We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yumei Japanese Restaurant

#1,936 of 4,990 Restaurants in Sydney
€€ - €€€Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Capital Square Building, Ground Level | Shop G09, 730-742 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9212 6665
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (7 reviews)
“sushi” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Capital Square Building, Ground Level | Shop G09, 730-742 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

This is one of a number of restaurants in the Capitol Square Centre and we dropped in for a pre theatre dinner. Placed our orders for both entree and mains and after nearly 20 minutes they told us there was an issue. Bit of a...More

Thank Tony W
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Having travelled to Japan regularly for over 35 years this restaurant in comparison needs a major wake up call. The sushi train is poor and very disappointing with a menu extremely high in price. The tablet ordering system isn’t new and at the end of...More

Thank GTKE21
Yumei Y, General Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello, dear GTKE21 This is Yumei Japanese Restaurant, based on your review, we believe that there was some misunderstanding. Firstly, our restaurant does not have sushi train. Secondly, we do not have tablet ordering system. Also, we do not have fried rice in our menu....More

Reviewed 20 February 2018

Slow service and a plate of teriyaki fat, not the beef as listed/pictured on menu. My friend with me was ill for 24 hours ..............More

Thank Belinda P
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello, dear Belinda We are really sorry about your experience at our restaurant, also our food quality did not meet your requirement. We will try our best in the future to improve our food quality as well as customer service. Again, please accept our apologies...More

Reviewed 20 January 2018

My family was very impressed with this restaurant. Grandson has coeliac disease so I checked ahead that they have gluten-free options. They do and they understand the issues with cross-contamination and sauces etc etc. Soy sauce on the table was replaced with gluten free sauce...More

Thank dotc2015
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear dotc2015, Thank you very much for great rates. We wish to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day!

Reviewed 29 December 2017

There is a current Scoopon offer for this restaurant - today, despite the fact that there was absolutely not one person in the restaurant at lunchtime - I could not redeem my Scoopon - because "there were no more reservations in January" - really? an...More

Thank Mym M
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Mym M, We apologise the experience you had in our restaurant. I recognize the issue and immediately re-train to all staff not to do that. We are very appreciate your review and wish to see you in our restaurant with our improved customer service...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

This place is really cheap Japanese food offering; plenty of discount meal / coupon customers; substantial serving so very reasonable; the rolls and tempura are great and really nice with huge servings. Sashimi unfortunately is a big miss! Total miss on the cut size, freshness...More

Thank Philip P
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to improve our quality of food and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 October 2017

If you're looking for reasonably priced dependable Japanese food, Yumei in Capital Square would be a good choice. It offers a wide variety of Japanese staples; from donburi bowls, to sushi rolls and even ramen bowls. I enjoyed its udon as it came in a...More

Thank milcah889
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to keep up our quality of food and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the meal did not live up to it’s advertised (via menu pictures) appeal. We did arrive close to closing however we ordered a seafood basket which on delivery had deep fried pumpkin, zucchini and eggplant with a few prawns however missing the rest of...More

Thank danielle81311
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello, dear Danielle81311 Thank you for your review, and we are really sorry about the poor food quality that you experienced. We apologize for the missing description on our menu and made you misunderstand the contents of our tempura. Also, we will let our kitchen...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We booked for 5.30pm and arrived a bit earlier - no issue and the service was very friendly and attentive over the whole time. All dishes arrived in reasonable time and the outstanding dishes for me were sashimi entre with kingfish, salmon and tuna. the...More

Thank Peter K
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello, dear Peter Thank you for your valuable review and we are so sorry about the noise from arcade at upstairs. We have sent our complaint to building manager regarding the noise. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewed 2 September 2017

When we ordered we asked that our sashimi be served first as an entree and our other courses after we had finished our entree. Our first two hot dishes arrived before our sashimi. We rejected them, explaining what we had asked, and they were taken...More

1  Thank sydneysider48
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello, dear sydneysider48 We are really sorry about your experience at our restaurant. We do realize some of our staffs need more training for better customer service. Also, we will keep monitoring staff performance and cooking time in the future. Again, we are really sorry...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 186 hotels in Sydney
Capitol Square Hotel
538 reviews
.02 km away
Meriton Suites Campbell Street, Sydney
399 reviews
.03 km away
BreakFree on George
2,296 reviews
.08 km away
Space Q Capsule Hotel
14 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bear Bar
214 reviews
.02 km away
Chat Thai
1,014 reviews
.05 km away
At Bangkok Restaurant
134 reviews
.01 km away
Capital Thai Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
126 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Capitol Theatre
572 reviews
.02 km away
Paddy's Market
1,175 reviews
.20 km away
World Square Shopping Centre
32 reviews
.23 km away
Thai Town
17 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Yumei Japanese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Capital Square Building, Ground Level | Shop G09, 730-742 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9212 6665
Description
Can find on eatability.com.au
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;