We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kabuki Japanese Restaurant

Corner Edward and Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3221 1999
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good34%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fried rice” (27 reviews)
“prawns” (28 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Corner Edward and Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Had a wonderful meal, everything beautifully cooked and presented. Loved watching the chefs get up to their antics. Dinner and show in one. Service was outstanding.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Travebug
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Travebug Thank you for your great comments, will be sure to pass them on to the Chefs as they work hard to put on a fun and entertaining show. Be sure to come back some time soon. Best wishes The Kabuki Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I dined at Kabuki as a group of four, for an early birthday celebration. There are two sittings in the evening and guests select one of the set menus for the teppanyaki dinner. We all had a blast and were treated to some great food...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Brisgirlreviewer
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Brisgrilreviewer Thanks for your review, always great to receive such positive comments and they will be shared with the team, as they are genuinely keen to see all feedback. You are absolutely right, it's a fun and entertaining experience and perfect for group celebrations....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the second time in 2 weeks we had visited a restaurant advertised in a hotel lift only to find the actual experience very different from that suggested by the photo, in this case a very smartly dressed couple enjoying a teppenaki meal. We...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank E2363ODstephenl
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear E2363ODstephenl Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you did have a good time however the distress of seeing someone miss catching their egg left you a little disappointed in your overall experience. That is a shame as clearly this is not the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As always, Dinner service was fantastic and staff are amazing. Jordon and the group welcomed us genuinely. Chef are fantastic as they keep us accomodated all the time. From start to finish... quality service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank welcometwodollar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you’re looking for a quiet place for dinner, this is NOT the place for you. VERY loud due to teppanyaki crowds. At times we found it hard to have a conversation. Ladies toilet a little unclean and when I informed the guy at the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank willy808
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear willy808 Thank you for your feedback on your Kabuki experience. Kabuki can be loud at times with guests enjoying the teppanyaki, however sounds like it was especially loud on the evening you dined. Glad to hear though that you enjoyed the a la carte...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant some time ago and was left with the wow factor. However, this evening didn’t meet expectations. We took the 6:00 sitting as there is only two sittings 6:00 & 8:00. I found this setting to be rushed and not impressed with...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank B1011PBdavidn
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear B1011PBdavidn Thank you for your feedback. Disappointing that this time around there was no wow factor. Please be assured that feedback such as this allows us to address issues which come up and of course address them accordingly. As a matter of interest we...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

The atmosphere was great. Food was almost perfect- but dissatisfied with the Moreton bay bug. Talented chef. Parking not a problem. Would go back for sure. Reasonably priced.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank casjaneeng
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear casjaneeng Thanks for your review. Good to hear you had a great time and would be returning. Disappointing to read your comments on the Moreton Bay bugs, will pass this along to our kitchen team. Surprising to hear really as we buy our seafood...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018

I had a quick supper here on my own. I had a great aubergine dish with sweet miso sauce which I really enjoyed. The mixed tempura was okay but not stunning and I also had a wagu beef dish and a very good glass of...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank happyholidaygirl059
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear happyholidaygirl059 Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and good to hear you had an enjoyable supper at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant. The a la carte menu is authentic Japanese and I couldn't agree more about how enjoyable the eggplant dish,...More

Reviewed 10 September 2018

As we approached the inside of the restaurant, we were greeted by a very friendly man who created a booking for us for the next available Teppanyaki experience. The staff were very friendly and hospitable to all customers. When my friend and I spilled our...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Julia M
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Julia M Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear that you were able to be accommodated at the Teppanyaki Grill. It gets very busy and the reason why we run two seatings on a Friday and Saturday night. Glad to also hear...More

Reviewed 10 September 2018

We had an excellent meal, along with good efficient service from go to whoa! Although Teppanyaki was available we opted for the a la carte menu and were not disappointed with the food. The Gyoza Pork and vegetables were good; Hotate were very creamy and...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SilverfoxGoldCoast
Debbie M, Manager at Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Warren D Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent experience at Kabuki. The a la carte is authentic and tasty and our Head Chef very proud of his menu. Let's hope next time you get the chance...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 175 hotels in Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
3,653 reviews
.03 km away
Oaks Felix
945 reviews
.11 km away
The Westin Brisbane
31 reviews
.21 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
1,353 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Urbane Restaurant
285 reviews
.12 km away
Port Office Dining Room
364 reviews
.04 km away
Indian Mehfil Brisbane
261 reviews
.03 km away
Mr Edward's Alehouse & Kitchen
229 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
CityCat Ferry
6,510 reviews
.22 km away
Kayak Fun
7 reviews
.29 km away
City Botanic Gardens
1,823 reviews
.36 km away
Catholic Old St. Stephen's Church (chapel)
321 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter M
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kummohan | Reviewed this property |
We were 14 people, it was comfortable. They cook on both sides of the station.
0
Votes
Nikki T
29 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Stephen C | Reviewed this property |
I had dinner there. So I don't know their lunch prices. Sorry. I would suggest checking their webpage
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner Edward and Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3221 1999
  • E-mail
Description
Brisbane's most exciting culinary experience. From the flaming excitement of the Teppan to traditional Japanese a la carte, you will always remember the experience of Kabuki!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing