Irish music, and great Irish food and beers on special.

Helpful?
1 Thank mr14mr

Travellers who viewed PJ O'Brien's also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to PJ O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Irish, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 East Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8232 5111

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from PJ O'Brien's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?