We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rook Rooftop

#657 of 4,970 Restaurants in Sydney
€€ - €€€American, ,
56-58 York St | Level R, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 8322 2008
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good43%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“truffle fries” (19 reviews)
“lobster” (48 reviews)
“burger” (55 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Australian, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
56-58 York St | Level R, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group were at The Rook last night and we all enjoyed our food - and drinks. The wait staff were friendly and funny and it was a pretty good experience. The only thing that was a big black mark were the stinky toilets!!! The...More

Thank Annette B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I asked for a cool sounding gin cocktail with jalapeños and lime and was disappointed by being given a champagne glass with a bitter tasting concoction with no taste of spice whatsoever. So I just asked the bar guy if could have some sweetener and...More

Thank kirsten l
stateofgracemelbourn, General Manager at The Rook Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kristen, It sounds like this cocktail you chose didn’t quite meet your expectations and for that we do apologise. It appears there was a miscommunication between us here. The cocktail itself is complex sour concoction and not to everyone’s taste, with the jalapeño component...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It’s indeed in the rooftop but tou have no nice view and that’s one of the main attractions when we are looking for a rooftop. We had a couple of cocktails and the quality wasn’t what we expected.. overall we won’t be returning to this...More

Thank Karnac2000
AVCCommunityManager, General Manager at The Rook Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Karnac2000, As a venue we take our customers feedback very seriously. Any chance we see to improve ourselves, we 100% jump on board. We’d love to hear more about your experience here at The Rook and would really appreciate if you sent me an...More

Reviewed 1 November 2018

Not entirely sure how i felt about this place - The staff alternated between too attentive, and then not attentive enough at times. - One of the cocktails was delicious, the other cocktail was so bad that I wondered whether anyone had actually tasted it...More

Thank 560jamesk
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

As a private function space it was great. Here with family, food was really good, service nice and friendly, a bit pricey though.

Thank Wendy P
Reviewed 24 October 2018

As they had lobster and we were craving that, we went there. The place was just blasting with noise, and the lobster wasn't that fine either. A pity. You want lobster, you don't want it cooked just so-so. This means it's priced in the "fine...More

Thank harrie_v
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Pleasant staff, good choice of beverages, good unpretentious food. Location was excellent, very central although a little difficult to find.

Thank matthewmcrobbie
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Took a couple of friends from overseas here for burgers. Nice venue and ambience, great location. They were all impressed! We had Uncle Sam and Deep South Surf and Turf with truffle fries and onion rings. Tasty burgers and sides. Had a great night, except...we...More

Thank liland10
AVCCommunityManager, General Manager at The Rook Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Lilandy, thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. I am a little disappointed in reading about your experience and can assure you that this was not the reason. I have flagged you review and will discuss with all of the floor...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We booked and went to The Rook on a Saturday night. Must say we had the worst table service I have ever experienced. The waitress was very rude and it seemed as if she didn’t want to serve our table. Having a larger group we...More

Thank Fleming8877
AVCCommunityManager, General Manager at The Rook Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi Flemming8877, Thanks for taking the time the time leave this feedback. As a business we strive to provide the best possible service for our customers, however on this occasion it appears we fell short on the mark. I am seriously disappointed reading your remarks...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Decided to come up to the Rook on a date night. We ordered the popcorn lobster, lobster roll with truffle fries and the mother clucker chicken burger with fries also. I had envisaged the popcorn lobster to be a fried, we got six pieces of...More

Thank Kelkelstew
Nearby
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with
energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise
buildings and after-work drink places, high-end
shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners
frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a
dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit
the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle,
reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 189 hotels in Sydney
Megaboom City Hotel
428 reviews
.03 km away
The Grace Hotel Sydney
7,092 reviews
.11 km away
Swissotel Sydney
2,639 reviews
.16 km away
QT Sydney
2,349 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Baxter Inn
836 reviews
.07 km away
Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe
256 reviews
.07 km away
The Barber Shop
96 reviews
.04 km away
Ipoh on York
77 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Barber Shop
34 reviews
.02 km away
The Escape Hunt Experience Sydney
268 reviews
.05 km away
Virtual Room: Virtual Reality Sydney
210 reviews
.05 km away
Varda Spa
12 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Rook Rooftop staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Australian, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Monday
16:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
18:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 56-58 York St | Level R, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney>  > Central Business District
  • Neighbourhood: Central Business District
  • Phone Number: +61 2 8322 2008
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing