We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yumei Japanese Restaurant

#1,438 of 4,720 Restaurants in Sydney}
€€ - €€€Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Capital Square Building, Ground Level | Shop G09, 730-742 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9212 6665
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good40%
  • Average12%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (7 reviews)
“sashimi” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Capital Square Building, Ground Level | Shop G09, 730-742 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're looking for reasonably priced dependable Japanese food, Yumei in Capital Square would be a good choice. It offers a wide variety of Japanese staples; from donburi bowls, to sushi rolls and even ramen bowls. I enjoyed its udon as it came in a...More

Thank milcah889
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to keep up our quality of food and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately the meal did not live up to it’s advertised (via menu pictures) appeal. We did arrive close to closing however we ordered a seafood basket which on delivery had deep fried pumpkin, zucchini and eggplant with a few prawns however missing the rest of...More

Thank danielle81311
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, dear Danielle81311 Thank you for your review, and we are really sorry about the poor food quality that you experienced. We apologize for the missing description on our menu and made you misunderstand the contents of our tempura. Also, we will let our kitchen...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We booked for 5.30pm and arrived a bit earlier - no issue and the service was very friendly and attentive over the whole time. All dishes arrived in reasonable time and the outstanding dishes for me were sashimi entre with kingfish, salmon and tuna. the...More

Thank Peter K
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello, dear Peter Thank you for your valuable review and we are so sorry about the noise from arcade at upstairs. We have sent our complaint to building manager regarding the noise. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewed 2 September 2017

When we ordered we asked that our sashimi be served first as an entree and our other courses after we had finished our entree. Our first two hot dishes arrived before our sashimi. We rejected them, explaining what we had asked, and they were taken...More

Thank sydneysider48
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hello, dear sydneysider48 We are really sorry about your experience at our restaurant. We do realize some of our staffs need more training for better customer service. Also, we will keep monitoring staff performance and cooking time in the future. Again, we are really sorry...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017

started off a little slow with the service we were worried and considered leaving but once they warmed up they were very attentive. the prices are really good for inner city and a pleasant location and the food was fantastic. we will be going back...More

Thank Rokiii
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to keep up our quality of food and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 25 August 2017

I went on a scoopon, got $60 worth for $29 - after eating there I would say that even at full price you would be getting good value for money! I had the beef tataki, which was nice, and the garlic scallops which were DELICIOUS....More

Thank Jenni H
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to keep up our quality of food and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Great location Nice service Our food arrived very quickly The food was very good Grilled salmon was amazing

Thank mrlazzarino
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to keep up our quality of food and service. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this Japanese restaurant. Large selection of all types of dishes. All delicious. Great value particularly with voucher.

Thank Helen H
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear, Helen. Thank you for your valuable review. We'll try to keep up high quality of food and service. Hope you see you again.

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely Japanese restaurant. Good portion size. Great ambience. Love the bento box combinations. Worth a visit

Thank Rohit J
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Rohit, thank you for your valuable review. We will do our best to keep good quality of food and service. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 12 May 2017

Ate at this restaurant using a coupon bought online. The food was scrumptious and plentiful and great value for money. The staff were friendly and very attentive.

Thank mazbroughton
Yumei Y, Manager at Yumei Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Hello, dear Mazbroughton Thank you for your valuable review. We will do our best to keep our food and customer service quality. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Yumei Japanese Restaurant

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chat Thai
924 reviews
.05 km away
The Bear Bar
198 reviews
.02 km away
Haymarket Hotel
52 reviews
.06 km away
At Bangkok Restaurant
119 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Capitol Theatre
511 reviews
.02 km away
Paddy's Market
1,070 reviews
.19 km away
Chinatown
774 reviews
.18 km away
Market City Centre
109 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Yumei Japanese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Capital Square Building, Ground Level | Shop G09, 730-742 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9212 6665
Description
Can find on eatability.com.au
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing