We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
+44 1228 560102
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A local favourite where everyone is friendly and the food is fabulous. A varied range of starters and delicious core menu- steaks superb! And excellent value deals throughout the week- steak night a must with a bottle of vino of choice for £40 for 2! Steaks are locally sourced , generous and cooked to your liking - perfect. Visiting for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn K
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, your comments are of value to our team who work so hard to provide a good experience, hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a difference since our last visit at Christmas. We put the minor hiccups then down to teething problems as the pub has just changed hands but by now these should have been ironed out. The food was disappointing, the menu is much the same as ever and the specials sound interesting but everything was just rather bland and served... More 

Helpful?
Thank penny025
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Every customer is greeted on entering and shown to their tables, orders taken and staff return to every table see if customers are enjoying their food. No customers have complained personally to staff and no food has been returned to the kitchen? The menu has changed and our regular customers have said “how much better the menu is” Please feel... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Definitely nothing special - food very disappointing. Don't know what happened to the very friendly staff - perhaps it was their night off!!! Sorry - couldn't recommend.

Helpful?
Thank busylizzie222
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sorry about your experience and I do hope you return so we can change your opinion. Just to let you know it’s the same staff but please let us know on your next visit if you have any issues personally we're always available Kind Regards Michelle More 

Cumwhitton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere over the Easter weekend, fabulous food and excellent service from the staff - we will most definitely be back soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank evemaceve
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, your comments are of value to our team who work so hard to provide a good experience, hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Stayed in the village for a couple of nights, lovely local, good atmosphere and good food, staff very friendly. Would recommend booking if you want a table was very busy.

Helpful?
2 Thank ClazzaG
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to complete a review of your experience, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

An off the hoof meal out at an old favourite. Somewhere we hadn't been for some time but relitively local and although I had heard that the premises had been taken over, we were not disappointed. Hubbie had a glorious T - bone steak, I had homemade lasagne and our 7 yr old daughter had fish goujons from the children's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DiBowman
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you comments we really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Lovely food, at competitive prices. Our experience is that there is always a friendly welcome for couples and families alike. There is a wide ranging menu to suit all with a good selection of specials, I had a haggis starter with a peppercorn sauce it was delicious. Over the years we have visited the Pheasant many times, there is new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sara m
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sara Thank you for your lovely comments we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience, hope to see you again soon Thank you Michelle, Tim, Nathan & Gemma More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Very average food, not worth the drive from Carlisle. The food was also average and the staff were not very friendly. The starter of pate was not on warm bread as I have had better from Aldi, the steak was cold just like the staff, all in all it was very disappointing nothing like it was when Jon Van Lerop... More 

Helpful?
Thank zorron2017
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Very sorry you have seemed to have had a bad experience, this is not at all how our staff and our food has been rated previously as you can read from the reviews below. You refer to the previous owner from nearly 15 years ago? if you would like to ring The Pheasant Inn to speak to me regarding... More 

Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We used to visit The Pheasant Inn regularly. It was one of our favourite places to dine - the food was very good and it was always packed and lively. You had to make reservations sometimes a week in advance to ensure a table. Recently, however, the Pheasant has come under new ownership, and our experience was a bit strange.... More 

Helpful?
Thank rj919
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review, I can assure you that the staff and myself have many years of experience and if you would like to contact me to discuss your experience I'm more than happy to if I knew your name as most people do provided reviews with a name? If you arrived on a Saturday at 5-45... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We visited on Mother's Day for Sunday lunch and it was very good. Lovely pub grub at extremely good prices! Nice setting and lovely little beer garden. Very enjoyable meal, thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoy your visit and thank you for your comments, very much appreciated. Regards Michelle More 

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Cumwhitton
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 560102

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pheasant Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?