We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

bel cibo

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 6330
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 962: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had lunch here as soon as we arrived in Port Douglas. We got the lunch deal, which was delicious, and gorgeous views over Maccrosan st. Staff were very helpful and we lovedloved it!

Helpful?
1 Thank biancareid110
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the tapas through to the dessert you could not fault a thing. Attentive service, large range of options, well priced for the quality of the food. Can highly recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Boon
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We hadn't made a booking but they accommodated us anyway. Service was great. We all had something different off the menu and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon648
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review & I'm pleased that you all enjoyed your dining experience with us.Cheers. More 

Norwood
Level Contributor
185 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited this eatery overlooking the main street for a light lunch. Friendly staff and very pleasant ambience. Went for a pancetta pizza to share and it was great - lovely thin crust, beautiful caramelised onion flavour. Washed it down with a great Morretti and Sav Blanc for madam. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaFi11
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review. I'm happy to read that you thought our Pancetta Pizza was great. You can't go wrong with a Cold Sav Blanc & a Moretti either on a hot day for lunch. Cheers. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had the calamari entree - one of the best calamari meals I've ever had - along with the veal for main. Great food washed down with some excellent cocktails accompanied by very good service. Thanks guys - will be back again next year!

Helpful?
Thank Joe_Buddha
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your good review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed 2 of our most popular dishes & loved them. It's also pleasing you enjoyed some very good service & obviously it's excellent that you are returning next time your in Port Douglas. Cheers. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The food was very nice, the restaurant itself really lovely, the only thing that really let's this restaurant down is the service. Unfortunately our breads were missed (which did surprise me as the waitress corrected me on my pronunciation so I though she would remember the bread) we chose not to say anything as we couldn't manage to get the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review & I'm glad you enjoyed your food so much that you would return a 2nd or 3rd visit. My apologies that your breads were missed. Today I put in an order for some alcohol with 1 of our wholesale suppliers. A spirit that we get by the 1 litre was unavailable, they only now stock the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived at this restaurant, it was not overly busy at the time. Asked to sit at a particular table under a fan but waitress declined as she had to "re-set" the table (it had a couple of used glasses on the table) , she then sat us up the back with no air flow or fans. She offered to get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review but it was a lesson learnt in actually even sitting you & your family down. We should have said that we couldn't seat you for say 15-20 mins despite having the empty table next to the kitchen that you were seated at. Unfortunately we had ill staff member & couldn't cover them on Friday night. I... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The quality of food at bel cibo is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our food however the service was very poor. Food would arrive well before drinks and then trying to flag there staff down to order more was near impossible. This was same for table water which is not something you should have to ask for. We had to cancel... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review & I'm glad that your food was excellent. My apologies that your 2 Cocktails took longer than expected but our Barman was doing extremely well given the volume of drinks he put out on Monday night. It was a shame that you were ready to leave when you second round of Cocktails were just being put... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the reviews of Bel Cibo are quite good, we found the experience disappointing mainly due to the quality of food. The service was average, with the waiter spilling my beer shandy when adding the lemonade (which one wouldn't expect with such a basic drink). The four cheese pizza I had was qood, but not something to specifically come back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sias E
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It's unfortunate that you had a disappointing experience, although you found your 4 cheese pizza good. We have plenty of compliments everyday about our Calamari so it surprises me that you didn't enjoy this. As for it being under cooked? It spends less than 2.5 minutes in a very hot pan. I've cooked it for years... More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had dinner on New Years Eve at this great restaurant. Set menu with many courses and every course was simply amazing. Great fresh, flavoursome food. Have eaten here on many occasions over the past few years and will continue to go back when in Port.

Helpful?
Thank Glenwood286
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our New Years Eve degustation menu, we enjoyed doing it as it makes the end too the year Special. I'm most pleased that you have eaten here many times & that this will continue as that's quite simply the best compliment. Cheers. More 

Travellers who viewed bel cibo also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to bel cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$26
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Port Douglas
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4099 6330
Description
bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of bel cibo and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

Having reviewed the negative reviews of this restaurant it is clear the owner cannot take any criticism at all. Maheno - OCT 2015 wrote that she was unhappy as they were charged for a side dish that came after the meal wash finished and the owner stated she must be mistaken it cannot be his restaurant. Impossible for such a thing to happen in HIS restaurant. He then goes on to try and shift the blame onto ANOTHER restaurant!?

I wrote a bad review for my experience at this restaurant earlier in the year and the owner attacks me for it. Even attacking my appearance in my profile pic!

@ KiwiChef, people are entitled to write their opinions and complain if they have had a bad experience. Your response to those opinions and complaints reflects your customer service skills, your ability to take and handle criticism and just your general maturity. You attack every person who has a negative opinion about their experience at your restaurant. I'm sure if I go again I might have a better or even a perfect experience, but the time I visited I didn't and you shouldn't attack people who don't praise you, your food, staff and venue.

Last thing, it's extremely low and scummy behavior to try and blame another restaurant for a bad review YOU received (as mentioned above). You actually say of the bad review "there is another Italian Restaurant in Port Douglas - Bucci, they seem to have many negative reviews on their TA page about food & service.I agree with you & just cannot fathom that happening here.Ciao" I notice it is not the first time you try to blame this restaurant. I'll be letting them know so they can report you.

I'm sure you're going to have a charming and professional response ready for me after hearing some hard truth. I feel sorry for the poor staff member you're going to force to reply to this.

I hope people catch on to you. Kiwi "Chef".

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from bel cibo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?